jump to navigation

Spares & Splits @ Splitsville August 25, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink.
trackback

In June, we met BFF’s sister and her family at Splitsville in Downtown Disney.

2015-06-23 12-07-58_0031

We worked up an appetite throwing Strikes, Spares, and Splits (not necessarily in that order).

2015-06-23 12-08-29_0032

Famished, we refueled with pizza, salads, and fries in the adjoining dining room.

2015-06-23 12-08-46_0033

After lunch, we wandered in and out of shops searching for Mr. Potato Head accessories and LEGO kits . . . stopping by to see NESSIE!

2015-06-23 16-07-36_0034

The Loch Ness LEGO monster!

2015-06-23 16-08-14_0036

I have it on good authority that Nessie is a *SNAP* to make.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. L. Marie - August 25, 2015

Wow. Sounds like fun. I haven’t bowled in years with the exception of Wii bowling. But bowling is fun. My niece and nephew were on a league for years. My brother’s mother-in-law and father-in-law are on two leagues.

Had I thrown those balls, I would have recorded strikes, splits, and gutter balls. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

We bowl here in the summer because it’s C~O~O~L in the lanes and AMF has a GREAT deal ~ $40 for a pass that allows 1-4 bowlers to bowl up to 3 games a day all summer (from Memorial Day to Labor Day). The pass pays for itself in no time.

But we’ve bowled 9x this summer and haven’t bowled a 300 yet!

2. Kate Crimmins - August 25, 2015

Sounds like a wonderful day especially the Nessie part (and the food of course).

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

We don’t get to see them often, so we enjoyed every minute.

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 25, 2015

hehehehe “a snap to make” πŸ™‚

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

The LEGO store has some amazing creations (like Snow White AND the 7 Dwarfs) but Nessie is my bestie!

4. Val Boyko - August 25, 2015

Fun day! Love the Nessie πŸ™‚

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Not quite like wandering the perimeter of Loch Ness hoping to see the real deal ~> but this Nessie’s smile is infectious.

Val Boyko - August 25, 2015

Agreed! This one is very cute! … And easily portable. πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Portable in a large long portmanteau. 😎

5. Carol Ferenc - August 25, 2015

We vacationed at WDW every year for 15 years. Love it!! Nessie was always there – one of those great Disney touches. What a perfect family outing!

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

My sister has lived in Orlando for 29 years so we’ve checked out most of the theme parks a time or two. Walt Disney knew how to create magic and whimsy.

Carol Ferenc - August 25, 2015

Yes, he did! Our cat, Walt, was named after him.

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Cool cat name!

6. anotherday2paradise - August 25, 2015

Looks like a fun time, Nancy. Love Nessy! 😎

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

The Loch Ness monster is a fabulous ambassador for Downtown Disney.

anotherday2paradise - August 25, 2015

He certainly gets my vote. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

He’s head and shoulders above the rest of the contenders.

7. suzicate - August 25, 2015

Love Nessie!
My kids used to build the greatest Lego creations…sometimes I miss those days! (And they also used to take apart the phone, computer, etc…and rebuild them; those times I don’t miss as much, ha!)

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Haha! My younger brother took things apart too ~ from light switches to the ginormous sprinklers in the farmer’s field. He’s an electrical engineer for HP.

8. Patricia - August 25, 2015

What fun!

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Yes! Fun with a bit of Disney magic tossed into the mix.

9. sufilight - August 25, 2015

Sounds like you all had a great time! I haven’t bowled in decades but I bet I would have fun if I get a chance to do this again.

I read a few of the comments and smiled because my s/o is an electrical engineer. He says when he was a kid he would take things apart, and he took the TV apart when his parents were not home. lol.

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

Hi Marie! Hope you’ve been enjoying yourself. We like to bowl during the summer months because it’s so nice and c~o~o~l.

I imagine your s/o’s parents had a thing or two to say about the dismantled TV . . . unless he managed to put it back together before they returned home.

sufilight - August 25, 2015

He put it back together but had a hard time doing this. lol.

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

I’d still be struggling to put “Humpty Dumpty” back together again! πŸ˜›

10. NancyTex - August 25, 2015

Love that Disney magic, NH!

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

It’s Nessie . . . the Magic Dragon!

NancyTex - August 25, 2015

My favorite kind.

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

I wonder if Nessie knows Puff?

11. diannegray - August 25, 2015

This looks like you had great fun, Nancy. WOW – someone has spent a lot of time making Nessie – awesome! πŸ˜€

nrhatch - August 25, 2015

LEGO creations can be so amazing ~ like Nessie or the Taj Mahal. Just jaw dropping.

12. Tiny - August 25, 2015

Nesse is cute! I just wonder how many snaps to make it πŸ˜€ Looks like you guys had good fun!

nrhatch - August 26, 2015

More than a few snaps is my guess.

13. Pix Under the Oaks - August 26, 2015

Fun to see BFF’s sister and family… your nephew is a handsome boy with a beautiful smile. CH and I used to bowl all the time and then… well we didn’t πŸ˜€ Sounds like a fun day… Nessie is cool!
Good Morning!

nrhatch - August 26, 2015

Thanks, Pix. Hope your morning is off to a good start.

14. Debra - August 30, 2015

What a lovely day! Nessie is an added attraction, that’s for sure! I’m going bowling this week as part of a work-related event. It’s been awhile! Hope I can just get the ball down the alley! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - August 30, 2015

How fun! Knock ’em down!

I’ve switched to a lighter ball to make things easier on my shoulder, elbow, and wrist ~ I’m not bowling better, but it’s feels better when I’m bowling.

15. BunKaryudo - September 5, 2015

It’s funny when you see big stars away from the movies. They always look different. I was certain Nessie would be taller.

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

I know! Especially when you consider that the camera adds 20 feet . . . or is it pounds?


What Say YOU?

