jump to navigation

A Wardrobe Malfunction August 5, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Less IS More, Sustainable Living.
trackback

Not long ago, my wardrobe suffered a malfunction . . . it exploded!

2015-06-13 13-31-33_0001

A jumble and tumble of clothing and hangars landed on the bed.

2015-06-13 13-31-42_0002

As I waded in to weed out “the keepers” . . . Tigger supervised.

2015-06-13 15-31-07_0004

He kept a keen eye on me as I reviewed closet contents piece by piece.

2015-06-13 15-30-56_0003

I unearthed several stacks of “cast offs” for donation to Goodwill.

2015-06-14 11-19-18_0009

Reverse Retail Therapy ~> Priceless!

2015-06-13 20-06-34_0005

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - August 5, 2015

It’s a great feeling to purge and donate. I try to gather items every month.

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Same here, Jill. We keep a box in the guest room closet to collect anything we no longer want to house. When it’s full, we drop off the contents at Goodwill and start over.

This summer I’ve been doing a more targeted clean out of closets, drawers, cabinets, and cupboards ~ tapes, CD’s, books, clothing, dishes, etc. It’s such a liberating feeling to “let go.”

2. L. Marie - August 5, 2015

“Reverse Retail Therapy”–I LOVE that, Nancy. I’ve been doing that with books. 🙂

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Thanks, Linda. If I need a quick pick-me-up, I get a bigger kick out of clearing clutter than I do from shopping for new stuff.

Books used to be the hardest for me. I kept EVERY book from college textbooks to novels. While I was reading “Simplify Your Life” by Elaine St. James, we had a small flood and had to empty out a room with 3 big bookcases overflowing with books. I realized she was right ~> our possessions can come to possess us. I got rid of piles of books I knew I would never read again and felt . . . wonderful!

Getting rid of them was like putting a hole in the dam, allowing the energy to flow more freely.

3. Val Boyko - August 5, 2015

Great idea Nancy! I have an ongoing pile in the spare bedroom. It needed some energy to get it moving … and out of the house. Its next to the boxes of books ready to recycle….
I guess its time to move em all out!

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Thanks, Val! Good luck moving it out.

Letting go of “stale attachments” (things we no longer need, use, or love) allows energy to flow and frees up space for NOW.

Val Boyko - August 5, 2015

Stale attachments …. I like that. They become energy drains! xo

4. Carol Ferenc - August 5, 2015

I love being able to purge the excess stuff and I do it at least once a year. Now if I could just convince my husband to do the same . . .

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

After I cleared out the cast offs from my closet . . . my husband followed my lead and sorted through his stuff to get rid of the extraneous and make space for the essential.

Our closet is a happier place to be now.

Carol Ferenc - August 5, 2015

It sounds like bliss.

5. tlryder - August 5, 2015

I tried this with my wardrobe and failed. I have some really strange attachments to clothing. Attachments along the lines of “I don’t like this, but it fits and it’s the only long sleeved button down I own. . .” and then I don’t wear it because I don’t have a closet full of long sleeve button downs for good reason. :/

tlryder - August 5, 2015

Hit post too soon. This gives the illusion that I have more clothes than I functionally do, since a good third or more of my wardrobe is full of “fits but I don’t like it and don’t wear it”.

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

That’s the part of my closet that I gave away ~> the “fits but I don’t like it and don’t wear it.”

Now our closet is full of stuff we like and wear.

6. 2e0mca - August 5, 2015

Tigger was hoping that the ‘explosion’ would reveal some mice 😉 I think we could do with a Wardrobe Malfunction too – clear out some of the older items!

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

No doubt. Tigger may also have been thinking, “why do humans need so much stuff? All cats need is a bed, bowls, and something to bat about.”

7. colonialist - August 5, 2015

What willpower! Weren’t you tempted to cram it all back in somehow, and put a ‘DANGER: DO NOT OPEN!’ sign on the door?

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Haha! That has happened in the past. This time, I waited until all the stars were in alignment before tackling the task.

Once I got started, the project moved along at a good clip with only a few blips when I knew I “should” let something go without quite being ready to press the “eject” button. I set those items aside and kept moving forward to the bottom of the stack.

In the end, I only kept 7 items that “should” have landed in the donate pile. I’ll get them next time.”

colonialist - August 5, 2015

Or, out of cussedness, they will become favourite apparel. 🙂

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Haha! I didn’t factor in the “sheer cussedness” factor.

In this case, most of these “almost donated” pieces require colder weather than we get here. I kept them “just in case” someone forced me north mid-winter.

8. Kate Crimmins - August 5, 2015

Just did that with my linens. I like soft towels. After a few years they get hard and scratchy but they are still “good.” I figured they’d be “good” at the animal shelter so that’s where they went. Got rid of excess bedding. Keeping sheets for bed sizes I don’t have doesn’t make sense.

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Yes! The shelter is perfect for old towels, sheets, blankets, pillows, etc. I went through our linen closet last fall and found a number of mismatched pieces to donate.

If I had to choose between keeping and item or throwing it away, I’d keep much more. But when I can find “it” a new home ~ I happily toss it in the donation pile.

