jump to navigation

How Not To Get Sick In Church May 30, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor.
trackback

IMGP3928Q.  What’s the best way to avoid getting sick in church, especially during cold and flu season?

A.  Stop going to church.

That’s my solution anyway.

And, no, I’m not worried that some personified deity will smite me down for not attending church services.

After all . . .

What artist would paint a Daisy then punish it for not being a Rose?

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - May 30, 2015

Makes perfect sense to me too Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

God is the breath in the breath. _/!\_

2. anotherday2paradise - May 30, 2015

The perfect solution! Now I just need to know how to avoid getting sick on a plane. 😕

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Since holding our breath for an overseas flight is not an option, the best bet is to keep our immune systems in tip top shape with good food, exercise, and plenty of rest.

That and crossing our fingers and toes!

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Hope you’re feeling all better now, Sylvia. Enjoy your stay!

3. NancyTex - May 30, 2015

LOVE that last sentence.

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Thanks, NT. That thought came to me one day while painting daisies. 😎

4. reocochran - May 30, 2015

This light-hearted post had a deeper meaning. Almost like three messages I took to heart, Nancy. Yes, be careful when you are places where you may shake hands or hug. In our church, we call this, “Passing the Peace.” I have wondered about a few of the hands I have shook and if you happen to be by a ‘cougher’ or a ‘sneezer’ you may really worry. Then, the next thing that came to mind was ‘smiting.’ I am one who dislikes people who are so ‘preachy’ or ‘judgemental’ about whether I made it to church, along with not taking my grandkids to church. I feel it is up to their parents to decide until they ask if I will take them or the child him or herself asks. Then, parents permission must be asked. I had a friend who ‘snuck’ her grandchild to church since she felt the child might fall into hell or something if not taken. Please, don’t tell me this!
Lastly, I love paintings with both formal and informal poses, along with gorgeous ‘fancy’ flowers and woodland trails with daisies or even dandelions, Nancy. Loved this and you really ‘got me going’ on this one! 🙂

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Thanks, Robin. You’re correct ~> I tossed this out as a rather light-hearted post. Love that you found layers of resonance:

1. People spread germs . . . even in church. A-CHOO!!!
2. Sanctimonious people are not pleasant to be around.
3. We are not all meant to emulate “Saint Rose.”

5. granny1947 - May 30, 2015

I love the way you think!!!

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Thanks, Kathy! Hope you’re back where you belong!

6. Pix Under the Oaks - May 30, 2015

It has worked for me so far!

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Exactly ~> either we’re not targets or “someone” has very bad aim! :mrgreen:

7. Patricia - May 30, 2015

Going or not going to church doesn’t make a bit of difference to me. We are loved by “someone” either way.

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Thanks, Patricia. Some folks worship in church. Others by communing with nature, hugging trees, or walking in the waves.

Allowing our love and gratitude to expand is good . . . wherever we might be.

Tammy - June 2, 2015

I like that Nancy – let it expand wherever we are.

nrhatch - June 2, 2015

Here’s to the bottomless well of peace, love, and gratitude within.

8. Jill Weatherholt - May 30, 2015

I know plenty of folks who attend church every Sunday and look down on those who don’t, but once they leave the building they show no sigh of love and patience toward others.
As for the germs, I never go to church without Wet Ones in my purse.

nrhatch - May 30, 2015

Excellent strategy! Just think of all the people who have handled the Hymnal!

And good point. Who we are radiates from the core ~ as the Dalai Lama says, “Kindness is my religion.”

9. Grannymar - May 31, 2015

When I was a child, I was told that God was everywhere! Sitting in the middle of a field listening to nature’s chorus and (hopefully) a gentle breeze on my face is pure heaven!

nrhatch - May 31, 2015

Nature nurtures! A glimpse of bliss. 😎

10. Silver in the Barn - May 31, 2015

That made me laugh. Thank you and hope your Sunday has been a good one. Gesundheit!

nrhatch - May 31, 2015

Thanks, Barbara! It has been a good one ~> lots of chopping and dropping in the kitchen to use some of the fresh tomatoes we picked at Hunsader Farm on Thursday:

* Brunswick Stew with onions, tomatoes, corn, green beans, potatoes, and seasonings (tabasco, worcestershire, etc.)

* Bruschetta with tomatoes, garlic, basil, salt, pepper, olive oil

* Quinoi with onions, tomatoes, zucchini, broccoli, and garlic

Cooking is such fun . . . as long as I’m in the mood. :mrgreen:

11. William D'Andrea - June 1, 2015

The best way to avoid getting sick in Church, is to practice healthy habits, and avoid unhealthy ones, when you’re not attending worship. Also, when it comes to “passing the peace”, I personally just smile and say “The Lord Bless You”.

Many people in my Church, mostly women, expect to receive a kiss; but I’m just not a “huggy-kissy” guy. The most I do is shake hands.
Before anyone can object I just say, “I do not kiss married women”. That usually gets me a good laugh, and they agree that not doing so is a very good way of avoiding trouble.

One response I got to not kissing married women, came from one grandmother in the congregation who said, “That’s a relief.”

My reaction is, “A relief that flows in both directions.”

nrhatch - June 1, 2015

Your comment reminded me of this:

Winston Churchill was famous for his skill with a riposte. When his friend Lady Astor said that, if he were her husband, she’d poison his tea, Churchill responded, “If you were my wife, I’d drink it!”

12. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - June 1, 2015

I think it’s a grand solution! 🙂

nrhatch - June 1, 2015

And if you use Sunday morning to catch up on your sleep, your Jawbone will stop jawing at you! :mrgreen:

William D'Andrea - June 9, 2015

That’s a problem I often have. I very often fall asleep during the sermon; regardless of who is speaking, or how interesting the subject matter is. I’ve come up with one excuse:
“The Devil made me do it.”

13. L. Marie - June 1, 2015

I usually bring my coffee thermos when I go! Caffeine! Ahhh!
I agree with Jill’s comment.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to visit the egret at another one of your posts.

nrhatch - June 1, 2015

Enjoy visiting that egret . . . you can tell him about the cardinal and the bower bird!

14. Tiny - June 2, 2015

That is a good solution, but what about getting sick in a grocery store? That’s where I usually catch it, standing in line close to someone who should be in bed nursing their cold.

nrhatch - June 2, 2015

I find it easier to “steer clear” of sickies at the grocery store. In part, because I can use my cart as a divider! :mrgreen:

In church, if a sickie sits down next to you, you’re sunk. 😯

15. Three Well Beings - June 2, 2015

My mother-in-law used to say that she was in church every Sunday–clipping the roses or mulching the flower beds! Some people “commune” with a watering can!

nrhatch - June 2, 2015

Communing with a watering can is a great way to refill the well. Here’s to weeding and feeding our inner gardens.

16. beeblu - June 7, 2015

Haha – exactly what I would advise.

nrhatch - June 8, 2015

We’re on the same page!


What Say YOU?

