jump to navigation

A Strand of Pearls July 13, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

Frog-CircusSimple pleasures are life’s treasures.

As we commune with nature, laugh with friends, inhale fragrant aromas, or savor a good meal, we bring attention, focus, and awareness to the present moment.

We are present (here)
for the present (gift)
of the present (now)

That presence presents us with an immediate mood boost, a shot of instant gratification.

Chinaman-fishingAuthentic being
is revealed, floating in a
sea of contentment

Moments of presence, strung together like pearls, form a fulfilling life strand.

Be Here Now.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Instant Gratification or Fulfillment? (The Water Witch’s Daughter)

Comments»

1. suzicate - July 13, 2015

Moments of presence, strung together like pearls, form a fulfilling life strand. – love this!
I love being HERE NOW!

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Thanks, Suzi. I agree . . . there is nothing like the feeling of being firmly grounded in the present.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - July 13, 2015

Very special this morning, Nancy!

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

thanks, Pix! Hope your day is filled with pearls.

3. L. Marie - July 13, 2015

If being here and now means having three frogs sitting on my head, I will be here right now. 🙂
Seriously, yesterday was a great day of being fully present in the moment. I got together with friends I hadn’t seen in awhile since they now live in Germany. We sat at the home of other friends and talked, laughed, and ate for hours.

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

What a wonderful way to be in the present ~ talking, laughing, and (a personal fave) eating! Glad to hear you had such a fun time catching up with your friends from Germany.

4. NancyTex - July 13, 2015

Your posts are like a mini yoga/meditation session for me. 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Yay! That’s cool to hear . . . I write many posts for “me” ~ since I need lots of reminders to stay in the now and be happy.

Or, at least, to be at peace in the stillness of the eternal now.

5. anotherday2paradise - July 13, 2015

Lovely thoughts, Nancy. Now I have this old song going round in my head. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQUljW_s50I

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

I enjoy some of the old Glenn Miller arrangements ~ one of my dad’s favorites!

6. Val Boyko - July 13, 2015

Such a great reminder today Nancy! Its been a bit of a whirlwind monday around here. And its so nice to pause and really embrace the present moment as part of life’s pearls.
Thank you!
xo

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Whirlwinds are good for “clearing cobwebs” . . . as long as they don’t stir up too much extraneous dust.

Have a day full of pearls!

Val Boyko - July 13, 2015

Thanks Nancy – it’s been a clearing day rather than a stirring up the dust! 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Perfect!

7. Grannymar - July 13, 2015

I love your pearls of wisdom, Nancy. They remind me to stay in the moment.

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Thanks, GM! My posts are often “post it notes” for me ~> reminding me to “just be.”

To the present!

Grannymar - July 14, 2015

Yea! I have found a new toast: “To the present!”

nrhatch - July 14, 2015

Awesome! The mind is a terrific time traveler always wanting to “be” somewhere else. Reining it in pays dividends.

8. diannegray - July 13, 2015

My walks give me a lot of ‘present’ time, Nancy. I’m not sure if it’s the fresh air, the threat of danger, the happiness of the dogs, or the beautiful scenery, but I get it! When I lived in the city I felt like I was just existing for ‘something in the future’, now I feel like I’m living each moment. It’s wonderful 😀

I love coming here to your blog because even though I may be thinking something, I don’t really know it until I write it down in response to your posts xxx

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Being in nature is one of my favorite ways to plug into the NOW. And I know JUST what you mean by your last comment. One of the quotes shared by the leader of a workshop I attended 20 or so years ago has stayed with me:

“How do I know what I think . . . until I write it down?”

9. sufilight - July 13, 2015

Nancy, I find that I can stay present for a few seconds or minutes, but then my mind likes to take over. I like the picture of you and your hubby. 🙂

sufilight - July 13, 2015

I just noticed the photo of which I am commenting about is not in this post. I am confused. lol. I must have seen it in WP’s feed.

nrhatch - July 14, 2015

I, too, am often “lost in thought” . . . with my mind tugging me out of the moment to ponder this, that, and the other thing. I use certain “cues” to pull me back into the present ~ pouring a cup of coffee, unwrapping a chocolate, listening to the frogs, etc.

