jump to navigation

7 Random Thoughts & Links June 27, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, People.
trackback

Hand-rolling-dice1.  Life is a crap shoot . . . and sometimes we get the Royal Flush!

Related: Caca Happens.  Wipe It Off (Brickhouse Chick)

2.  It’s a comedy of errors when we have to modify our normal ADL’s by switching to our non-dominant hand.

Related: R5 for March 8 (Views & Mews by Coffee Kat)

Huey,-Dewey-And-Louie3.  Often, when there is a tug-of-war between HIM and HER, a female confident is no more than the monkey in the middle, dismissed with a wave once peace is restored . . . because HER doesn’t want to be reminded of passing clouds.

Related: The One-Night Stand Conversation (Lively Twist)

4.  Many of us set out to change the world . . . only to find (decades later) that the world changed us.

Related: A Memory (Candid Impressions)

5.  Although a book with an attractive cover may catch our attention . . . it won’t hold it for long without a compelling story between the covers.

Related: Beauty, A First-Class Ticket (Lively Twist)

Butterfly6.  People love to label us so they know which pigeon-hole or box to shove us in . . . as if we were a butterfly to pin to a specimen board.

But we are far more than that.

No single question, occupation, or experience can encapsulate the totality of who we are.

Related:  Scaredy L. Marie (El Space)

7.  A cake (like life) always seems a bit more than the mere sum of its parts!

Related: Life Is Like . . . Cake (Find Your Middle Ground)

IMGP1853b

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Don - June 27, 2015

Thanks for a great post Nancy, and for the link.

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

My pleasure. With so many wonderful blogs swirling around cyber space, it’s fun to point out a few stars from time to time.

2. Rainee - June 27, 2015

That was different! I love the way you come up with original ideas for posts 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Thanks, Rainee. Sometimes “original ideas” result from a persistent backlog in my draft folder ~> too many potential posts, too little time. :mrgreen:

3. Kate Crimmins - June 27, 2015

Nice collection — some funny, some poignant. Thanks for the link.

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Thanks, Kate. I enjoy doing the occasional Mash Up ~> with cyber fingers pointing every which way.

Today I used my non-dominant hand to do the pointing! 😎

Kate Crimmins - June 27, 2015

Oh, I know all about that!

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Indeed!

4. Pix Under the Oaks - June 27, 2015

This will make for some great reading today! Thanks Nancy! Find new blogs this way too… 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Morning, Pix! Here’s to all the interesting blogs circulating and percolating in cyber space.

BTW: BFF’s eyes are now BOTH 20/20! Yay! 🙄

Pix Under the Oaks - June 27, 2015

So happy for BFF! That is great news… 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

We are both thrilled ~> To clarity!

5. livelytwist - June 27, 2015

Your comments on the posts you read are worth saving as a collection of quotes. They’re brilliant and I imagine they must have added value to the conversation. Thanks for sharing from my posts. I’m looking forward to making time to check out some of the others as well. 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Thanks, Timi! Hope a few new readers find their way to your cyber portal to enjoy the view.

6. reocochran - June 27, 2015

I liked the pigeon-holing comment. Poignant. I always shivered when I thought of beautiful butterflies placed on pins. My one brother did this, as a scientific hobby so not putting it down. Just glad this message is we don’t want to sterotype, label or hurt people. Like the campaign to not say, “Run/act/do things like a girl. “

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

When I first stopped practicing law, I didn’t know how to respond when people asked the ubiquitous cocktail party question, “What do you do?” I didn’t have a “new label” to apply.

I decided I don’t need a label.
I am NOT a bottle of wine.

Or a banana. 😛

reocochran - June 30, 2015

So true. You “do” more than lie (lay) around and eat bon bons, Nancy. I am not doing what or who my degree lists, so I tend to hesitate; like over the weekend, at a gorgeous wedding. I make jokes, “I get paid yo work out.” (Omitting that I work at a warehouse.)
You have a “body” of legal cases over your career, but now I would say you are a talented writer. I sometimes like to think I am an “essayist,” Nancy.
I liked what you said about listening friends who are “there” for someone but awkward when couple (sometimes) reunite. Caught in a web of our own device. Ha ha!

nrhatch - June 30, 2015

If you’re ever stumped, here’s a reply I’ve used when I don’t feel like exchanging labels with a new acquaintance:

Them: So . . . what do you do?
Me: As little as possible. 😛

7. suzicate - June 27, 2015

Ah, #4 is true for most of us!
#5…oh yeah how many attractive books have I bought that I haven’t read? I won’t answer that one!

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

What a great weight falls off our shoulders when we realize that it’s not our job to change the world. :mrgreen:

8. L. Marie - June 27, 2015

Thank you for the shout out. 🙂 So glad to be mentioned with the Lively Twist blog, which I learned about from you. 🙂

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

The funnest thing about blogging is all the cyber webs we weave throughout the blogosphere ~> to connections!

9. Jill Weatherholt - June 27, 2015

Loved this, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 27, 2015

Thanks, Jill. Hope your writing is smooth sailing from Here to Crunch Time. Best of Luck!

Jill Weatherholt - June 27, 2015

Thanks Nancy! 🙂

10. beeblu - June 28, 2015

“Life Is Like . . . Cake (Find Your Middle Ground)” Uh, no, no, no, no, I’m not off to find middle ground, I’m off to find cake – that photo has done it!

nrhatch - June 28, 2015

Cake offers so much more than the sum of its parts. Enjoy!

11. diannegray - June 28, 2015

I love these and now I’ve got some blog reading for my ‘coffee time’ tomorrow morning. Thank you, Nancy! 😀

nrhatch - June 28, 2015

Enjoy your Coffee Time, Dianne!

12. Val Boyko - June 28, 2015

Thank you for a great post Nancy and all the connections.
Yummy!
Thanks for the re-post too. You’ve inspired me to get some more of my life is like … on!
xo

nrhatch - June 28, 2015

Cool! To LIFE and its similes!

13. Debra - June 29, 2015

Fantastic! I love the way you connected these dots! I look forward to visiting some of these other wonderful blogposts!

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

Thanks, Debra. Here’s to connecting between the dots.

14. Tiny - June 29, 2015

What a fun mix! Your non-dominant hand does the pointing very well 😉

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

Thanks, Tiny ~> my non-dominant hand does 3 things as well as my other hand:

1. Click-clacking away on a computer keyboard
2. Playing the piano (esp. if it’s assigned chords, not melody)
3. Cyber pointing :mrgreen:

Tiny - June 29, 2015

Clearly multifunctional!

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

I’ve decided to go on a diet by holding the fork or spoon in my non-dominant hand.

I’ll let you know how it goes! 😎

15. Tammy - June 30, 2015

Ok, I’m stuck on this one: Often, when there is a tug-of-war between HIM and HER, a female confident is no more than the monkey in the middle, dismissed with a wave once peace is restored . . . because HER doesn’t want to be reminded of passing clouds. Going to check the related link – or back to bed 🙂

nrhatch - June 30, 2015

Yes. That’s the most cryptic of these 7 cyber pointers. Timi’s post adds the needed context. Enjoy reading . . . or sleeping.

16. brickhousechick - July 7, 2015

I love how you think and how you write! What a unique post featuring a smorgasbord of tidbits and thoughts. Thanks for including my Caca post. LOL. 🙂

nrhatch - July 7, 2015

Thanks, Maria. Happy to include your post in the smorgasbord!


What Say YOU?

