jump to navigation

Life Is Like Playing Mario Brothers September 3, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Mindfulness.
trackback

200px-March-hareIn Mario Brothers, as we move from “where we are” to “where we want to be,” we keep a look out for hidden clues and secret portals.

Each that we find reveals a short cut to success on our journey from Here to There.

We follow the path to see what waits around the next corner.

We keep following the trail of “breadcrumbs” and eventually arrive where we are meant to be . . .

At a tea party hosted by the March Hare and the Mad Hatter!

Aah . . . that’s better!

When you don’t know, go with the flow.  Have faith you’ll end up where you need to be when you need to be there.

Besides, let’s say you veer off course, how are you ever gonna know?

Comments»

1. Rainee - September 3, 2015

Nancy, last night I had a dream that you and Ruth (Ruth Hendrick’s Photography) came to stay with me here in Australia. It was fascinating :-).

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Cool! I find dreams fascinating ~> not as harbingers of things to come or for ascertaining literal translations, but its fun to see which “breadcrumbs” the mind tossed into the mix.

Before blogging, I don’t think I knew anyone who lived in Australia or New Zealand. Since blogging I’ve met at least 5 folks from Australia and New Zealand ~> you, Barb, Dianne, Judith, and Robyn. I’ve even had lunch with Robyn in “real time” when she attended a conference in Orlando FL.

Rainee - September 3, 2015

Yes, blogging has expanded my knowledge of geography and the great sense that we share so much in common no matter where in the world we live :-).

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Yes! Well put, Rainee. Posts written by blogging buddies around the globe often resonate with my own life experiences & aspirations . . . despite our different vantage points.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - September 3, 2015

I think we follow the “breadcrumbs” for something fun to do each day!

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Some of our biggest life adventures happen in our own backyards.

Keep your eyes open! 🙄

3. NancyTex - September 3, 2015

I’m feeling as though I’ve veered off course a bit lately. I think I need to be more mindful in looking for those breadcrumbs.

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Perseverance is good . . . provided that we are headed in the right direction.

Of course, sometimes the opposition we face is the Universe’s way of saying, “Turn Around. You’re on the WRONG road.” 😛

Breathe, Relax, Repeat . . . give the Universe some room to work its magic.

When something “jumps out at you,” pay attention. Be receptive and open to infinite possibilities. Allow yourself to be gently guided to what you need to see, hear, know, or do next.

NancyTex - September 3, 2015

Perfect words at this moment. Thanks NH.

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

And when in doubt . . . talk it out with your inflatable duck!

4. Val Boyko - September 3, 2015

Love this post and the follow up insights Nancy!
Right now I am getting ready to my vacation – wrapping up work things, planning for while I am away and preparing to pack. It sucks up time and energy. Just like Mario Brothers!
Time to pause and give the universe some room to work its magic 😉

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Hope you bump into some fun “tea parties” (and magic) on your vacation, Val.

Val Boyko - September 3, 2015

I had a few in the past! Thanks Nancy 😉

5. Carol Ferenc - September 3, 2015

Being fearless when approaching whatever waits around the next corner would be wonderful, wouldn’t it?

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

Just Leap . . . and the Net Appears!

6. diannegray - September 3, 2015

I love the way Rainee had a dream about you – that’s so cool 😀

I was watching a tv show one night (can’t remember what it was now) and a woman was saying there are signs everywhere, we just have to notice them. This reminds me of your post. We follow the breadcrumbs and they lead us to where we are this very moment. This is such a fascinating subject. Every second of every day can take us on another course – it’s mind-blowing…

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

I’ve benefited from numerous “winks, whispers, and nudges” over the years ~> keeping me on track as the path unfolded before me.

Synchronicity abounds in this magical Universe.

7. Barb - September 3, 2015

Doesn’t something explode in Mario Bros? Anyway, I’m going to try to carry around your axioms: Especially: Have faith you’ll end up where you need to be when you need to be there. Thanks for the inspiration.

nrhatch - September 3, 2015

When I look back on the “twists and turns” in my life . . . they all served to bring me to “this door.”

And this is where I want to be. For NOW.

Enjoying your series on your walk across Britain. Glad you invited me along.

8. Behind the Story - September 3, 2015

Your Mario Brothers image makes me think of the process of writing a novel. I wish I had the whole road map, but sometimes I just have to follow the bread crumbs and look for the next secret portal.

nrhatch - September 4, 2015

Yes! Trying to map everything out in advance eliminates possible portals that might have added pizzazz!

9. roughwighting - September 4, 2015

I definitely believe in following the breadcrumbs in life, and ‘going with the flow.’ The flow knows! 🙂

nrhatch - September 4, 2015

And it’s so much more fun (& less exhausting) than struggling against the current. Wheeee . . .

10. L. Marie - September 4, 2015

i had to laugh at your Mario Brothers analogy, since they’re plumbers and you suggest going with the flow. 🙂
But good advice. Life is less stressful when we do. I tend to fight against the flow.

nrhatch - September 4, 2015

haha! I forgot they were plumbers. Thanks for pointing that out.

Swimming against the current is exhausting. I much prefer to “go with the flow” ~> “away go troubles down the drain.” 😛

11. Tiny - September 5, 2015

Great analogy, plumbers or not. I watched my son play this game forever when he was small…and so we go on at the obstacle course that is life. Right now I feel like just resting in the flow and letting it take me wherever I’m supposed to be.

nrhatch - September 5, 2015

Me too! Of course, a large portion of my complete and utter lack of ambition can be attributed to the warm wet weather. Once the temps drop off, my motivation rises. A little. 😛

12. Debra - September 6, 2015

Oh so true! So often when I’ve thought I was off course I later realized it was a better path than I would naturally have chosen. Allowing for side trips helps, too. A little time on the sidelines can help clarify things. Sometimes I’ve felt like those times were unproductive, but they’re really quite important to me! 🙂

nrhatch - September 6, 2015

Yes! Sometimes standing on the sidelines “doing nothing” is exactly what we need to be doing ~> I try not to beat myself up for days of low/no/slow productivity.

Looking back at the path convinces me that there are no wrong turns on the journey . . . just detours.

13. Eileen - September 7, 2015

When you don’t know, go with the flow! Great advice. Love Alice’s tea party……..lots of days my life reminds me of it…..complete with ab dormouse asleep in the teapot. Fun post with a good reminder.

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

Thanks, Eileen. Alice and other Carroll characters make me smile. Lewis understood the inanity of life on Planet Earth.


What Say YOU?

