jump to navigation

Be More Popeye June 23, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

Donald-DuckaWhen we accept that we don’t really WANT to do something (lose weight, go to our 25th high school reunion, have a baby, attend the neighborhood potluck), we no longer have to defend our inaction with excuses.

We just don’t do “it” (whatever “it” is).

Sometimes excuses stem from guilt for not wanting “it” badly enough, or fear that others will judge us as wanting if we admit that we are at peace leaving the quo status.

HobbesLetting go of the need to come up with excuses is liberating.

Let’s be more Pop-Eye.

“I yam what I yam.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

And now two more quotes for the Three Quote Challenge (thanks, Sylvia!):

* The only man who is really free is the one who can turn down an invitation to dinner without giving an excuse. ~ Jules Renard

It is better to offer no excuse than a bad one. ~ George Washington

If you want to play along, consider yourself nominated.  Then swing by Another Day in Paradise to see how many rules I failed to follow.

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 23, 2015

There’s nothing worse than a lame excuse. I think the excuse that bugs me the most is “I’m busy.” It’s all about priorities.
I love the George Washington quote, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

There’s no excuse for a lame excuse. :mrgreen:

2. Pix Under the Oaks - June 23, 2015

I love being able to say ‘no’ now!

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

And if they persist:

“What part of NO do you not understand?” 😎

3. L. Marie - June 23, 2015

Well, Popeye felt free enough to let others row the boat instead of taking an oar. 🙂
I needed this today. I’m good at letting fear of judgment push me toward doing what I don’t want to do. Saying no can be a good thing.

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Popeye often let others (i.e., Olive Oyl) do the “heavy lifting.” :mrgreen:

Learning to say “no” is liberating, but sometimes saying “yes” is the thing to do. The key, for me, is to look within for guidance rather than just doing what others want me to do because I’m “afraid” to say no.

4. Rainee - June 23, 2015

Thanks for today’s post Nancy. It is timely for me. Sometimes in saying no we can open up other possibilities that wouldn’t happen if we doggedly kept on. It is not something we are encouraged to do – we seem to be encouraged to keep going or doing as if it is the only option. Thanks again!

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Yes! Sometimes we open up possibilities and opportunities for ourselves and for others by steering our own ship.

5. Hariod Brawn - June 23, 2015

“Sorry I can’t come to your dinner party next week, but I’m washing my hair that night.”

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

THAT excuse is going to fall apart in the wash ~ it will not stand up to the rinse cycle!

Hariod Brawn - June 23, 2015

“Ah, next Tuesday evening you say? Let me just check my diary. . . Oh, such a shame, I’m watching TV that night.”

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

I felt sure you would be doing your nails! :mrgreen:

6. Don - June 23, 2015

So true Nancy. You can create your own hell by not learning to say “no.”

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Yes! The hell of “seething resentment” at them for putting us in a position where we need to rely on our backbone! 😛

Don - June 24, 2015

That’s the irony of it. 🙂

nrhatch - June 24, 2015

As we notice ourselves thinking “I don’t have a choice” . . . we can explore our actual choices, including “let THEM be mad at ME for not meeting THEIR expectations.”

We don’t have to be who they want us to be.

7. William D'Andrea - June 23, 2015

On the other hand, if you’re the one who’s doing all the complaining about something that needs to be done; then the one who finally get around to doing it, should be you.

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

No argument there.

8. suzicate - June 23, 2015

I’ve learned to say no, but still find myself explaining why. I need to just say no and walk away! I did this last week when someone kept wheedling me to change my mind when a yes would have benefited them and caused me great distress.

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Yes, people think they are helping us by figuring out how to do an “end run” around our excuse. Far easier to say, “No, I’m sorry. That won’t be possible.”

Without elaboration, they can’t come up with “Mr. Fix It” solutions.

9. Val Boyko - June 23, 2015

Great quotes Nancy! It really is liberating to know what we want and to stand by it.
As you say, looking inside is where the answer lies. Are we coming from fear or from freedom?
It takes courage to choose freedom 💛
xo

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Exactly. When we give FREELY, it’s a win-win for everyone. When we feel backed into a corner, not so much.

