jump to navigation

Reclining Happily-Ever-After April 23, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Humor, Less IS More.
trackback

Last July, we gave the sofa we inherited with our villa to a niece setting up her first apartment ~ pick up, not delivery.

At Thanksgiving, we delivered the matching loveseat to her as a hostess gift.

That left us with a sizable gap in the middle of our living room.

2014-11-24 17-58-41_0014

Consistent with my guiding philosophy (“do what you can, with what you have, where you are”), we filled the gap with deck chairs as a temporary fix . . . until we got ready to shop.

2014-11-26 15-43-40_0016

Have I ever told you how much I hate shopping?

I decided we would go shopping AFTER Christmas . . . just in case Santa dropped the sofa of my dreams down the chimney we don’t have.

He didn’t.

I then decided we would go shopping AFTER the Christmas decorations had been put away so as not to confuse the issue with seasonal clutter.

IMGP2758b

And we did just that.  We went shopping . . .

AFTER January morphed into February.
AFTER Valentine’s Day came and went.
AFTER President’s Day sales flyers began to yellow with age.
AFTER Shrove Tuesday.
AFTER Ash Wednesday.
AFTER the Chinese New Year.
AFTER the dawn of Daylight Savings Time.

With the Ides of March and St. Paddy’s Day on the horizon, my sister asked whether I regretted consigning our previous sofa and loveseat to her daughter.

Nope.  Giving them away created just the space and motivation I needed to muster up the enthusiasm for canvassing the shops.

As soon as I got good and ready.

On Friday the 13th, we launched ourselves into the market place of furniture showrooms ~ Highland Park, Hudsons, the Pink Pineapple.

No luck.  We continued shopping ~ Badcock, La-Z-Boy.

We found a super comfy power recliner at La-Z-Boy but didn’t like its bulging bulky pillowy approach to living room decor.

We continued shopping ~ Rooms 2 Go, Casual Interiors.

At the latter, we experienced sticker shock from price tags that exceeded the cost of my first car by a significant margin.  The only saving grace?  Fuel economy would not be an issue.

We continued shopping ~ American Freight, Furniture Warehouse.

We test-drove sofas that looked great but felt like rocks.  Who wants to watch TV perched atop a rock-hard rock?  Not me.

We continued shopping . . . feeling more and more like Goldilocks in search of an elusive plate of perfect porridge.

I consulted our list.  We still had piles of pillows to peruse ~ Pamaro Shops, American Signature Furniture, Baer’s, Kanes, etc..

Have I ever told you how much I hate shopping?

At last, on March 20th, after 14 showroom visits and 137 test drives, we found what we wanted at Manatee Furniture.  Huzzah!

2015-03-20 17-38-15_0010

The salesman sealed the deal when he offered to deliver them that afternoon! Yes, please!

2015-03-20 17-44-01_0012

We raced home, dodging Friday afternoon beach traffic, to return the deck chairs to the deck and ready the space for our new “just right” sofa and loveseat . . . where we now recline happily-ever-after.

2015-03-20 17-44-11_0013

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. suzicate - April 23, 2015

Awesome! I love it! I want to get rid of my upstairs sofa and replace it with two recliners….when I’m good and ready. I’ve only been talking about it for two years. Perhaps I should just get rid of the sofa and see how long it will take me to start shopping. And yes, we hate furniture shopping, too!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

It only took us 6 years from DOI (date of inheritance) to replace ours . . . you have time, Suzi! 😛

2. Pix Under the Oaks - April 23, 2015

I love it Nancy! We may have to hop in the car and drive on down to see you two and sit on the new couch and loveseat! It looks great!!! We have taken as much time as you and BFF to buy a chair for the family room… still no go. I could stretch out on that loveseat and just chat up a storm!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Yes, please! Come on down. We’ll pop popcorn, eat pizza, and watch movies. 🙄

Pix Under the Oaks - April 23, 2015

Pizza? 😀

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Mais oui! :mrgreen:

Pix Under the Oaks - April 23, 2015

But of course! 😀

3. Val Boyko - April 23, 2015

Yeah!!
“Keep to your path and you will be rewarded … no matter how long it might take”
🐥

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Yes. No reason to “push the stream” . . . just allow the path to unfold in its own way and time.

Val Boyko - April 23, 2015

Nicely put. Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Refusing to push the stream allows us to let go:

http://thinksimplenow.com/motivation/let-go/

And follow the path of least resistance:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/the-path-of-least-resistance/

4. Val Boyko - April 23, 2015

p.s. it looks good!!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

A pleasant surprise was how much it “mirrored” the lines of the teal recliner. Like long lost cousins, reunited.

Val Boyko - April 23, 2015

They do look as if they belong together in a contrasting way 🙂

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

And the teal recliner still feels loved . . . it’s my favorite spot to curl up with a good book or meditate.

5. Rainee - April 23, 2015

Very nice too!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

And comfy . . . even in shorts.

6. Jill Weatherholt - April 23, 2015

Ha ha! I remember your post…was it really last July? Wow…where did the time go!
I love the new furniture, Nancy! Good things come to those who…procrastinate. 🙂

Pix Under the Oaks - April 23, 2015

I am so familiar with PROcrastinate!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Your comment makes me want to come up with a contrasting definition for CONcrastinate! 😎

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

We gave the sofa away in July, but I didn’t post anything about the furniture swap until after we gave the loveseat away for Thanksgiving and I had added “seating” to my Christmas Wish List. :mrgreen:

7. L. Marie - April 23, 2015

Lovely! They go so well with that painting and the rest of the decor. Glad you found the right furniture. I’m not a fan of shopping either.

