jump to navigation

Live, Love, Laugh, Learn April 21, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

Tigger-Looking-At-His-TailAs we live, love, laugh, and learn, we evolve.

We transform from “who we are” to become more fully “who we want to be.”

We stop using an external yardstick to measure our “success.”  Instead we focus on the contentment, peace and happiness we feel within.

We let go of the need to impress others with fame, fortune, and other trappings (and traps) of material success.

Little-Miss-Scatterbrain

We no longer barter our time for $’s at the expense of our values.

We stop accumulating clutter and refuse to spend money we don’t have to buy things we don’t need to impress people we don’t like.

We begin to see that less is more.  We lessen our attachment to stuff and clear our lives of the extraneous to make room for the essential.

We strive to live with integrity, honesty, and authenticity.  We sense increasing harmony in what we think, what we say, and what we do.

Broccoli-Mocking-StewieWe stop defending our reputation.  What they think of us is none of our business.

We let go of anger and resentment and learn to forgive ourselves and others.  We stop stewing in our own juices over perceived transgressions.

We begin to see the innocence in acts and omissions.  Instead of rushing to judgment, we advocate on behalf of others.

We envision best case scenarios instead of assuming the worst.

We develop an attitude of gratitude as we engage in simple pleasures.  We let go of greed.

3D-Cow

Through mindfulness and meditation, we cultivate peace of mind and compassion.

Unwilling to create unnecessary suffering, we enjoy more meatless meals ~ a win for us, the animals, and our precious planet.

We revel in mystery and synchronicity.  We trust intuition, knowing it surfaces from the wisdom within.

We share what we learn, often offering a different perspective.

Mickey-DiverWe flow with life instead of exhausting ourselves by struggling against the current.

We accept the “what is” as it is ~ here, now. We don’t dwell on a past we can’t change or a future that may never arrive at our door.

And when inevitable waves toss us around, we use our sense of humor as an approved flotation device.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Like a water-wheel, filling and emptying its buckets over and over as it turns, we empty out who we were, to become more fully who we are. If we hang on to Ego concerns, our buckets do not empty . . .  leaving less room for growth.

Related post:  Want to Succeed?  Let Go.  (Think Simple Now)

Comments»

1. suzicate - April 21, 2015

We not only develop wisdom but freedom! 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Agreed! It’s liberating not to be governed by an insatiable Ego that it always looking “out there” for applause and accolades. Instead, we just hum along, content as and where we are.

2. Hariod Brawn - April 21, 2015

Yes, aging certainly has its upside Nancy, and I would never trade my accumulated years for my former self.

Apologies for being absent these past couple of weeks; I have been touring the country visiting family and friends.

Hariod. ❤

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

I would love to be 37 in perpetuity . . . but only if I could keep the wisdom I’ve gleaned in the intervening years.

Welcome back. Hope you enjoyed the grand tour!

3. Rainee - April 21, 2015

Great post Nancy. I shared it on Facebook 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Thanks, Rainee! I enjoyed putting this list together back on what I’ve learned and put into practice . . . . sometimes. 😛

4. Jill Weatherholt - April 21, 2015

It’s wonderful to grow old! We’re all so smart now. 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

I don’t think it’s a given just because we’re older. I saw a 80-year-old man SCREAMING at his wife at Home Depot the other day, acting like an errant toddler in the throes of the terrible twos . . . only not nearly as cute.

I wanted to remind him that he was old enough to know better. 🙄

5. L. Marie - April 21, 2015

Love this, Nancy! As someone who has often stewed in her own juices (just call me Stewie), I’ve learned the health dangers of that occupation. I’m trying to become a former Juice Stewer. Laughter is a good remedy.

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Yay! You noticed the Stewie connection! 😎

Our minds, when left on auto-pilot can kick up a lot of dust. Here’s to reining them in. WHOA!!! Laughter is an almost instantaneous diffuser for me ~> if I can find the funny, I can shake off all but the most egregious acts and omissions.

6. Val Boyko - April 21, 2015

Living laughing and loving our way into old age … is wonderful!
I wouldn’t have believed I would get a kick out of this and “get it” when I was young.
I would add – “Asking what’s right?” instead of “what’s wrong?”

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

I started to “get it” around 37, after reading Simplify Your Life.

Elaine St. James helped me see how unimportant it was to spend money on “stuff” we don’t need which enabled me to see how often people buy stuff they don’t need to impress other people which enabled me to see how often people use an external yardstick to govern their choices which made me see how much easier life can be when we look within for guidance which . . . etc., etc., etc.

For me, it wasn’t so much a process of getting old as changing my perspective to heed the inner voice.

Val Boyko - April 21, 2015

I hear you Nancy! Something happens that shifts our perspective and as we embrace it it transforms us 🙂
For me it was moving to the US and adapting to living in this culture.

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Yes! A paradigm shift can occur from a book, a movie, a health scare, a move . . . when accompanied by just the right inspiration and introspection.

