jump to navigation

Rabbit Holes & Reunions June 20, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, People.
trackback

220px-Alice_par_John_Tenniel_27I’ve never attended a high school reunion ~ not when we lived 12 hours away and not when we lived an hour away.  Other than friends I’ve stayed in touch with, I’m not that curious about which rabbit holes fellow classmates fell down.

* “High school isn’t a very important place. When you’re going you think it’s a big deal, but when it’s over nobody really thinks it was great unless they’re beered up.” ~ Stephen King, Carrie

Last year, a classmate sent me a link to a youtube video of a multi-class high school reunion. I watched without pangs of regret for not having attended.

* “The hope was, people like me got to finally find our place in college or in the actual world. People who understood this told you that high school wasn’t the actual world, that it was more like a temporary alternate reality you were forced to believe in for four years. A video game you played, where you could never get to the next level no matter how hard you tried.” ~ Deb Caletti, The Six Rules of Maybe

In contrast, BFF and I have attended Homecoming Reunions at W&M because (1) we love Wmsburg and (2) fall is the best time to visit.  Sometimes we even pop into reunion activities to catch up with old school chums.

275px-Teaparty.svg

But not always.  Sometimes we’re “otherwise engaged” (i.e., busy drinking Mint Juleps at the King’s Arms Tavern).

2014-09-14 17-40-07_0004

Aah . . . that’s better!

And now one last quote for the Three Quote Challenge (thanks, Sylvia!):

* “Problem is, the bathroom pass can’t help you escape life. It’s still there when you come out. Problems and crap don’t go away hiding in the can.” ~ Simone Elkeles, Perfect Chemistry

If you want to play along, consider yourself nominated.  Then swing by Another Day in Paradise to see how many rules I failed to follow.

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - June 20, 2015

Not a fan of high school reunions… never attended one. I had a great time in high school but was certainly ready to move on. I have never had a mint julep… I think it’s the mint that puts me off 😀

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Same here, Pix. I have fond memories from HS, but no desire to “go back” to mix and mingle with the hoi polloi.

I hear ya on the mint. I ordered a Mojito once and couldn’t drink it because of all the chopped up mint circulating in the glass. I strain out the mint leaves before serving.

2. suzicate - June 20, 2015

Ah, mint juleps!

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

A perfect summer drink for front porches and rocking chairs!

3. William D'Andrea - June 20, 2015

Two years ago I attended the 5oth Anniversary Reunion of my High School Graduating Class. I wrote an article about it, which I posted on webook.com, and you left a positive review.

While my memories of High School are mostly very unpleasant, and I hardly got along well with anyone, I have to say that the Reunion was the best time I ever had with my classmates.
So why not give yours a try? It might turn out better than you expect.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Now that I’ve planted my feet in the Florida sand, 1200 miles away from my HS, it is not in the cards. 😎

4. Judson - June 20, 2015

While I didn’t enjoy high school all that much, I did have a great time at my 40th HS reunion. However, I do understand why some people (including my two best friends from HS) consciously chose not to attend.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

I’m glad you had a great time, Judson. I enjoy most gatherings and get-togethers ~> it’s silly to go and NOT have a good time.

But the “general frivolity” at reunions with long lost friends feels forced to me. And there are other things I’d rather do with my time than reminisce (and promise to keep in touch) with people who are apt to fade away again long before the next reunion.

5. granny1947 - June 20, 2015

Oh hell. Just remembered I am supposed to be doing that five day photo challenge!!!!

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Well . . . you have photos in your post. That counts! :mrgreen:

granny1947 - June 20, 2015

Aha…good thinking…but I didn’t nominate anyone…bugger.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Neither did I! 😛

Rather than naming names, I extended an Open Invitation.

6. Patricia - June 20, 2015

High school was awful. Left when I was 16. Although I advise others to stay in school and if possible go to college for me “quitting” was the right thing to do. So, no reunions for me.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Quitting sometimes IS the right thing to do. I heard a great quote (from What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?) the other day:

“Withdrawal in disgust is not the same as apathy.”

Patricia - June 20, 2015

Interesting quote. I can’t say I left in disgust. It was more to save my life that was in utter chaos.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Oops, I didn’t mean to imply that you left HS in disgust . . .

I shared the quote because sometimes “quitting” stems from apathy, laziness, lack of motivation, etc. And sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes quitting = self-preservation.

7. L. Marie - June 20, 2015

I hear you, Nancy! I didn’t go to my high school reunions. And I only went to one college reunion. I don’t feel like I missed anything either. While I liked high school, I was quiet and on the fringe. I have’t kept up with anyone from high school.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

I hear ya! We’ve been to lots of college reunions . . . but only because we like the venue so much. We steer clear of most of the actual reunion stuff and just wander around CW soaking up history.

