jump to navigation

Kona Grill & Motorworks Brewery June 15, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Food & Drink, Humor.
trackback

A few weeks back, we went out for Happy Hour, starting with rum tasting at the Drum Circle Distillery.

2015-04-21 10-59-27_0035

A few happy hours later, we ended the outing at Kona Grill where we shared an appetizer portion of smoked gouda fondue with pretzel bites and apple slices for dipping.

One appetizer and neither of us needed dinner that night.

2015-04-28 17-28-41_0073

To make sure I got my full intake of salt, I ordered a margarita.

2015-04-28 17-28-49_0074

Two days later, we went to Motorworks Brewery ~ the largest beer garden in Florida.

2015-04-30 14-37-15_0075

There, we enjoyed great music, gorgeous weather, good beer.

2015-04-30 14-37-35_0077

We used the putting green, tossed bean bags at Corn Holes, and rolled Bocce Balls around.

2015-04-30 14-37-21_0076

We were about to leave and a couple from Tampa offered to buy me another flight of beer. ย How could I refuse?

2015-04-30 14-37-46_0078

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - June 15, 2015

So important to be hydrated well at this time of year!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

So true, Val. :mrgreen:

2. Jill Weatherholt - June 15, 2015

I’m happy to see you’re taking in the proper fluids, Nancy,

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

The secret to a life well lived is proper hydration. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

3. L. Marie - June 15, 2015

Drinks and exercise! Wow! Plus a free round! Sounds like you had a great time!
That fondue looks yummy and very filling.

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

We did! Kona Grill is at the UTC mall. We won’t go there for Happy Hour often, but we enjoyed that VERY delicious and filling smoked gouda fondue.

Motorworks is much closer and allows us to enjoy fresh air, sunshine, and exercise with our micro brews. Plus they played a soundtrack from the 70’s which was fantastic! A flashback with George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Lynyrd Skynyrd, etc.

We enjoyed the music so much that we didn’t mind sputtering on the putting green. :mrgreen:

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 15, 2015

You can never refuse when someone else offers to buy the drinks ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

The guy from Tampa was doing “research” since Motorworks wants to place their microbrews in the bar he manages.

Tough job, eh?

That means I was a test subject with tasting privileges (i.e., a glorified guinea pig . . . or a free-range lab rat). ๐Ÿ˜›

5. mrsugarbears - June 15, 2015

Perfect Day!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

We spread the perfection over two days ~> Rum Tasting and Kona Grill on Day 1 and Motorworks on Day 2.

Even after years of practice, 2 Happy Hours a day is my limit.

6. Pix Under the Oaks - June 15, 2015

Life is rough for you two there in Flora-da-dee! I love Bocce Ball… ๐Ÿ˜€ Missouri has the Bocce Ball thing going on!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Bocce Ball and Pickle Ball are popping up all round here.

I have no idea whether the way we play Bocce Ball would pass muster with folks who follow the official rules, but we have fun. Maybe we can get our Bocce on the next time you’re here?

7. William D'Andrea - June 15, 2015

If you played bocce ball after drinking at a brewery and other similar places, just how good was your aim?

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Good enough to enjoy watching the balls roll round the green. :mrgreen:

8. NancyTex - June 15, 2015

Never refuse free beer! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

A good rule to follow!

9. judithhb - June 15, 2015

You MUST keep up the liquid intake in the summer; and why only in the summer?

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Good point, Judith! Staying hydrated should be a year round endeavor. *cheers!*

10. Barb - June 15, 2015

Staying hydrated is a serious business – but you made it fun!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Thanks, Barb. We “connected” with our hydrating beverages.

Barb - June 16, 2015

๐Ÿ˜‰

11. diannegray - June 15, 2015

You have had fun! There must be room for me on your bag next time. Promise I won’t burp ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Yes! The more the merrier . . . just leave the plate-sized spiders in Aussie land before you hop on the plane!

diannegray - June 16, 2015

Haaaa. Love it!