10. Ally Bean - June 23, 2015

The ability to say no is one that I’ve had to develop over the years. When I was new to blogging there was a blogger whose tagline was: “Sanity begins with NO.” I always loved that– and remind myself of it every so often when my spirit fails me. Great post.

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

I’m stealing it ~> “Sanity begins with NO.”

Thanks, Ally Bean.

11. Crowing Crone - June 23, 2015

Love the Jules Renard quote. I have a friend whose adult children, when she gives an excuse for not doing something, are very quick to advise her how to get around whatever the excuse is. I tell her better to just say “No, I don’t want to”.

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

The first time I applied that Jules Renard quote, it worked a charm ~> “Thank you so much for thinking of us, but we won’t be able to attend.”

DONE and DUSTED.

12. diannegray - June 23, 2015

I’ve been saying the ‘no’ word a lot lately. It comes with age (I used to say ”yes’ and regret it when I was young and silly).

I love the ‘I yam what I yam’ quote. Salmon Rushdie used that in one of his books as a quote from God and it got him into a little bit of strife! LOL 😉

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

Some people have NO sense of humor.

Signed, “I am that I am.”

13. Barb - June 23, 2015

As we get older, we do learn to say “no” without feeling guilty – and doesn’t it feel good? Yaaaay!

nrhatch - June 23, 2015

It’s easier once we get older. We can say, “I’m too T~I~R~E~D!” Who’s gonna argue with that? :mrgreen:

14. Tiny - June 23, 2015

I’m finding I’m becoming more and more Popeye. And now I know it’s not all bad 🙂 As to the rules…I often don’t do challenges because they have rules…and when I do, I adjust them. I like that wavelength.

nrhatch - June 24, 2015

I’m with you on “rules” relating to challenges ~> if they’re not set in stone and there’s no money involved, we can adjust the wavelength to suit our time and temperament. 😎

We can Hang Ten, dude!

This challenge appealed to me because I LOVE quotes ~> they’re like Post It Notes for the mind, helping me remember lessons I’ve learned (and need to practice).

Tiny - June 24, 2015

I love quotes too, but I hear a tiny protest from inside when they come with rules 😉

nrhatch - June 24, 2015

Hence the point of this post ~> if we don’t WANT to follow the rules, we don’t! :mrgreen:

15. beeblu - June 28, 2015

isn’t it funny though that people get offended if you turn down dinner without an excuse.

nrhatch - June 28, 2015

People ARE funny . . . that way and lots of other ways. 😛

It comes from using Ego as a yardstick. Instead of:

“I can’t make it that night.”
“Oh, OK . . . some other time then.”

Ego gets miffed, pissed, and offended at the slightest slight:

“I can’t make it that night.”
“Why NOT???!!!”
“I’m busy.”
“Too busy for ME???!!!”
“Yes. I just can’t fit it in.”
“Well, if you don’t come this time, I’m never inviting you again.”
“What?”
“You heard me!!!”

16. Eileen - June 29, 2015

Tigger’s marvelous! And I long ago appropriated the saying, “I am what I am and that’s all that I am.” At 78, I’ve actually begun to live it.

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

Tigger’s are tiggerific! I’m glad you’re living la vida your way!

17. Debra - June 29, 2015

A “no excuses rule” would be very liberating! I think I could work on that one. 🙂

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

To being FREE of excuses that bind, chafe, and trip us up! :mrgreen:

Invitees need not proffer an excuse if they are unable to attend one of MY spectacular and tantalizing soirees, BUT . . . I will knock invitees off future invite lists if they say “I wouldn’t miss it!” and then fail to appear or offer a reason for their absence.

18. anotherday2paradise - July 6, 2015

Gotta love Popeye!! Great quotes, Nancy. Thanks for doing the challenge. 🙂

nrhatch - July 6, 2015

Quotes are like post-it notes for things I want to remember. Glad you enjoyed your trip.

19. jannatwrites - September 9, 2015

I can usually say no, but there are things that come up that feel more like an obligation than a want. Luckily, those are few and far between.

nrhatch - September 9, 2015

It can be challenging to remind other people that we are not here to meet their expectations. 😎


What Say YOU?

