jump to navigation

More Than A Numbers Game July 29, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Gratitude, Happiness, Humor.
trackback

Donald-Ducka

Blogging is more than a numbers game for me. I am interested in quality interactions, not sheer quantity of visitors.

1. I have more followers than visitors and more visitors than comments. That’s OK.  People who comment tend to be people who enjoy expressing themselves via the written word.  Others don’t possess that gene.

2. Writing is great when we have something to say.  It’s a burden, a bore, and a chore when we write just to say something . . . for that, there’s Facebook.

3. We don’t know the impact our words have on others ~ perhaps what I write will entertain, amuse, educate, or resonate with someone “later” (at the exact moment s/he needs to hear them).

Or perhaps not . . .

The-Pink-Panther

4. One night, someone who hadn’t visited for a while commented on 20+ posts in no time at all ~ as if engaged in a race to some imaginary Finish Line.

I wondered about the point of her blitzkrieg.
Did she think I would find it flattering?

5. When I started blogging there was no LIKE button on WordPress. When it first appeared, I LIKED that visitors could LIKE a post without adding to the discussion thread if they had nothing to say.

But then I saw how “Waldo Was Here” visitors overused the LIKE button, perhaps as a fishing lure to get me to visit their blogs?

Haha!  Joke’s on them . . .

6. Tired of receiving notifications of LIKES (which require no response), I disabled the “E-mail me whenever someone . . . LIKES one of my posts” button.

Mickey-OK7. My goal for SLTW is simple ~> enjoy the journey as the path unfolds.

If I’m enjoying the journey, I win.  No matter what.

After all, if it’s not fun, why blog?

Aah . . . that’s better!

“If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.” ― Dorothy Parker

Related posts:  Does Passion Always Lead To Success? (L. Marie’s Blog) * Two Years On (Lively Twist) * Want to Succeed? Let Go. (Think Simple Now) * Inspiration ~ Let It Go (Find Your Middle Ground) * The Path of Least Resistance (SLTW) * WordPress 108: Liking, Following, or Not (Lively Twist)

Comments»

1. tpcsufian - July 29, 2015

This is so true! After reading this, I’d feel weird not commenting. Lol you are so witty! 😀

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Thanks for commenting and noticing! :mrgreen:

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 29, 2015

For me, blogging is about the connections and learning from others. I don’t give a hoot about stats and that nonsense. Cheers! Have a great day, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Me too! I glance at stats from time to time (maybe 2x a month) and think, “what am I supposed to do with this info?”

My favorite thing is getting to know the “regulars” (who, of course, change over time) both here and on their blogs.

3. spykeyone - July 29, 2015

Really enjoyed this. I was actually thinking about writing something similar but you’ve covered the points I was considering and some I hadn’t. I do find that it’s a self-imposed onus to blog everyday but when I finally think of something to say and write it down I actually get a lot of satisfaction and sense of achievement when I can press that ‘Publish’ button. To the extent that I would go to bed unhappy if I hadn’t. I like to think/know that people enjoy what I write so do appreciate the Like button. But then again I get many more Likes than comments.
NIce piece.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Thanks! When I started blogging (5 years ago . . . gulp!), I did post every day because someone told me I had to do that to get traffic up. I listened because they seemed to know their way around cyber space.

Now that I see what I enjoy about blogging (regular interactions with regular folks . . . whose faces ebb and flow), not posting every day gives me more time to visit others.

4. Val Boyko - July 29, 2015

I really enjoyed this upfront post Nancy.
Make that 2 likes …. lol
Recently I’ve found I enjoy others having a like button on their comments. This allows me to agree with someone else rather than taking up the ‘reply’ place with a comment that has already been said.
For me, its about the community and connections, as well as the learning and inspiration!

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Great sum up ~ community, connections, learning, inspiration!

5. Don - July 29, 2015

You hit the nail right on the head Nancy. Exactly the way I feel. I love your words, “Writing is great when we have something to say. It’s a burden, a bore, and a chore when we write just to say something . . .”
I’ve also had what you call those “blitzkrieg” visits where the bombs in the form of the like button are dropped and then “I’m out of here” hoping for a response. It all seems so nonsensical.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Those blitzkrieg “likers” remind me of Tinkerbell sprinkling Fairy Dust around and then zipping off to Never Never Land!

