jump to navigation

Definitions September 5, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Word Play.
trackback

Frog-CircusCOMMITTEE
A body that keeps minutes and wastes hours.

MOSQUITO
An insect that makes you like flies better.

NARCISSIST
Someone who is usually me-deep in conversation.

NAYSAYER
A no-it-all.

SECRET
A story you tell to one person at a time.

180px-Leonardo_Skeleton_1511SKELETON
A bunch of bones with the person scraped off.

TOOTHACHE
The pain that drives you to extraction.

TOMORROW
One of the greatest labor saving devices of today.

YAWN
An honest opinion openly expressed.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source: e-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.)Β 

Comments»

1. BunKaryudo - September 5, 2015

These aren’t bad at all. I especially like the ones for skeleton and tomorrow. Some of those chain email things turn out to be pretty funny.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

And that’s no bunk! :mrgreen:

I’ll pop around later to see what’s what at BunKaryudo.

BunKaryudo - September 5, 2015

I look forward to it! You’ll be very welcome! πŸ˜€

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

You really hit the ground running with your very first post!

2. Hariod Brawn - September 5, 2015

‘Secret’ – made me laugh; how true!

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Yes! Mum’s the word.

3. Pix Under the Oaks - September 5, 2015

Good Morning, Nancy! I enjoyed your word play post!!! Hope you and BFF have a nice Saturday!

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Thanks, Pix. Words can be great fun ~ especially with word smiths twisting them about.

I’m taking it easy today . . . and no laboring on Labor Day!

4. Don - September 5, 2015

Great stuff Nancy. So descriptive and good.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

To words! 😎

5. kateshrewsday - September 5, 2015

Ha. I love the committee. Ain’t that the truth.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Yes. I planned to do more with this post . . . but I kept putting it off until “tomorrow.” πŸ˜›

6. Kate Crimmins - September 5, 2015

Most of these are too true.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Any that didn’t strike a chord with me got excised before posting.

7. Eileen - September 5, 2015

Good laugh on a challenging morning. Thanks

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Yes! A sense of humor can be a real life saver, especially on challenging mornings!

β€œA person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road.”
~ Henry Ward Beecher

β€œA well-developed sense of humor is the pole that adds balance to your steps as you walk the tightrope of life.”
~ William Arthur Ward

8. Patricia - September 5, 2015

What fun. The skeleton one is too funny and I am the poster child for tomorrow.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Me too! To tomorrow . . .

9. Rajagopal - September 5, 2015

All cheeky definitions, nancy; the one on yawn is right on the ball. There is another one on committee, defined as a group of people, who, individually cannot do anything but collectively decide that nothing can be done…best wishes.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Love it! Thanks for a FUN share.

10. Carol Ferenc - September 5, 2015

So true – and funny, too!!

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Glad you enjoyed, Carol. To fun puns!

11. Val Boyko - September 5, 2015

Good stuff Nancy … tomorrow is a favorite of mine πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

“Tomorrow” is the perfect repository for stuff that we aren’t quite ready to tackle.

Val Boyko - September 6, 2015

Tomorrow, I must pack. No seriously!

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Haha! I find unpacking easier than packing.

12. Jill Weatherholt - September 5, 2015

My friends refer to me as, “the vault.” A secret told to me, never escapes my lips. Happy Weekend!

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

I’m the same, Jill. The principles behind Attorney-Client Privilege followed me when I left the practice of law ~> “loose lips sink ships.”

Hope your writing/editing is on target for launch!

Jill Weatherholt - September 6, 2015

I trying, Nancy! Thanks!

13. Tammy - September 6, 2015

I am definitely guilty of the YAWN during COMMITTEE.

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Moi aussi!

14. livelytwist - September 6, 2015

Hahaha! Love them all, but committee has to be my favorite right now as I’ve methodically extracted myself from a few of them. πŸ™‚
Whoever came up with these is brilliant.
Brilliant: the ability to explain ‘complex’ things in a way that makes everyone nod their heads!

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Yay! Glad you enjoyed. And I’m nodding my head at your last observation.

15. Behind the Story - September 6, 2015

Funny and so true. Tomorrow really is an excellent labor-saving device. I’ve never believed in all-nighters. When it’s time to go to bed, I just save all that labor for tomorrow. I’m lucky I’m usually able to do so.

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Same here, Nicki. Even when I had the stamina to pull all nighters, I rarely bothered to burn the midnight oil.

I found a good night’s sleep more profitable to all concerned.

16. Tiny - September 6, 2015

These are all excellent Nancy. And useful. My fav is the definition for tomorrow. I’ll put it in good use.

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Excellent! That seems to be a favorite of many in the thread.

17. Debra - September 8, 2015

Great definitions! Love “skeleton”–bones with the person scraped off? Kind of awful and brilliant all in one. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

When I saw that definition, it reminded me of the Mummy movies ~> when scarab beetles poured out of a coffin and picked the bones clean. “Waste not, want not.”

18. Barb - September 9, 2015

Isn’t it the truth about flies? They make us so glad we’re not in a swamp with mosquitoes…and that’s about it. Love these and hope I can remember them long enough to work into a conversation.

nrhatch - September 9, 2015

Maybe you can commit them to memory TOMORROW. πŸ˜›

19. jannatwrites - November 17, 2015

Ah, the real definitions they don’t put in the dictionary πŸ™‚

nrhatch - November 17, 2015

Yes! Expanding our vocabulary with funny punnies.


What Say YOU?