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

The living room is more Zen without the busy patterns of the previous sofa and loveseat ~> and everyone can recline at the push of the button if they tire from Shopping until they’re Dropping!

L. Marie - April 24, 2015

That’s awesome! I never thought about how busy patterns and other clutter can add to one’s stress level. But looking at your photos reminded me of what a peaceful setting looks like..

nrhatch - April 24, 2015

That’s the reason we didn’t opt for the La-Z-Boy sofa (which enveloped us in a cozy HUG) ~> its multitude of seams seemed chaotic and confused. 🙄

8. Kate Crimmins - April 23, 2015

I like it! Despite the fact that I DO enjoy shopping, not for furniture. There is the sticker shock and then sometimes I don’t like it when I get it home. We bought a LazyBoy loveseat recliner 3 years ago. The fabric is shabby and it’s not as comfy as I expected. Someday I will replace……someday. I looked into recovering. Eyowza! It would cost twice what the piece cost originally. I like your set. It’s not overly bulky.

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

OMG, yes! We no longer live in a land where it pays to recover or reupholster (most) pieces . . . unless you DIY. Likewise, it’s cheaper to replace (most) appliances than to pay for a service call.

Shopping for groceries suits me best ~> minimal investment AND you don’t have to live with your purchases longer than it takes to EAT THEM. 😎

In contrast, furniture tends to hang around a long time and needs to coexist with other pieces ~> I feel pressured to make the “right” decision in terms of cost, comfort, appearance, quality construction, etc. So far, no buyer’s remorse for these pieces.

9. NancyTex - April 23, 2015

They look fantastic! Getting the right thing for your space is worth waiting for!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

I was just thinking about you . . . did you and your GB part ways on Tuesday???

NancyTex - April 23, 2015

Long story, NH. I’ve email-updated several bloggie friends. I can send to you as well if you send me your email address.

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

On its way! Fingers crossed for a Happy Ending.

10. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 23, 2015

ooohhhhh, I love those! They look so soft and supple! And I can’t believe how many stores you went to! But, in comparison, I walked into Lazy boy and walked out with a couch… 🙂

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Lucky you! We did find one sofa in La-Z-Boy to be So Comfy! I would have bought it for a den, but not the only living space in the villa ~ too “poofy and puffy.” Glad you found yours first stop.

11. thecontentedcrafter - April 23, 2015

Better late than never! 😀

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Exactly! We managed just fine with the deck chairs until I mustered up the resolve to shop.

12. Barb - April 23, 2015

It fits in so well with your recliner Nancy, a perfect match!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Thanks, Barb. We tried to get a color that would coordinate and were very surprised when we saw the lines side-by-side. A pleasant happenstance.

13. brickhousechick - April 23, 2015

That’s exhausting having to shop for new furniture! It sounds like you covered all ground. A very nice choice if I may say so myself. Enjoy! 🙂

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Thanks, Maria! These would have made a perfect perch for you when you were clubbing it the other night with Mr. BH! Especially if a roving waiter kept you both supplied with adult beverages!

brickhousechick - April 24, 2015

I would have lounged in a sexy pose and been fed grapes to. 😀

nrhatch - April 24, 2015

Yes! The perfect posture for sipping Cleopatra’s!

14. Tiny - April 23, 2015

Congratulations! Great looking couple! And they look comfy too. I praise your perseverance. I hope not needing to do those thousand and a half rounds at furniture shops any time soon…after we hunted for our terrace furniture in 7 or 8 show rooms couple of years ago.

nrhatch - April 24, 2015

That’s my motto . . . “Procrastinate, then persevere!” :mrgreen:

We don’t shop often for “big ticket” items. This may have been the first “serious shopping” we’ve done since moving to Florida in 2009. I’m sure some folks view shopping as recreation. For me it is W~O~R~K!

15. Grannymar - April 24, 2015

I have been struggling and hiding over the past week, I hope you will forgive me, Nancy. I am back in time to like your style and ready to curl up on that sofa!

nrhatch - April 24, 2015

No worries, mate! Just glad that you are again up and around. I’ve enjoyed several movies from our new “vantage point.” A big improvement over the deck chairs.

16. Three Well Beings - April 26, 2015

It sounds like after all that waiting it wasn’t too painful for you! 🙂 They’re really lovely…very comfortable looking and they suit you. I also really love the artwork about the sofa! Hope you don’t have more shopping to do for quite awhile.

nrhatch - April 26, 2015

Tom Petty says the waiting is the hardest part. Not true for patient procrastinators (like me!) ~> for us, the shopping is the hardest part.

The painting is “Agave Flower” by Jill Barton. It reminds me that I don’t know as much as I think I do ~> I bought it thinking it was a blue lotus. :mrgreen:

17. jannatwrites - May 3, 2015

I like the new sofa! I’m not a fan of furniture shopping either. Finding the right balance of comfort and price is a real pain in the backside.

nrhatch - May 3, 2015

Sometimes we “luck” into the right store at the right time when all the stars align. But not often.

Usually it requires a bit more trudgery than that! :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