12. Grannymar - June 15, 2015

I’m off to discover how to play bocca ball, I never heard of it before,

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

It’s similar to lawn bowling or horseshoes ~ you toss out a small ball as the “target” and teams compete to come closest to the target for points.

It’s a fun pastime when the weather is conducive.

Grannymar - June 16, 2015

It does sound like fun and more up my street than bowling.

13. brickhousechick - June 15, 2015

It’s hard to comment as drool rolls off the side of my mouth. I would be tempted to literally dive into that gouda fondue – holy deliciousness!! Nothing better than someone buying you a drink. How fun!!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

That’s how I felt when I saw a write up of this appetizer with a photo of the fondue and fixings. I added it to my “bucket list” because I knew I HAD to try it. Very fun for chowing down over a drink.

Hey! When we have OUR blogging meet-up, we’ll put gouda fondue, pretzel bites, and sliced apple on the menu. Deal?

14. suzicate - June 15, 2015

Ha, full intake of salt! I”m definitely going to have to remember that excuse for a margarita!
Beer garden? Now, wouldn’t that be delightful to be able to walk into your backyard and pick a beer as one picks a flower? Sound like a lovely idea to me!

nrhatch - June 15, 2015

Oh, my . . . that’s an image! It’s like Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory for adults!

Oompah! Loompah!

15. Tiny - June 15, 2015

The fondue looks delicious! I love cheese fondue and it’s so filling. The beer looks good too, but I’ve stopped drinking beer. It goes right onto my waist. So now it’s only resveratrol. Fermented of course…

nrhatch - June 16, 2015

I don’t drink much beer, wine, or liquor . . . but when I do, I enjoy every sip.

And when I eat cheese fondue . . . I enjoy every bite! Mangia!

16. anotherday2paradise - June 16, 2015

Looks like you had a really great evening, Nancy. The face on that sculpture looks slightly disapproving. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - June 16, 2015

Really? I thought those red rimmed eyes exuded approval. :mrgreen:

anotherday2paradise - June 16, 2015

๐Ÿ˜€ Well they certainly exude something.

nrhatch - June 17, 2015

All the better to SEE you with, my dear. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

17. Jacqueline King - June 17, 2015

Sounds like a fun time was had by all, Nancy ~ but whatever is a ‘flight’?? Sounds like a whole lotta beer to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - June 17, 2015

A flight => Instead of a pint of one type of beer . . . it’s 4 different 4 oz. samples of beer to taste. Great at a microbrewery if you aren’t familiar with all the offerings.

nrhatch - June 17, 2015

The bottom shot and the one two above it each show a “flight” next to BFF’s soda.

18. reocochran - June 24, 2015

I am mainly a wine and mixed drinks customer, but have been recently acquiring a ‘thirst’ for beers or ales. My brother and artist does the logos for Fatheads Brewery. The original brewery is in Cleveland and he has gone to Pittsburg and out West to Washington or Oregon. Shoot! One just opened and the other is their next location.
Randy handpaints the logos on their walls of the restsurants. At the brew house he painted hops vines, made tables out of beer barrels and the tiki poles and funny Head Hunters since one of their brews is called this.
Anyway, Nancy, I like several flavors of summer beers like summer “shanties” and the way Blue Moon suggests an orange slice to bring out the small amount of orange juice in it.
This is a gorgeous brewery and yard. The photographs captured the expanse of the lawn and games. I may have to show this to.my brother and then maybe he can get them to make an outdoor patio at the Cleveland location. I will be heading there to stay a week at my Mom’s senior assisted living apt. We like going to fireworks over Lake Erie.

nrhatch - June 24, 2015

I’ve tried Fat Tire (made in Fort Collins, Co), but not Fatheads. Yet. I’ll keep my eye open.

What a fun job for an artist . . . especially one who enjoys Tiki poles and Head Hunters! When the weather is conducive, I much prefer a drink outside to sitting inside at a bar. Hope you enjoy visiting your mom and the *fireworks* over Lake Erie.


What Say YOU?