Yes, the photo is in the feed, not the post. I had it in a draft and replaced it, but there must be some code that allowed the reader to access it. Good thing it wasn’t more risque! :mrgreen:

10. Crowing Crone - July 14, 2015

your words, your presence here, are as a lovely strand of pearls.

nrhatch - July 14, 2015

Thanks, Joss! I’m not hitting on all cylinders today . . . so this was nice to read.

Crowing Crone - July 14, 2015

Take care of you

nrhatch - July 14, 2015

I’m taking it easy and starting to feel more like “myself.” Thanks, Joss.

11. Tiny - July 14, 2015

It’s wonderful to be here now! I’ve also savored a good meal today, and been in nature. So it’s been a great day ~ with a perfect ending right here!

nrhatch - July 15, 2015

Sounds terrific, Tiny. And thanks! My favorite days are those when I flow from moment to moment focused on sights, sounds, aromas, tastes, textures, flavors, etc.

And then there are those “other days” when I emerge from a cloudy fog at bedtime, thinking “where did the day go?”

Tiny - July 15, 2015

Oh, today is going to be the “other day”. I spent two+ hours doing weekly groceries and the first thing hubby asks when I come home through the torrential down pours is “where are the English cucumbers?”

nrhatch - July 15, 2015

You forgot the English cucumbers?! 😛

Hope the rest of your day is smooth sailing with no significant oversights or omissions.

12. Debra - July 15, 2015

I’m so glad you commented on your photo and it’s disappearance, because it confused me not to see it here–I really liked it! You both were obviously having such an enjoyable time, which definitely contributes to my ability to soak in the NOW. I think my most present moments are when I’m in the water, on the water or just near the water! I want to float in the “sea of contentment” no matter the circumstances, however. That’s the key! 🙂

nrhatch - July 15, 2015

When we are absorbed and engaged in what we’re doing, we flow from THIS moment to THIS moment to THIS moment, embraced by the NOW. Aah . . . that’s better!

When we do not like THIS moment, we may recoil and pull back, stepping out of the NOW into stale judgments about the past OR worries about the future. That adds to the angst of the “what is” making us like it even less.

Sometimes the best way OUT of a bad situation is to step IN to it.

Glad you liked the photo. I can’t remember exactly why I felt it didn’t fit with the completed post . . . in any event, “it” disagreed and decided to hang out in the reader. 😛

13. Jill Weatherholt - July 16, 2015

I needed this, Nancy. This weekend I hope to retain my focus of living in the moment. Sometimes it’s difficult with things get crazy. I love the photo of you and BFF!

nrhatch - July 16, 2015

Yesterday was filled with flow for me . . . the perfect pace and tempo to accept, embrace, and relinquish each moment.

Hope you met your 7/15 deadline with time remaining for a cleansing EXHALE!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Jill Weatherholt - July 16, 2015

I did meet the deadline, Nancy, thanks. Didn’t you feel my exhalation? 🙂

nrhatch - July 16, 2015

Yay!

I did feel a shift in The Force . . . W~H~O~O~S~H! 😎

14. reocochran - July 18, 2015

Just the right words for me to pause and reflect this Saturday morn, Nancy. I went to your book and flight of fancy post first and forgot to look backwards. Of course, there is a song and people who say, “Never look back. . . “

nrhatch - July 18, 2015

A boat trying to sail down a stream while moored to the shore makes little to no headway. We have to let go of the past to flow with life.

Letting go of the past does not require us to have amnesia. We do not have to forget all that has happened to bring us to this point. We do need to let it recede from view.

A ship’s captain may recall sailing through past storms and utilize that knowledge to help him negotiate each new storm that arises. That’s putting the past to good use. Problems arise when we dwell on past voyages even on days filled with clear skies and smooth sailing. Instead of seeing today as it is, we see our tale unfolding through the clouded lens of past experience.

Retaining fond memories of people, places, and things from the past is not a problem. Spending untold hours analyzing (or attempting to rewrite) the past is rarely the best use of the time we have remaining.

The past is what it is.

Here’s to letting it go while living life with alert curiosity and wonder!

reocochran - July 18, 2015

Oh, this was very encouraging and such a friendly message, Nancy. I don’t really dwell on the past, just hope to maybe use work I put effort into to reach out to more people. I hope I didn’t sound like I was “wallowing” or complaining 🙂

nrhatch - July 18, 2015

You did not sound that way at all, Robyn. Here’s to finding just the right balance as we live in the present, sandwiched between the past and the future.


What Say YOU?