Kate Crimmins - August 5, 2015

So true especially when it involves an animal shelter that needs so much. If only I wasn’t raised by this crazy lady who threw nothing away until it had holes the size of Alaska in it. I blame it on The Depression!

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

My parents hung on to stuff to their detriment. I don’t want to be that way when I “grow up.” :mrgreen:

9. NancyTex - August 5, 2015

I go through this exercise once per quarter. So evidently I am just as good at replenishing stock as I am at depleting it.

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Haha! I expect you’re in good company, NT. This time I let go of stuff from “past lives” ~ even if it fit and looked good on me. If it doesn’t suit who I am NOW, I don’t need it collecting dust in the closet.

10. Patricia - August 5, 2015

I usually do this twice a year. Amazez me that twice a year every year I have a ton of stuff to give to Goodwill.

nrhatch - August 5, 2015

Each time I tackled my clothes, I let go of a bit more of the past, but I was still hanging on to pieces I knew I would never wear.

NOW they are GONE! Huzzah!

Patricia - August 5, 2015

It does feel good to have it gone!

11. brickhousechick - August 5, 2015

Nothing better than cleaning out closets and making room for a whole new wardrobe! You are so organized, Nancy! 🙂

nrhatch - August 6, 2015

Ha! Being organized just means that I know where all the extraneous piles and files are squirreled away. 😛

But I’m working on it. This year, in addition to my closet, I’ve tackled books, CD’s, DVD’s, music books, vases, recording gear, photos, dishes, mugs, cups, tapes, knick knacks, paddy whacks, AND I’ve shredded lots and lots of unnecessary “history.”

Aah . . . that’s better! 😎

brickhousechick - August 6, 2015

Impressive and motivating! 😜

nrhatch - August 6, 2015

And, yet, this place still does not look like a Zen Temple. 😛

Yolanda M. - August 9, 2015

Well done Nancy! I don’t like clutter or piles of anything (except the leaning Tower of Pisa -like pile of books by my bedside that is)

nrhatch - August 9, 2015

An “active” pile of To Be Read books doesn’t count as clutter.

12. Don - August 6, 2015

Reverse retail therapy – I like that. I did so much of it when we moved to the UK.

nrhatch - August 6, 2015

We downsized when we moved here, leaving most of the furniture with the house we sold in Maryland (1000 miles away). We would have needed to whittle away even more if we had switched continents like you did.

Did you leave most of your stuff behind?

Don - August 6, 2015

Yes we sold most of it, Nancy. We kept a few things of sentimental value and virtually started all over again in the U K. Actually it was quite liberating, a bit painful, but extremely liberating.

nrhatch - August 6, 2015

Most important of all ~> you didn’t let “stuff” stop you in your tracks. Enjoy your continued journey.

13. Pix Under the Oaks - August 6, 2015

Good Morning, Nancy! I think you and I must have been doing “Reverse Retail Therapy” at about the same time. My “stuff” is still sitting in bags in our closet. Maybe today is the day it will all make it to Goodwill. I think the problem was that I didn’t have Tigger to snoopervise!

nrhatch - August 6, 2015

Go you! Getting it bagged and tagged (without Tigger to snoopervise) ~> purr-fect. You’re 95.79% done.

14. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - August 7, 2015

I’ve been doing that, one piece at a time, if I don’t love it, then I put it in my pile and take that pile out frequently so I’m not tempted to dig thru and pull anything out!

nrhatch - August 7, 2015

Sounds like you’re making real progress, Kate!

15. Debra - August 8, 2015

I love the look of all those neat and tidy stacks! I went through my closet not long ago and thought I’d really made deep cuts but I really think I need to do it again! It’s not that I buy so many clothes, I just never get rid of anything. You’ve inspired me, Nancy! 🙂

nrhatch - August 8, 2015

I had postponed parting with a number of pieces ~> pants past their prime, t-shirts that never saw the light of day, sweaters more suited to Siberia than here, etc.. This time I decided to do it right and “Let ’em go!”

I don’t miss them. :mrgreen:

16. reocochran - August 16, 2015

I am more of a Spring cleaning person, Nancy. I first offer to friends and daughters, then Goodwill or Salvation Army. It is a wonderful feeling once there is space in drawers and closets. 🙂 I admire Jill and your habit of every month. Wow!

nrhatch - August 17, 2015

Thanks, Robin. I keep a box sitting on the shelf in the spare closet so that I can toss unwanted “stuff” into it on an on-going basis. When it’s full, off it goes.

But a concerted “spring cleaning” effort is needed from time to time to keep space in our space.

17. jannatwrites - October 21, 2015

Everyone needs a feline supervisor 🙂 I recently went through my closet and cleared out some things I hadn’t written in a while. Turns out my friend needed some business clothes for work so I saved her a shopping trip. Her husband was happy!

nrhatch - October 21, 2015

Yay! That’s a great Win-Win! Good luck with the house sorting and sale. As you move from where you are to where you want to be . . . keep breathing! PEACE!


What Say YOU?

