jump to navigation

Florida Scenes August 19, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Humor.
trackback

A crowded Palma Sola Causeway serves as control central for the annual Bottle Boat Regatta.

2015-04-11 10-23-59_0009

Boats float using recycled 2-liter plastic soda bottles as flotation devices.  Unless they don’t, float.

2015-04-11 10-24-07_0010

Cows seldom enter.  They’re not interested in rowing boats or “bragging rights.”

2015-05-01 16-03-41_0079

Downing grass and chewing cud from first light to last light consumes them.  Makes sense . . .

2015-05-01 16-03-47_0080

Even if stomach #1 is stuffed to overflowing, they’ve got other tummies on “stand-by.”

2015-05-01 16-03-58_0081

Florida’s fields of green and grain alternate with miles and miles of shoreline.

2015-06-26 18-11-45_0045

Gator sightings are common along the banks.  In fact, you can almost bank on it.  (Less common are Crocs wearing Crocs.)

IMGP0981

031607_1550a

Hear rustling in the reeds?  Get ready to *snap* that shot.

1840045-o_19getf4u310hu1i931m0m1rfptd1i-full

Idle Gators love to smile and say, “Let Go My Leg-o!”

Everglades 1_1

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - August 19, 2015

Good photos to ruminate over Nancy! That floating competition would be fun 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Yes! Cows aren’t the only one “chewing the cud.” Hope today’s musings are amusing. :mrgreen:

Val Boyko - August 19, 2015

I always enjoy a good muse too! xo

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

I’ve been doing some world class ruminating today, Val. No answers. Lots of questions.

2. Jill Weatherholt - August 19, 2015

The Bottle Boat Regatta looks like fun, Nancy. I love cows. 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Morning, Jill. The Bottle Boat Regatta is about as far as you can get from American’s Cup. The only common elements ~> neither involves cows and both involve water. 😎

3. Pix Under the Oaks - August 19, 2015

I think the Bottle Boat Regatta looks like fun… to watch, and I am a lover of cows too. I like the fresh, clean, new calves… 😀

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Morning, Pix! Hope you’re in a good moo’d today!

4. Don - August 19, 2015

It’s funny Nancy I’ve never thought of Florida with green fields, just sun, beach and sea. Thanks for that perspective. Quite strange to see. 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

The interior of the state is filled with farms and orange groves and . . . theme parks. 😉

Don - August 19, 2015

Strange how you can have certain perceptions of a place without really thinking about it. 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Our minds love to “cubbyhole” people, places, and things with labels and categories.

When I think of London ~ I think old buildings, not gorgeous flower boxes. So your post shifted my perceptions and perspective too. Thanks!

5. Kate Crimmins - August 19, 2015

crocs with crocs? I thought crocodiles were in Africa? (and crocs just about everywhere!)

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

There are crocodiles in FL . . . but not many.

“Within the United States, the American crocodile’s distribution is limited to Puerto Rico and the southern half of Florida, though at least two have been found as far north as the Tampa Bay area. The current US population, estimated at 2,000, represents a significant recovery from a few hundred in the 1970s.”

Kate Crimmins - August 19, 2015

I didn’t know that! They are more aggressive, aren’t they?

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Yes!

“American crocodiles are dangerous to humans; attacks in Mexico, Costa Rica, and Panama are not unprecedented. These attacks rarely make international news, so this species is not as well-documented as a man-eater, as are its relatives. The species is often reportedly timid, and seemingly lacks the propensity to attack people as regularly as Old World crocodiles do. However, it is more likely than the American alligator to be aggressive towards humans.”

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 19, 2015

Those are awesome, love the perspective you view your world from – it helps me remember to actually look around at mine!

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Thanks, Kate! Open Wide and say, “Aah!” 🙄

7. Carol Ferenc - August 19, 2015

Love this! Thanks for starting my day with a good laugh, Nancy.

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Yay! Glad it was good for a giggle, Carol. Life is better with laughter. 😎

8. Debra - August 19, 2015

I love the sense of humor, but I also get quite lost in the beauty of the surroundings. I think I could be quite at home in Florida. 🙂 One memory I have from a time we visited was my stupidity at getting out of a car to take a photo of a crocodile in the road. He was still, so I kept getting closer and closer. My husband and the two friends in the car with us just about had heart attacks. Get me with a camera and I seem to lose my mind. I’d love to visit again!

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

I’m glad you didn’t wake that sleeping gator, Debra. They are F~A~S~T . . . once they get going.

If you visit again, we’d love to meet up with you.

9. anotherday2paradise - August 19, 2015

Always so much to see in Florida, Nancy. My ‘gator was lurking again yesterday. 🙂

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

I would like an Al E. Gator to move onto our lagoon . . . he could keep the birds on their toes! :mrgreen:

10. suzicate - August 19, 2015

Haha, love the gator wearing Crocs!

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

We met up with him at Fisherman’s Village in Punta Gorda. Quite a dapper chap.

11. Behind the Story - August 19, 2015

You’re so clever with words–“other stomachs on stand-by,” “you can almost bank on it,” “get ready to *snap* that shot.”

Seattle has a Milk Carton Derby on Green Lake. A crazy, funny affair.

nrhatch - August 19, 2015

Thanks, Nicki! When the “right” words flow, my muse often amuses me.

I checked out the Milk Carton Derby pics . . . crazy fun!

http://www.seafairboatclub.org/MilkCartonDerby.html

12. Tiny - August 19, 2015

So now there’s LEGO for Everglades! We have come far from the days I built castles with my son …and it feels like yesterday. I loved the little Crocs on the croc 🙂

nrhatch - August 20, 2015

I got a kick out of this Everglades LEGO kit ~> Gators!

13. L. Marie - August 20, 2015

I’m finally back online after being off it almost two weeks!! So glad to see cows in your photos. They fascinate me. 🙂

nrhatch - August 20, 2015

Welcome back!

My brother worked on a dairy/potato farm after-school. We kidded him about showing up for dinner smelling a bit “earthy” (eau de bovine).

14. BunKaryudo - September 5, 2015

I’m very sorry to have to bring this to your attention, but I have it on good authority that only one of the alligators in those photographs is genuine. I think you may have to investigate.

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

Scurries off to ascertain the truth of that statement . . .

BunKaryudo - September 8, 2015

Be careful out there!

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

Shall do! Especially after my next door neighbor showed me the photo of the water moccasin sunbathing on her back deck over the weekend!

BTW: I found 5 of your comments in the SPAM folder and released them. I did NOT put them there. You don’t seem like SPAM to me.

BunKaryudo - September 8, 2015

Thank you! I wonder whose luring my messages into the SPAM folder and trapping them there? 🙂

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

Akismet is usually to blame. :/


What Say YOU?

