jump to navigation

Moon Under Water April 27, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, People, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

In March, we drove to St. Pete for lunch at Moon Under Water, a quaint British Pub with sidewalk service.

To learn the intriguing story behind the name, click HERE.

I ordered the Feta Taboule Salad with black olives and red peppers, served in a tortilla shell with Hummus and Pita.

A bit too much green and not enough grain for my tastes.

2015-03-04 12-56-27_0013

BFF opted for Fish & Chips with a side of Tikha Masala Curry which tickled our “Tikha” . . . and our tastebuds.

2015-03-04 12-56-32_0014

After lunch, we went in search of a Small Craft Taps and Casks House ~ The Ale and The Witch.

2015-03-04 14-18-48_0021

We chuckled at a posted proverb but didn’t have a chance to sample the Witch’s Brew ~> the taps aren’t tapped at quarter past two.

2015-03-04 14-18-26_0019

Next time we won’t arrive before the Witching Hour.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Hariod Brawn - April 27, 2015

Fish and chips with curry sauce – how very British! [Seriously]

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

The Executive Chef (Chef Mike) is quite the Brit, certified through City & Guilds of London. He’s cooked in England, Spain, the Channel Islands, and the Canary Islands. The menu at The Moon Under Water focuses on Indian and British Colonial cuisine.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - April 27, 2015

CH likes the proverb and I like the looks of BFF’s Fish and Chips… even if it’s breakfast time here!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

Hi Pix! My parents enjoyed fish for breakfast ~> sometimes smoked kippers, sometimes grilled trout.

I usually stick with coffee.

3. L. Marie - April 27, 2015

Ha ha! That proverb is hilarious!
I agree with Pix Under the Oaks. It’s breakfast time, but the fish and chips might suit my taste buds.
Glad you had a good time!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

I found the exterior of the Taps and Casks House to be worth the trip, even if we didn’t get to sample the Witch’s Wares.

That curry sauce made the meal for me ~ I dumped it over that ponderous pile of parsley and transformed the taboule into tabouleh.

4. Kate Crimmins - April 27, 2015

Couldn’t see any grain in your dish (and I do like parsley but…) but it sounded interesting. I love fish and chips but I only get if I know the fish is fresh (I’m sure yours was). You can get Mrs. Paul’s at home! Too bad about the microbrew. It would have topped it off nicely.

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

At first, I thought they had forgotten to add the bulgur wheat to the mint and parsley. On closer inspection, I noticed a few grains circulating through the salad. Suffice it to say I would not order taboule again at Moon Under Water.

That said, the curry sauce was magnificent. I doused the salad with it and transformed the greens from inedible to edible. Especially when paired with a Stella Artois.

Kate Crimmins - April 27, 2015

Stella makes it all better!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

S~T~E~L~L~A!

5. Jill Weatherholt - April 27, 2015

Love the Proverb, Nancy! Boy, those fish and chips sure looks delicious.

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

That seems to be the consensus, Jill. BFF is a big fan.

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 27, 2015

Looks good – I love The Ale and The Witch, that’s a place I’d like to hang out!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

It’s hidden away in a courtyard that you can see reflected in the glass. Great place to hang out on a balmy evening.

7. NancyTex - April 27, 2015

I want to cry when I look at that fish and chip plate, knowing it’s no longer on my menu. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

Do you have to avoid all fried foods? I would miss French Fries if they got crossed off the menu.

NancyTex - April 27, 2015

Apparently so. Although I know many, many people who have lost their gallbladders and eat greasy food by the bucket-full.

I guess for the next few months I’ll be extremely cautious to avoid any more issues. On the plus side, it will really kick start my diet. (and by diet, I don’t mean going-on-a-diet; rather diet – as in – the way I eat.

Silver linings…

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

That sounds like a suitable approach, NT ~> cutting out fried foods is a great way to Kick It Up A Notch (while kicking our belts down a notch).

*BAM*

8. suzicate - April 27, 2015

Cool Story of Moon Under Water. Now, I agree that I need more than one sip for The Ale and the Witch; in fact, it might take me a glass or two, ha!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

Exactly! Just make sure there is no Moon Under Water before you take that first sip!

9. Val Boyko - April 27, 2015

You can’t beat good pub grub … with a good beer of course! I love that Brits are exporting the Indian food experience too ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

I’ve had a love affair with curry since I learned to cook ~ Curry Dip, Curried French Toast, Vegetable Curry, etc. It’s been my go to seasoning for ages. And we had a great time at the Indian Festival last year ~ tantalizing aromas and tastes.

Val Boyko - April 28, 2015

Indian festival? I’m there!

nrhatch - April 28, 2015
10. thecontentedcrafter - April 27, 2015

I love my greens -but that Tabbouleh looked a little too green! Is there a shortage of bulger wheat perhaps? ๐Ÿ™‚ Seems like that part of the world houses a little bit of England. Love the witches proverb!

nrhatch - April 27, 2015

Green is good. But sometimes less is more! :mrgreen: It tasted much better doused with the Tikha Masala.