Don - July 29, 2015

Nancy you’ve got to pass some of your marvellous descriptive ability my way. I want some. 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

OK . . . I’ll trade it for some of your sketching ability. 😎

anotherday2paradise - July 29, 2015

This is exactly how I feel when someone suddenly ‘likes’ a dozen of my posts in just a few seconds. It’s comical, rather than flattering. 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Yes, exactly! I would rather have one heart-felt comment on a single post than a series of LIKES posted in quick succession.

6. Kate Crimmins - July 29, 2015

I’ve had Elements of Style for decades and Dorothy Parker had a good point too! As for likes, sometimes I “like” the post but either I’m late in the game and my thoughts have already been covered in the comments or there is nothing substantial I can add. Or I’m stuck for time. I like commenters too. It’s the fun part of blogging. I try to check out bloggers who follow my blog and sometimes I have no clue why they are following me. Other times I do — they can help me make my blog so much better if only I’d give them $$.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Haha! There’s an idea ~> a cyber Tip Jar to share tips ($’s) and tips (techniques)!

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

BTW: I don’t know why “they” are following you . . . but I know why I keep coming back for your posts. In a nutshell ~> I am certain I would enjoy sitting down for a chat with you over a cup of coffee or an adult beverage. You pay attention. You observe life in all its absurdities. You make me laugh.

Kate Crimmins - July 29, 2015

Yes but some of them are like 19 years old. I am truly boring to that age! Some may be practicing their English and I like to give them a work out with colloquialisms!

Kate Crimmins - July 29, 2015

BTW thanks for the kind comment. I would love a slice of pizza and a beverage with you looking at the ocean.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Now you’re talking!

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - July 29, 2015

I try and be very organic with my writing, and it means there is no schedule, but I only show up when I have something to say! 🙂
And, I am a fan of the “like” button so that you know I stopped by and read the post – because there are times that I don’t have anything to add, and that is another change I had to make, I only leave genuine comments, if I have to force a comment, it’s not genuine and I should just enjoy the post and move on – and the “like” button allows me to do that and not make you think I haven’t been visiting!

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

I’m with you ~ a genuine comment or nothing. When I don’t care for a subject matter or the tenor of a post (even if I usually enjoy that blogger’s posts), I leave quietly and hope that the next post is more to my liking so that I can add to the conversation thread.

8. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com - July 29, 2015

Ah, “The Elements of Style.” When I was the Chair of the English Department at a high school, I made that book mandatory for every student. I think it should be mandatory for every writer as well.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Excellent choice for a mandatory text! It’s on my permanent reference shelf . . . next to my dictionary.

9. L. Marie - July 29, 2015

That’s me–number 1. 🙂 I hear you though. I don’t pay any attention to my blog’s stats. I’ve struggled with keeping up the blog because I’ve struggled with the notion of success. (Thanks for the shout-out by the way.) 😀

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

I view my blog as a cyber filing cabinet ~> a repository for quotes, reminders, post-its, photos, and thoughts to ponder. It keeps my desk from getting buried under an avalanche of tidbits.

If ever I get serious about writing (and marketing) my words to the world, I expect that focus would shift a bit. But don’t hold your breath. For now, I’m happy to blog “just for fun.”

10. suzicate - July 29, 2015

1, 2, and 3 – for sure!
I have no idea how long it’s been since I’ve posted, but it’s okay because I haven’t had anything to say. Actually, I started two separate posts last night but didn’t feel like they were much of a contribution to the blogosphere! Currently, I am the receiver…living and learning while others share their words with me.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

That’s the ticket! I am much happier with my current posting schedule (2-3x a week) instead of every day. Gives me lots of time to stroll around cyber space and visit others.

11. tlryder - July 29, 2015

I often “like” posts as a way to let the writer know that I read and enjoyed their work even if I don’t have a comment to make. I’m a fast reader. Does that make me a “Waldo was Here”? I have no idea what that even is.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

“Waldo Was Here” flits around from place to place like a Hummingbird, never stopping long enough to contribute to the conversation . . . a bit like the Travelocity gnome:

https://www.google.com/search?q=Waldo+Was+Here&espv=2&biw=1024&bih=653&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0CCgQsARqFQoTCK2VitDwgMcCFUyqHgodWU0JbQ

That’s not a bad thing . . . unless Waldo is liking posts solely to entice people back to his cyber cave.