8. diannegray - June 20, 2015

I’ve never been to a school reunion. My family moved around too much so i don’t think those people even know where I am now. And hey, I’m glad about that 😉
Thumbs up for the mint julep 😀

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

Good point. Moving around has a lot to do with it for me too ~> if I had returned “home” after college and law school, I might have wanted to get reacquainted with old friends in the area and use the reunion to make plans to get together. But just to stop in for a night or weekend seemed pointless.

Unless, of course, mint juleps had been on the menu! :mrgreen:

9. Jill Weatherholt - June 20, 2015

I’ve never attended mine own high school or college reunion, but I have attended BFFs. I keep in touch with the friends who were important, so I never saw the point.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

That seems to be the consensus, Jill. Here’s to knowing what and who are important.

10. Behind the Story - June 20, 2015

I confess to being one of the organizers of our 50-year high school reunion. We had a smallish class of about 175, so we were well acquainted. Most people who could came to the reunion and I think enjoyed the parties. (We had two of them.)

Having lived overseas for 20 years, I know how hard it is to keep up with people you care about. Many friends from my expat days now are Christmas card friends or facebook friends. So I enjoy seeing some old friends in the flesh. Of course, there are many old high school classmates I can’t quite remember or recognize, and even when I do, we don’t have much to talk about. But there are others I’m happy to see. We may have been young when we met, but that doesn’t mean we didn’t mature and do interesting things in the meantime.

nrhatch - June 20, 2015

I expect the smallish size of your class makes a big difference, Nicki ~ my HS class was 500 strong. I didn’t really know them all then, even after sharing the hallways for 4 years.

Glad you had a good turnout for your 50th and that people enjoyed themselves at the parties you helped organize.

11. beeblu - June 21, 2015

They are most certainly best avoided, in my book.

nrhatch - June 21, 2015

A brief cocktail party / Happy Hour might be fun . . . a sit down dinner, not so much.

12. anotherday2paradise - June 21, 2015

Love your choice of quote, Nancy. Well, what can I say? 😯 I’ve also never been to a High School reunion, but I do love Mint Juleps. 🙂

nrhatch - June 21, 2015

To Mint Juleps!
And quotable quotes!

Thanks for thinking of me.

13. Tiny - June 21, 2015

I’ve never attended any kind of reunion. I don’t see the point, even if I happened to be in the right country at the right time and got the invitation. Our rabbit holes are too far apart to dig a tunnel in order to have a meaningful conversation 😱

nrhatch - June 22, 2015

Yes. Gardens, rabbit holes, and friendships require frequent tending . . . or they become choked with weeds. The farther the distance, the harder they are to maintain and sustain.

Playing a constant game of “catch up” isn’t quite the same.

14. Grannymar - June 22, 2015

I’ve never attended any kind of school reunion, why would I want to? I hated my school days so it would only be opening old wounds that at best should be left in the past. I have one school friend who has lasted the time, we now meet up about once a year when I go south. I prefer to live in the present, with one eye to the future and the friendships I choose to make and not the people I was stuck in a room with for five and a half days a week ( we attended school for half a day on Saturdays)

nrhatch - June 22, 2015

A line in Desiderata sprung to mind as I read your thoughts, GM:

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.

Life is a constant letting go of the past (people, places, and things) to make room for the present. Onwards!

15. Tammy - June 22, 2015

I am amazed at how quickly my high school graduate adopted this same attitude .

nrhatch - June 22, 2015

Sounds like he views High School as a stepping stone, not an anchor. I tend to share that view.

16. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 22, 2015

I’ve never attended a reunion – nor had any desire to, which is good because I’ve never been invited to one! Once I left, I LEFT. 🙂

nrhatch - June 22, 2015

RIGHT on, Kate! 😎

17. Debra - June 29, 2015

I’ve never attended any of my reunions either. I’ve come close a couple of times, but in the end I just didn’t think I could muster the energy to navigate that much small talk. Curiosity without any real interest didn’t add up to be enough incentive. I had an “ok” time in high school but I have never yearned to go back. 🙂

nrhatch - June 29, 2015

Yes! That’s it, Debra ~>> curiosity without real interest doesn’t create enough incentive for me to navigate all that small talk! 😎

18. jannatwrites - September 8, 2015

I haven’t been to any of my reunions either. I don’t have a desire to, either. High school was okay, but I’ve moved on 🙂

nrhatch - September 8, 2015

I have a college reunion looming on the horizon. We love visiting Wmsburg, so we’re toying with the idea of attending . . . but the focus would be on Mint Juleps rather than Homecoming. RAH!


What Say YOU?

