jump to navigation

MASHterFULL MASHterPIECES! August 13, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Food & Drink.
trackback

Art Center Sarasota invited us to MASHterPIECES ~ an event co-sponsored by Goodwill.  Participating artists upcycled art purchased from Goodwill, putting their own spin on it.

Other galleries displayed original pieces in all manner of mediums.

2015-06-26 17-09-51_0040

Having a glass of wine or other adult beverage in hand enhances the Art Viewing experience for us.

2015-06-26 17-09-57_0041

As does nibbling on nibbles.

At MASHterPIECES, the caterer set up a MASHterFUL Mashed Potato Bar.

2015-06-26 17-09-22_0039

With all the fixings!

2015-06-26 17-09-13_0038

We soaked up some delightful art with a side of smashed tatties.

2015-06-26 17-11-11_0043

With all the fixings!

2015-06-26 17-11-04_0042

Aah . . . that’s better!

How do you like your potatoes?  In the jacket . . . or out?

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - August 13, 2015

That sounds like fun! I am all for mashed potatoes!!!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Let’s do the “Mashed Potato” and hope we don’t fall on our “Watusi”! :mrgreen:

Pix Under the Oaks - August 13, 2015

Love it… love Shelly Long!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Whee!

2. Jill Weatherholt - August 13, 2015

Art, snacks and adult beverages…what more do you need? I love mashed potatoes!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

The mashed potato bar was a smash! 😎

3. anotherday2paradise - August 13, 2015

Yum! Looks like a great place to browse and eat. 🙂

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

It was a bit different ~> (1) we not been to this gallery before, and (2) we had never bellied up to a mashed potato bar.

anotherday2paradise - August 13, 2015

“bellied up” 😀

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

😉

4. William D'Andrea - August 13, 2015

When I was a small child, we’d go to visit my father’s aunt Mary, who lived in mid-town Manhattan. She spoke with a heavy Italian accent. I remember her asking “How’d you like-a some smashed potatoes?

Now I’m thinking “Smashed” Potaotoes? A new item on the menu?

“Bam! Bam! Bam! Okay! The potatoe; he’s a-smashed!”

Was that among the items you tasted at the event?

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Yes! Some tatties got smashed at the Bar. :mrgreen:

5. wheremyfeetare - August 13, 2015

What a great idea to upcycle art! I’ve had my pick of toppings at a baked potato food truck but have never been to a mashed potato bar. Looks good!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

We loved the idea of upcycling art to benefit Goodwill and artistic endeavors. Some of the mash ups were great.

Like you, I’ve enjoyed toppings to order for baked potatoes before, but never smashed.

6. ericjbaker - August 13, 2015

Upcycling art. There’s a cool idea! Saves money on frames and canvases too!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Some of the pieces were whimsical and fun . . . like a beach scene transformed by sun bathing zebras!

ericjbaker - August 13, 2015

Sometimes building off of someone else’s work can be inspiring in it’s own way. It’s almost like a painter’s version of a writing prompt.

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Excellent point about artistic inspiration & writing prompts ~ perhaps pointing our efforts in a limited trajectory amuses our muses.

7. Patricia - August 13, 2015

What a smashing idea. I would definitely go to a potato bar. Potatoes are my favorite food any way they are fixed, add spirits and art and you have a party.

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

You sound like me, Patricia. Potatoes? Yes! I love them all ways.

8. Carol Ferenc - August 13, 2015

Upcycled art ~ what a great idea! My favorite taters? Cheesy hashbrowns, please.

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Thanks, Carol. I’ve never had hashbrowns with cheese. I’m guessing I would love them!

Carol Ferenc - August 13, 2015

I’m sure you would – they’re absolutely decadent.

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Something to add to my Feeding Trough List (i.e., things to eat before I kick the bucket).

9. Kate Crimmins - August 13, 2015

I like my mashed potatoes with a cold Heineken!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Haha! Me too. 😉

10. diannegray - August 13, 2015

What a great idea – and those smashed tatties are awesome. I love mine with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and an ice cold beer 😀

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Count me in! **clink**

11. Val Boyko - August 13, 2015

I really do love the idea for this art show! As a Scot I am very partial to my tatties! Mashed or not, they are all good. My favorite mash is clapshot from the Orkneys. I wonder if its in a dictionary?!?

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Clapshot’s in the Google dictionary ~ one recipe included carrots with the tatties and neeps.

My grandmother and great aunt summered in the Orkneys and they served us plenty of tatties (and neeps) but I don’t recall them calling the dish clapshot.

Val Boyko - August 13, 2015

I was introduced to it at a 2 day wedding between Christmas and New Year on one of the islands. It is a great way to soak up the booze, line the stomach and keep you warm in the depth of winter!!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Sounds like a win-win!

12. Val Boyko - August 13, 2015

Its a masterpiece of tatties and neeps. 😉

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

I would love it. I often make colcannon by adding sauteed cabbage and onion to mashed tatties ~ I learned of it in Williamsburg where colcannon cakes are deep fried to transform them into Bubbles and Squeak!

Val Boyko - August 13, 2015

You’re talking my language Bonnie lass!

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

😎

13. Behind the Story - August 13, 2015

An interesting concept, and it looks like a fun outing. But how does it work? I’m guessing, for example, that in the painting with four views of a woman, that the original had no hats or scarves. Did the artists give up their secrets?

nrhatch - August 13, 2015

Good eye, Nicki! That painting isn’t one of the MASHterpieces.

The food was set up in a different room from the MASHterpiece exhibit and I didn’t take photos of the art in there.

One that I got a kick out of was a beach scene (rather standard) with flying zebras, and sunbathing zebras, and wading zebras painted over the original piece.

Behind the Story - August 13, 2015

Ah! Now I get the idea. That zebras pointing sounds like a fun piece.

nrhatch - August 14, 2015

One other piece I liked involved a mosaic tray made from shards of someone’s pottery.

14. Debra - August 14, 2015

I have never met a potato I didn’t like–jacket or sans covering! Mashed, smashed, baked, fried and even boiled. 🙂 What a wonderful art appreciation experience, Nancy. I love the concept and I’ve never heard of anything quite like it. Clever from the concept of the art on the walls and the refreshment served!

nrhatch - August 14, 2015

Yay! A fellow potato head!!!

I loved the concept (repurpose & upcycle) even if the execution of most of the artwork didn’t set fire to my imagination (or make me reach for my wallet). When we look at things differently, we expand our perspective. And the ordinary may become extraordinary.

15. brickhousechick - August 14, 2015

YES, beer/wine goggles do make everything look more vibrant and larger! HA! I’ve never seen a mashed potato bar. What an awesome idea! I like all potatoes, please! 🙂

nrhatch - August 14, 2015

Potato Lovers Unite! One new found fave ~> sweet potato tater tots. :mrgreen:

I like that ~> beer/wine goggles!

16. NancyTex - August 14, 2015

What a fun way to celebrate art! Love it!

nrhatch - August 14, 2015

I love art with a “sense of humor” to it. Something that surprises me and makes me laugh . . . at it OR with it. :mrgreen:

17. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 17, 2015

Oh how fun!!

nrhatch - August 17, 2015

Suds and Spuds . . . with a side of Art!


What Say YOU?

