jump to navigation

‘Til Death Do Us Part June 6, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke.
trackback

Groom-&-Bride-catsJacob, age 90, and Rebecca, age 89, living in Miami, are excited about their decision to get married.  They go for a stroll around town to discuss the wedding and on the way they pass a drugstore.

Inside, Jacob addresses the man behind the counter: “Are you the owner?”
The pharmacist answers, “Yes.”

“We’re about to get married. Do you sell heart medication?”
“Of course, we do.”

“How about medicine for circulation?”
“All kinds.”

“Medicine for rheumatism?”
“Definitely.”

“How about suppositories?”
“You bet!”

“Medicine for memory problems, arthritis and Alzheimer’s?”
“Yes, a large variety. The works.”

“Over-the-counter remedies for heartburn and indigestion?”
“We sure do.”

“You sell wheelchairs and walkers and canes?”
“All speeds and sizes.”

“Adult diapers?”
“Sure.”

“Reading glasses, tweezers, band-aids?”
“Yes, sir.”

“Great! We’d like to use this store as our Bridal Registry!”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  E-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.)

Comments»

1. granny1947 - June 6, 2015

Love it!!!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

If I was getting married now, I would have NOTHING to put on my bridal registry ~> we’ve got sheets, towels, knives, casserole dishes, baking pans, and wine glasses to spare.

And we’re not ready for wheelchairs! Yay!

granny1947 - June 10, 2015

Life is good!!!

nrhatch - June 10, 2015

Hope you’re getting resettled after your shifting accommodations.

2. Val Boyko - June 6, 2015

😁

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

WHAT?!
SPEAK UP!!!

I CAN’T HEAR YOU!!!

WHERE’S MY DAMN HEARING AIDS?! 😛

Val Boyko - June 6, 2015

Lol!!

3. Val Boyko - June 6, 2015

😁 I didn’t see it coming …. boy I must be getting old. Wonder where their pharmacy is …

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

Sorry to take so long to respond . . . I was looking for my cane.

4. jo(e) - June 6, 2015

Ha!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

I’ll see your Ha! and raise you a Hardy Har Har!

5. Jill Weatherholt - June 6, 2015

Ha ha! Very cute!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

There is a couple in our neighborhood in this age bracket who got married last summer . . . but they registered for bikes and tennis racquets, not wheelchairs and canes.

6. Pix Under the Oaks - June 6, 2015

LOL!
Good Morning, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

Good morning, Pix! Just back from a walk in the waves ~ chased off by an approaching storm and lifeguards clearing the beach.

7. Kate Crimmins - June 6, 2015

Very cute! I’m sending to my bro!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

Hope your bro gets a kick out of it! Here’s to new chapters and inclinations in our lives . . . whatever our age.

Kate Crimmins - June 6, 2015

My brother is 85. He will identify with it.

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

And, as I recall, he’s in great shape for his age . . . so aging is still amusing. 😎

8. L. Marie - June 6, 2015

Ha ha ha!!!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

Glad it was good for a giggle!

9. Patricia - June 6, 2015

Old. in love and smart. Too funny.

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

They got it all going on!

10. Barb - June 6, 2015

I wondered what was coming – and wasn’t ready for what did…..thanks for the chuckle Nancy!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

My pleasure, Barb! Hope your weekend is stellar.

11. Grannymar - June 6, 2015

I came into a ready made home when I got married so I had no reason to have a gift list. It was just as well as I actually dislike those ‘give-me’ lists.

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

Bridal Registries can be quite helpful when I’m not familiar with what a couple already has ~ especially if the registry includes a range of prices for requested gift items.

Wedding Invites that “request” (i.e., mandate/dictate) $$CASH$$ in lieu of presents turn me off in a BIG way. Umm . . . no thanks.

Behind the Story - June 7, 2015

I agree, Nancy. At one recent wedding they asked for money, and the father even hinted at how much would be enough.

nrhatch - June 7, 2015

Invites that invite invitees to “replenish the coffers” are a “no go” for me when I R.S.V.P.

12. brickhousechick - June 6, 2015

Ha,ha! Perfect! Can I tell you that there is a medical store nearby that I love to go to. That’s where I got my wheel chair, cane and grabber! It’s like a candy store for me. LOL.

nrhatch - June 7, 2015

We have one of those here, Maria ~> it’s tough when we need assistance with ADL’s but great when we find just what we need.

13. diannegray - June 7, 2015

Haaaa. I had a big belly laugh at the end of this one. Good work 😀

nrhatch - June 7, 2015

Cheers to Jacob & Rebecca!

14. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 8, 2015

Hahahahhaha – that’s awesome!! I didn’t even see the punch line coming! 🙂

nrhatch - June 8, 2015

Me neither! Surprise punch lines are the best.

15. judithhb - June 8, 2015

Didn’t see the punchline either, but it’s getting really closer to home.

nrhatch - June 8, 2015

Yes . . . it’s a one way street with no U-Turns!

16. Three Well Beings - June 9, 2015

This is a good one! I wish the couple well…people never know how to use registries properly! 🙂

nrhatch - June 9, 2015

I don’t remember registering much more than our china pattern. In retrospect, we could have skipped that step too since we’ve used our china very little in the 30+ years we’ve been married.

17. anotherday2paradise - June 9, 2015

This is sooo sweet! Thanks for the laughs, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - June 9, 2015

Glad it gave you a laugh, Sylvia. Hope you’re enjoying your visit to the max!

18. Tiny - June 9, 2015

😀

nrhatch - June 9, 2015

I like the optimism they show by getting hitched at that age!

19. Tammy - June 13, 2015

Oh, that’s a little too much for me! Funny but I don’t wanna be there. Guess that means not to get married again!

nrhatch - June 13, 2015

I’m with you, Tammy. At some point the “check list” will be long enough to make me long to “check out.”

20. livelytwist - June 14, 2015

Lol! 🙂 Old age isn’t that ‘bad’ is it?

nrhatch - June 14, 2015

I don’t know . . . Jacob and Rebecca are old enough to be my parents. And then some.

21. jannatwrites - August 22, 2015

This made me laugh…. so much to look forward to, eh? I’m not sure I’d be up for tying the knot at that age… I think I’d be content being a crazy cat lady 🙂

nrhatch - August 22, 2015

Impossible to say what might appeal to me at that age ~> at 20, I didn’t know who I’d be at 40 . . . at 40, I didn’t know who I’d be at 60 . . . in fact, I still don’t know who I’ll be at 60. 😎

Experiences shape us. We never know who we are going to be until we get “there” . . . if we get there. Best to remain curious and see where the path leads.

Of course, “curiosity killed the cat . . . lady.” :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