12. Carol Ferenc - July 29, 2015

This is a great post for me, the novice blogger. I wanted simply to share my writing but I’m seeing now that blogging is equally about community and learning.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

As Val noted, for many of us, it’s about Community, Connection, Learning, and Inspiration.

For others . . . it’s all about the numbers. Quantity of visitors NOT quality of interaction.

Once we know where we fall on the continuum, we have a better sense HOW we wish to interact.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

And, by the way, I’m glad to have made your cyber acquaintance.

Carol Ferenc - July 30, 2015

Me too, Nancy. Thanks!

13. livelytwist - July 29, 2015

I have found that people blog for different reasons. For some the numbers, just sheer volume of views and likes, are very important.

Someone who has achieved over a million views was trying to teach me how to up my numbers. I explained that although I wanted my writing to have a larger audience, because I believe I have something to say, I didn’t want to grow my audience by ‘liking’ everything in sight!

Like you, I am interested in quality interactions. I hope that when something I write resonates with others, they will share it and that will bring visitors who actually want to read.

Thanks for sharing my posts Nancy. I’ve read a couple of others before, so I read the new links. 🙂

livelytwist - July 29, 2015

btw, @commented on 20+ posts in no time at all ~
What type of comment did the person leave- “nice one”?
Lol XD

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Nice one.
Agreed.
That’s great.
Well said.
Good post.
Great pics.
Thanks for sharing.
Hear Hear!
Huzzah!
Way to go!

Et cetera, Et cetera, Et cetera. :mrgreen:

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Your comment resonates with me, as do most of your posts, Timi. Early on, a month or so after I started SLTW, I was Freshly Pressed and INUNDATED with a DELUGE of comments from STRANGERS. I didn’t like it.

At first, watching the numbers climb was exciting but fielding comments from 100’s of people I didn’t know got OLD . . . FAST.

I’m much happier with a sprinkling of comments from familiar faces/avatars than with a profusion from cyber strangers.

14. Debra - July 29, 2015

I have a mixed feeling about the “like” button. In the beginning I did pay more attention, of course, but by now, struggling as I do to find time to stay connected to blogs and bloggers I enjoy, I am just appreciative anyone comes around at all! I wonder about the future sometimes and I would agree…when it no longer works for me, that’s it. I miss many bloggers who just pulled the plug, but I can understand how that happens! Meanwhile..I don’t even understand sometimes why I enjoy it as I do. 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Yes! I wonder why I enjoy it as much as I do too. Maybe it’s like NORM on Cheers:

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.
Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.

Wouldn’t you like to get away?

Sometimes you want to go

Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.
You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows
Your name.

Debra - July 29, 2015

Perfect, Nancy! I think that’s it! cheers! 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Cheers!

15. JOriginal Muse - July 29, 2015

Let me see If I got this.. Some visits should be seen and not heard or read…? Jk.. I’m one of them… After following you all these years, still enjoying your thoughts, expressions, humor and inspiration. I share a lot of your posts with friends. So, I do like to pop up and pipe in every so often and say WRITE ON, Nancy! 😉

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Hi Joanne! I was thinking about you earlier today when I first saw Suzi’s comment about not posting in a while. And then again with Debra’s comment about folks who pulled the plug.

I’ve seen lots of people come and go in the blogosphere. I LIKE it when they pop in for a quick visit without feeling compelled to catch up on all the posts they “missed.”

One good comment from someone gives me more pleasure than a series of “nothing” comments.

16. Hariod Brawn - July 29, 2015

Want some fun you say? Then come and give me some ‘quality interaction’ Nancy baby, you know that turns me on don’t you? You can even stick numbers all over me if you like, and I do mean everywhere. Ooh, this blogging scene is so damned hot! 😉 http://wp.me/p4wkZJ-cT H ❤

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

Bwahaha! I’m giving you a “10” for that comment, Hariod.

Hariod Brawn - July 29, 2015

I’m insatiable Nancy – I want an ’11’.

nrhatch - July 29, 2015
17. diannegray - July 29, 2015

I love the comment you made about your posts being like a cyber filing cabinet! That’s exactly how I feel.

