jump to navigation

A Priest & A Pilot @ The Pearly Gates July 11, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke.
trackback

300px-Paradiso_Canto_31A priest dies and is waiting in line at the Pearly Gates.

Ahead of him is a guy in sunglasses, a loud shirt, leather jacket, and jeans.

Saint Peter addresses this cool dude, “Who are you, so that I may know whether or not to admit you to the Kingdom of Heaven?”

“I’m Bruce, retired airline pilot from Toronto.”

Saint Peter consults his list and says, “Take this silken robe and golden staff and enter the Kingdom.”

The pilot goes into Heaven with his robe and staff.

Next, it’s the priest’s turn.  He stands erect and booms out, “I am Father John, pastor of Saint Mary’s for the last 43 years.”

Saint Peter consults his list and says, ‘Take this cotton robe and wooden staff and enter the Kingdom.”

“Just a minute,” says the good father. “That pilot gets a silken robe and golden staff and I get only cotton and wood. How can this be?”

“Up here – we go by results,” says Saint Peter. “When you preached – people slept. When he flew, people prayed.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source: e-mail from an unknown author (sent by Joe M.)

Illustration:  Wikipedia ~ Heaven (in Public Domain)

Comments»

1. Hariod Brawn - July 11, 2015

Thanks for the laugh Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

Death can be a Laughing Matter. :mrgreen:

2. granny1947 - July 11, 2015

Love it.)

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

People praying in a plane are often more earnest. 😀

3. Kate Crimmins - July 11, 2015

Good one!

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

To laughter!

4. Tiny - July 11, 2015

A good laugh starts a good day!! They are truthful up there. Thanks Nancy.

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

I sent you an e-mail about another photo contest that might interest you ~ win a trip to Sanibel!

Tiny - July 11, 2015

Thank you Nancy!!

5. Carol Ferenc - July 11, 2015

Funny!! I think I’ve flown with that pilot!

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

“Ladies & Gentleman . . . this is your captain speaking. It looks like we’re in for a b~u~m~p~y ride. Buckle Up!”

6. Val Boyko - July 11, 2015

Haha! Thanks for the giggle Nancy,

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

My pleasure, Val.

7. anotherday2paradise - July 11, 2015

Hahaha. Love it, Nancy. ( I have fallen asleep during a sermon, but find it hard to sleep on a plane.)

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

I expect you’re in good company, Sylvia. Sleeping on planes is a talent I don’t possess.

8. Anne Lene - July 11, 2015

Ha ha, funny one 🙂

nrhatch - July 11, 2015

You can’t argue with results. :mrgreen:

Anne Lene - July 12, 2015

Too true 😉

9. Patricia - July 11, 2015

So funny and likely too true.

nrhatch - July 12, 2015

I didn’t get enough sleep last night ~> maybe I should go to church this morning and catch some zzz’s! 🙄

10. Pix Under the Oaks - July 12, 2015

Funny! I used to always keep my rosary in my pocket when I had to fly. Now I just don’t fly… 😀

nrhatch - July 12, 2015

I hear ya! I’ve flown twice since 9/11 ~ in 2003 and in 2007. I just can’t muster up any enthusiasm to be manhandled by the TSA.

11. Jacqueline King - July 12, 2015

It’s not what you do, it’s the way that you do it!! 😉 Thanks for the giggle, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - July 12, 2015

Giggles are good for the spirit! Enjoy.

12. diannegray - July 12, 2015

Haaaa. That’s very funny, Nancy! I love starting the day with a good giggle xxxx

nrhatch - July 12, 2015

Giggles from D. Gray . . . yay!

13. L. Marie - July 13, 2015

I’ve prayed on many a flight so ha ha ha!!! Hilarious!

nrhatch - July 13, 2015

Sounds like you can relate, Linda. :mrgreen:

14. Ruth - July 14, 2015

Now that’s funny!

nrhatch - July 14, 2015

Glad you enjoyed, Ruth.


What Say YOU?

