jump to navigation

There’s A DAY For That! June 5, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Nature.
trackback

Today is National Donut Day!

Yay!

IMGP0971

It’s also World Environment Day which, for whatever reason, donut seem to stir up the same level of enthusiasm as National Donut Day.

At the ArchIf you donut read this in time to plan a suitable celebration, donut worry, there are lots of other days to celebrate this month:

June 6: National Trails Day

Dedicated by the American Hiking Society, National Trails Day is a celebration of trails, when people across the nation take to the trails while hiking, biking, horseback riding, paddling and more.

2013-12-24 16-06-47_0027

June 8: World Oceans Day

June 15: Nature Photography Day

June 18: Go Fishing Day

June 18: International Picnic Day

IMGP3673b

June 21: First Day of Summer

June 21: Daylight Appreciation Day

June 26: Canoe Day

IMGP1859

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. ashokbhatia - June 5, 2015

Well said!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Thanks! Here . . . have a donut!

2. suzicate - June 5, 2015

I have not had a donut in several years…our boys used to bring them home on occasion, but not something I’d go for otherwise! Although one could take advantage of National Trail Day after indulging In Donut Day to even things out!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Yes! Eat . . . hike . . . repeat.

And I’m with you. Donuts donut pass my lips often.

3. Hariod Brawn - June 5, 2015

Well, there are only 365 days available to dedicate to important cultural issues. Hey, whatever happened to National Chocolate Day? [Actually, one for plain and one for milk I think.]

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

I should have National Chocolate Day AND National Pizza Day committed to memory . . . but I donut.

Tigger’s second favorite day was yesterday ~> Hug Your Cat Day! His first favorite day ~> Feed Your Cat Treats Day!

4. NancyTex - June 5, 2015

mmm…sangria!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

I’m there!

5. William D'Andrea - June 5, 2015

That explains it! This morning they were giving out one free donut to every customer at a local Duncan Donut’s. I had a jelly donut. I figured, if it’s free why not?
Thank you Duncan Donuts!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Yay! Glad you bagged a jelly belly!

6. Val Boyko - June 5, 2015

Dearie me … what will they think of next.
Donut tell me!!
June 21 is also World Yoga day.
xo

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

World Yoga Day allows us to twist ourselves into donuts, crullers, and pretzels!

Val Boyko - June 5, 2015

Love it! They could combine it with selling pretzels … 😉

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Yes! A yogic pretzel a day keeps assorted kinks at bay!

7. anotherday2paradise - June 5, 2015

Don’t you just love celebrations? 🙂 Lovely photos, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Thanks, Sylvia!

Judging from your post today, your granddaughter will be in terrific shape when National Yoga Day arrives on June 21 ~ whereas I’ll be all tied up in knots.

8. L. Marie - June 5, 2015

Every day is national donut day for me. 🙂
So really, there is a national day of something every day?

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

I believe so, Linda ~ yesterday was Hug Your Cat Day. Not sure if it was International, National, or Regional. :mrgreen:

For more celebrations:
https://www.daysoftheyear.com/

9. colonialist - June 5, 2015

Hole in doughnut – hole in ozone layer – there’s a weird logic there, somewhere!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

And that’s not factoring in the whole donut vs. the donut hole.

colonialist - June 7, 2015

**urk**

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Turns out it’s also Hot Air Balloon Day! So we can grab a whole donut (or donut hole), hop into a balloon, and soar through the hole in the ozone.

colonialist - June 7, 2015

At high noon, singing, ‘Donut forsake me, oh my darling …’?

nrhatch - June 7, 2015

“You are lost and gone forever, oh, my darling, o-zone!”

10. Pix Under the Oaks - June 5, 2015

We treat ourselves to a donut now and then. Well, June is just a festive month… yay! Cheers!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Par~Tee!!!

We are on our way to Publix where BFF just might pick up a couple of donuts. 😎

Pix Under the Oaks - June 5, 2015

Publix Red Skin Potato Salad… 🙂 Enjoy your donuts! We have our first sunny day in weeks and I am going to head out with CH under the oaks and have an iced tea with a bit of lemonade… my favorite summer drink!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

The donuts belong to BFF . . . but I bought some yummy stuff for me too!

Hope you had a sunny happy hour with CH.

11. reocochran - June 5, 2015

I know that I posted about Donut Day and did not know about Environment Day until I ‘hit’ the library today. I felt so bad for missing this much more important day. But, in my defense, last month we had Earth Day and Arbor Day on my calendar, Nancy. This is so great that you made sure we take this important be kind to nature and the environment message ‘on the road again!’

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Earth Day and Arbor Day get way more press than World Environment Day . . . plus they don’t have to share the billing with DONUTS! :mrgreen:

12. Jill Weatherholt - June 5, 2015

I’m not a donut eater, but I can’t wait for the first day of summer. What a cute picture of you, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Thanks, Jill. Summer is fast approaching ~ hope you fill it with magical moments.

13. Patricia - June 5, 2015

Donut about you but I think there is day for everything. Always something to celebrate!

nrhatch - June 5, 2015

Yes! Your comment reminds me of Winnie the Pooh:

Pooh: What day is it?
Piglet: Today.
Pooh: Oh, good. Today is always my favorite day.

Here’s to making Today the best day of the week.

Patricia - June 6, 2015

Pooh is very wise.

nrhatch - June 7, 2015

Very . . . someone even wrote a book about it:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Tao-Pooh-Benjamin-Hoff/dp/0140067477

14. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 5, 2015

You had me at donuts! You lost me at trails! Lol!

nrhatch - June 6, 2015

You cannot go for a walk without sustenance!

15. Three Well Beings - June 9, 2015

I think I might get on board for National Picnic Day! that sounds like fun to me. That would be fun to plan with the g-daughters! Now I have donuts on m mind. Wow!

nrhatch - June 9, 2015

Excellent idea, Debra ~ a picnic with the g-daughters is just the thing. Bring donuts for Breakfast in the Park!


What Say YOU?