Sometimes I just ‘like’ posts and that’s usually when a blogger posts a painting or picture and there are no words to write except “I like that” – LOL, may as well just push the ‘like’ button 😉

I’ve also had another blogger comment on every 20+ posts they’ve missed. If it was my mother I’d understand it, but with others I’m just left scratching my head…

nrhatch - July 29, 2015

When I visit blogs regularly, I comment on the ones that resonate and like those that don’t cause a comment to spring to mind.

I never want visitors to feel that reading my blog is a chore that requires them to wade through all the posts to “catch up.” I’d much rather they pick and choose what suits them best.

18. Tiny - July 29, 2015

When I started blogging I was quite obsessed by numbers, but quickly realized that they don’t mean anything. People follow and then you never see them again. They follow to be followed. And the 20 likes one can get in a few seconds are just ridiculous. Now I only care about the interaction with the community. I take days off from blogging altogether, and then catch up only on blogs I really care about… not through the reader which I seldom use. I enjoy that kind of catching up, it’s not a chore for me. Now I only post when I have something I want to share, whenever that is. This was a really long way to say I liked this post, Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - July 30, 2015

Yes! Only a small fraction of cyber “followers” read posts.

I focus on two things when deciding whether a blog appeals to me ~> the quality/subject matter of posts and the conviviality of comment threads.

19. Pix Under the Oaks - July 30, 2015

Good Morning, Nancy! I enjoy reading blogs that have some funny. I love words. I don’t like to write. Because my picture taking mojo has up and left I am not blogging. I do love to read other people’s blogs and I thoroughly enjoy the interaction in the comment sections. I enjoy reading and commenting rather than posting. I never have cared about my stats but I have to say that I admire people that continue to blog every day or blog when they are getting no comments or one or two. They must really be doing it for themselves which I think is a good thing. I would be happy to have 2, 5, 10 people that commented regularly at my blog that were people I felt that I had/have a personal, easy relationship with and enjoy their company… 🙂

I love SLTW because you have made it so easy to help me help myself with your posts. The search feature is great and I like Top Clicks. I have made some big changes in my life that were a direct result of finding you!

CH had his surgery yesterday morning and he is doing great!
For someBODY that doesn’t like to write I filled up this comment box… 😀

nrhatch - July 30, 2015

Yay! Glad to hear that CH is OK after his surgery. Hope he rebounds as quickly as BFF did.

And double yay! about changes made as a result of applying the “recycled wisdom” on SLTW. I’m so glad that our paths crossed in cyber space and look forward to our next meet up.

20. Behind the Story - July 30, 2015

I like your #2, ” Writing is great when we have something to say. It’s a burden, a bore, and a chore when we write just to say something . . .” When I can’t think of anything to say, I do feel that burden. But then, the moment I get an idea, I’m eager to get it down and out. From the time I started, I’ve posted once a week, occasionally more. I told myself I’d cut it down to twice a month this summer so I could spend more time on my new novel. But I already have the habit, and it’s hard to let go of my Sunday posts.

nrhatch - July 30, 2015

Yes! Once we have that spark of an idea, it’s fun to fashion our thoughts into words that flow into a post with a point.

I’m glad I cut back on posting so I have more time for visiting.

21. NancyTex - August 3, 2015

#2 and and #5. Yes. 🙂

nrhatch - August 3, 2015

Hello, NT! I’ve missed your regular posting about this, that, and the other thing. How’s the summer going?

NancyTex - August 3, 2015

I’ve been doing the big convention thing this past week in New Orleans – so I have been completely off the grid, apart from 24/7 Twitter updates (business-related). Arrived home Friday exhausted. I’ve got tons of stories to share, but just can’t find the time. At least I’m finally caught up on blog reading – so maybe now I can do some blog writing.

nrhatch - August 3, 2015

I’ll keep my fingers crossed . . . I enjoy your brand of frankness tempered with just a touch of snark. :mrgreen:

22. reocochran - August 9, 2015

I liked learning, writing, and making friends all my life, Nancy. This is definitely a good place for all of these and more. Comments are great but I am okay with “silent partners in agreement.” By liking my post it makes me feel we are nodding our heads at each other, which can be quite pleasant.

nrhatch - August 9, 2015

Agreed!


What Say YOU?