11. judithhb - April 27, 2015

Fish and chips with curry sauce – not my way of eating fish and chips. Add a pickle maybe but curry Oh dear no.

nrhatch - April 28, 2015

Hi Judith! Perhaps it’s more of a British thing:

http://www.irishamericanmom.com/2012/12/04/chips-and-curry-sauce/

There’s even a short-lived British sitcom named after the snack:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curry_and_Chips

12. Grannymar - April 28, 2015

Sorry for taking so long to add my comment, I was having a few sips… just to make sure I like my beer, honest! ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - April 28, 2015

Bwahaha! That’s great, GM. One is never enough.

13. Tiny - April 28, 2015

Thanks for the tip! We’re likely to go to St. Pete on Thursday, will see if hubs wants to have lunch at the Pub. Love the proverb ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you see the Dali and Da Vinci exhibition?

nrhatch - April 28, 2015

We didn’t have time to visit the Dali that day ~ but we did wander around and find those curious critters on the sidewalk.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/a-pelican-a-gator-and-an-elephant/

Another place we checked out in St. Pete ~ Mazzaro Italian Market, 29092 2nd Ave. N. mazzarosmarket.com. People grab lunch at the deli and dessert at the bakery and take it to the patio to eat. It’s packed with patrons waiting for their number to be called so they can place their orders. We got a couple of loaves of Italian bread to take home. Delish. And we sampled an almond pastry that wowed us.

Have FUN!

14. Tiny - April 28, 2015

Those critters are such fun! And I have Mazarro’s on my to do list…since about a year. Thanks for that info. This time likely to be Dali only, and a lunch.

nrhatch - April 29, 2015

Have a good time. We try not to overbook ourselves on outings either ~ one or two things to check out with play room built into the schedule for any unexpected pleasures that wander our way.

And one of these days, we need to schedule a meet up with you. We haven’t been to your neck of the bay in ages.

15. Behind the Story - April 29, 2015

I love the name “Moon under Water” and the explanation behind it.

nrhatch - April 29, 2015

Me too! We met the owner at a Cruise Night on the island. As soon as I checked out the website, I wanted schedule a visit.

BFF loved the Fish & Chips. And next time I’ll know to get one of the awesome Curry dishes, not Taboule.

Behind the Story - April 29, 2015

I’ve tried a couple of times to like Taboule and not quite succeeded.

nrhatch - April 29, 2015

I eat it often ~ but with a better grain-to-green ratio. This version should have been called Parsley Salad. ๐Ÿ˜›

16. Three Well Beings - April 30, 2015

I am glad you gave the link to the name “Moon under Water.” Very interesting! I can see you had a relaxing and delightful day–and meal. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - April 30, 2015

Yes! Quite an under handed way to recruit “volunteers” . . . reminiscent of getting shanghaied into service.

Relaxing and enjoyable.

17. jannatwrites - May 4, 2015

Looks like you had fun. I had to chuckle at the witches proverb (even though I don’t like beer and don’t need to sample ๐Ÿ™‚ )

nrhatch - May 4, 2015

We did. A relaxing day. The proverb works with other beverages (e.g., wine, coffee, pina coladas, iced tea, margaritas, etc). It also applies, with minimal editing, to CHOCOLATE.

18. Paula Tohline Calhoun - May 8, 2015

opa! What a repast, from the first course to the last. Your photos look sumptuous and mouthwatering and enticing.. If we should ever venture south with a conversion van so I can bring my electric wheelchair and easily traverse the hard packed sand. I really hope you’ll tell us of your favorite place to eat, so we can offer a special blogger friend and loyal reader a treat!

nrhatch - May 8, 2015

Our favorite “watering hole” is the Waterfront on Anna Maria Island . . . easily accessible by wheelchair. Here’s a post with pics:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/the-waterfront-restaurant/

19. Paula Tohline Calhoun - May 8, 2015

Most things of true value require a thorough inspection. Including witch’s brew. Since you are from a long line of valiant witch women, do you possess a secret recipe of your own to share? I would love to try it! :mrgreen:

Paula Tohline Calhoun - May 8, 2015

That should read “valiant witch women.” May your ancestor rest in the sweet peace she deserves.

Paula Tohline Calhoun - May 8, 2015

Fumble fingers on my virtual keyboard continue to mess up my comments. Hope you enjoy the anyway!

nrhatch - May 8, 2015

I have enjoyed them . . . and I edited out the stumbles and fumbles for you. No Charge!

nrhatch - May 8, 2015

Thanks, PTC. All fixed . . . along with a number of other finger stumbles.

nrhatch - May 8, 2015
Paula Tohline Calhoun - May 9, 2015

I can already taste it! mmmmmmmm. . .Good!


What Say YOU?