7. mrsugarbears - April 21, 2015

“We flow with life instead of exhausting ourselves by struggling against the current.” This is so well written. I’m struggling against the current today, so on my lunch break I’m going to re-read this in the sun and try and go with the flow. 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Awesome! The first time I remember shifting from struggling against the current to going with the flow happened when I had to have surgery to remove a tumor. At first, I resisted the “what is” . . . wanting to WISH it away. That, of course, didn’t get me very far and added to my suffering.

Once I ACCEPTED that I had a tumor that I WANTED removed, my calm peaceful center surfaced. I allowed things to be as they were and stopped driving past my headlights by imagining worse case scenarios or worrying about things outside my control.

Aah . . . PEACE!

Hope you get back into the flow!

8. Grannymar - April 21, 2015

Nancy dear, I am hoping that ‘ “what is” as it is ~ here, now.’ will change ASAP! At this stage I know every inch of the tile pattern in the smallest room of the house! 🙄 Seriously, I am well on the mend now and looking forward to getting back to normal.

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Glad that you’re on the road to recovery. It’s never “fun” being sick. To help me cope, I play the “it could be worse game” and imagine being in an even WORSE situation ~ e.g., not at home, no bathroom around, in a tent in a blizzard at the top of Mt. Everest, etc.. That usually makes me feel pretty good about the here and now I am actually facing. 🙄

Grannymar - April 21, 2015

My distraction gene was in overdrive this past week. I allowed my knitting with some comfort yarn to surround me. It did the trick. 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Excellent! Glad it did the trick. As long as I don’t have a blinding migraine, reading/ writing/ watching a movie allows me to “be here now” with greater comfort and ease.

9. thecontentedcrafter - April 21, 2015

Yay for maturity and the ceasing of dramatics ~ Yay for being okay with embracing contentment!

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Some people never outgrow the need to feed Ego and prove they are in control even if it means bullying or abusing spouses, kids, co-workers and neighbors.

See my comment to Jill @ #4. That “nasty” old man will probably never outgrow the need to take “center stage” to vent his frustrations ~> for some, once a “drama queen” always a “drama queen.”

10. Pix Under the Oaks - April 21, 2015

I really like this post today Nancy! And that sense of humor is a wonderful thing. I know because I have been very thankful for it all week! I am still working on stewing in my own juices but I am much better, don’t stew as long. And intuition… big! The par-tay was fun! I am going to shoot you a picture of the birthday boy.. 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2015

Yay! Glad you enjoyed the party, Pix. The first step to stewing less is being aware that we are doing it AND then recognizing that doing it is a choice that we make moment by moment.

We can unload that wheelbarrow whenever we want ~> how refreshing the whinny of a pack horse fully unloaded.

11. livelytwist - April 22, 2015

I really like the idea that our sense of humor is an approved flotation device. 😄

nrhatch - April 22, 2015

Thanks, Timi. My sense of humor is THE most valuable possession I own. 😎

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher

“A well-developed sense of humor is the pole that adds balance to your steps as you walk the tightrope of life.” ~ William Arthur Ward

12. Tiny - April 22, 2015

Lots of collected wisdom here – like a signposted growth path 🙂

nrhatch - April 22, 2015

Thanks, Tiny. Lots of us make it to the various signposts . . . just not in the same order.

13. Silver in the Barn - April 22, 2015

Without a sense of humor, I’m not sure where’d I be. Or how my marriage would survive. Thank heavens we have a mutually wacky one and “get” one another. I really liked this post today, Nancy, full of so many good reminders about letting go of the superfluous.

nrhatch - April 22, 2015

Thanks, Barbara. The best thing I like about my BFF is that we like to laugh at the same wacky notes!

14. Behind the Story - April 23, 2015

As we live, love, laugh, and learn, we do evolve. And then we keep on evolving some more. This is a wonderful list and a good reminder. Any one of these is a good subject for meditation. I especially like the one about not exhausting oneself by trying to swim against the current.

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Thanks, Nicki. I find life easier (and notice more synchronicity) when I’m NOT swimming against the current.

15. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 23, 2015

Part of my evolution has been not comparing myself to others, and I have found such freedom, it’s amazing! I LOVE this list!! Just LOVE IT!

nrhatch - April 23, 2015

Yay! Glad you enjoyed the list ~ not comparing ourselves to others is a great way to practice using an internal yardstick.

16. Three Well Beings - April 26, 2015

I love the analogy of the water wheels emptying! That’s an excellent visual. I have recovered so much lost time because I stopped defending and explaining myself. There’s a lot of freedom in letting go of expectations. Beautifully said, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 26, 2015

Yes! When we don’t get caught up defending, explaining, and meeting “their” expectations, we have time and space to flow and grow.

17. jannatwrites - May 3, 2015

I like this post because as my life goes on, I’m getting more to this point. I mean, my life up until now has been to acquire more. Well, now I have too much and I’ve had enough. Downsizing is in my future and I’m actually excited for that 🙂

nrhatch - May 3, 2015

It’s a different perspective, which uses different yardsticks. I get a bigger and better “buzz” from dropping stuff off at Goodwill than I do when buying stuff for us . . . except for chocolate. Of course.


What Say YOU?

