jump to navigation

Synchronicity x 3! April 13, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness.
trackback

Mickey-SurfingThree times in three days, synchronicity has whispered at my door:

(1) On Thursday, in her comment on A Quagmire of Obtuse Construction, Barbara (Silver in the Barn) mentioned The Elements of Style. 

That night, the Final Jeopardy answer was . . . The Elements of Style.

2014-10-31 15-41-03_0012a

(2) On Friday, I watched Annie (2014) for the first time.

What an adorable attitude <~ Annie’s . . . not Ms. Hannigan’s.

That night, as I resumed my bedtime reading of A Woman’s Place, the author mentioned Annie:

Still I wondered whether Kikit was in bed and what babies were sleeping with her and if she was singing them to sleep in her child-sweet soprano ~ my little Annie, singing her favorite, “Tomorrow,” pretending that I was listening and beaming with pride. ~ p. 176

The Universe’s orchestration made me grin.

I just happened to stumble into the only mention of Annie in the 405-page book on the very night I watched Annie . . . for the first time ever.

Perfect timing!  Especially since I only managed to read 10 pages that night before turning out the light.

(3) On Saturday, I added Annie (1982) (with Carol Burnett) and Annie (1999) (with Kathy Bates) to my Netflix queue.  Ever helpful, Netflix tossed out a suggestion ~> Black Narcissus (1947).  Glancing at the synopsis, I ignored the suggestion.

Maybe I shouldn’t have.

On Sunday, while scrolling through TV channels at lunch, I saw Black Narcissus being aired on PBS.

Maybe the Universe is trying to tell me something?  Let’s hope it’s NOT whispering, “Get thee to a nunnery!”

Aah . . . that’s better! 

Comments»

1. colonialist - April 13, 2015

Synchronicity can be fascinating, tantalizing, or even quite scary. Especially when it relates to things done rather than things observed – like our classic where Much Better Half and her sister, on random impulse, both took out the same title from different libraries on the same day. The book dealt with synchronicity.

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Awesome example of synchronicity in action, Col. It makes me wonder: Are random impulses random? Or orchestrated? 🙄

colonialist - April 13, 2015

What worries me is why some of the most wildly synchronistic experiences seem weird but utterly meaningless?

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Maybe just to see if we are listening? That way, if/when the Universe has an important telegram to send, we’re not “off line.”

2. Don - April 13, 2015

God help the Nunnery. 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Bwahaha! More than once, my parents threatened to send me to a convent for the duration of my difficult teen years.

I would laugh ~> “You think they’d agree to keep me?” :mrgreen:

3. Jill Weatherholt - April 13, 2015

Sister Nancy…hum…I’m picturing you in a habit. 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Habits hide:
(a) winter weight gain
(b) a secret stash of Skinny Pop
(c) a multitude of sins 😎

Jill Weatherholt - April 13, 2015

Perhaps a couple bags of SP. 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

And a 6-pack!

4. Pix Under the Oaks - April 13, 2015

Dying over the thought of you joining the sisterhood of nuns! I wanted to be a nun… for about two days in grade school! Synchronicity is big in my life.. 😀 I did not know there was an Annie 2014 and now I am going to check out A Woman’s Place. Lynn Austin?

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

I enjoyed Annie. I’ve never seen any of the Broadway adaptations before, so it really was a first for me.

Jamie Fox starred as “Daddy Warbucks” (though that wasn’t his character’s name). Cameron Diaz played an alcoholic Ms. Hannigan. The child who played Annie was a delight to watch. And none of the songs were overdone.

Since “the critics” say that the Carol Burnett and Kathy Bates versions are MUCH better, I decided to add them to my queue. I love stories with Happy Endings.

Like the Sound of Music.
Which started out in a convent.
Hmm . . .

No, not Lynn Austin ~> A Woman’s Place by Barbara Delinsky. OK story, nothing great.

http://www.amazon.com/Womans-Place-Novel-Barbara-Delinsky-ebook/dp/B000FCKH5Q/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1428930899&sr=1-1&keywords=a+woman%27s+place+barbara

5. NancyTex - April 13, 2015

So amazing when synchronicity smacks you on the head!

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Yes! I could reach back & pull “better” examples from the past, but what struck me here was the frequency of the winks and whispers.

I’ve noticed synchronicity more often when I’m paying attention, awake and aware. Maybe the recent frequency is b/c I’m tuned in to the “right” frequency. :mrgreen:

6. L. Marie - April 13, 2015

I like to believe in the orchestration of synchronicity. But I doubt there is a nunnery in your future. 😀

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

I believe you are correct! 😎

7. anotherday2paradise - April 13, 2015

Thanks for the Monday smiles, Nancy. Annie is such a heartwarming movie. The Black Narcissus trailer did nothing for me either. 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

I’d never heard of Black Narcissus until Netflix recommended it the Saturday. When I saw it airing on PBS on Sunday, it made me wonder whether I was missing something. 🙄

anotherday2paradise - April 13, 2015

Haha 😀

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

I think Annie is more my speed.

8. Tiny - April 13, 2015

Nunnery? You don’t strike to me as a typical candidate 🙂 I think synchronicity is just playful sometimes, happened to me yesterday morning too.

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

It crossed my mind that it’s trying to make sure that I’m “paying attention” for a message coming down the pike.

Tiny - April 13, 2015

That’s very much possible!

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Maybe it’s the Universe saying, “Can you hear me now?” 😎

9. L. Marie - April 13, 2015

Here’s a bit of sort-of synchronicity: I was recently made aware of two Disney Broadway musicals which each had a song of which I was not aware. Each song relates to something happening in my life! The two musicals are The Lion King and Beauty and the Beast so they don’t exactly match. But they’re Disney musicals.

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

I love it when song lyrics “speak to me” about the dance of life.

The journey between what you once were and who you are now becoming is where the dance of life really takes place. ~ Barbara DeAngelis

10. thecontentedcrafter - April 13, 2015

I suspect Netflix may have misunderstood the meaning of ‘synchronicity’. 🙂 I read ‘Black Narcissus’ a hundred years ago and my memory says it was a great read, but watching the trailer – yikes!!

Synchronicity is an important factor in my life, it’s always at work – though sometimes I don’t see that until much later!

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Netflix’s suggestion was no more than a “link” in the “wink.”

When I added Annie to my queue, Netflix suggested “More Movies Like Annie.” Included in the mix was Black Narcissus. The title caught my eye, so I read the synopsis:

Secular matters consume five missionary nuns who head to the Himalayas to establish an Anglican school. In the meantime, the quintet’s leader (Deborah Kerr) must grapple with the envy of one nun (Kathleen Byron), the bitterness of a man (David Farrar) and the cruelty of the elements. The film received Academy Awards for Best Art Direction and Best Cinematography, in part for its Technicolor innovations.

It didn’t seem much like Annie at all. So I dismissed the suggestion. Until I saw it playing on PBS the next day . . .

To have a 68-year-old movie I’d never heard of before appear on my radar screen two days running seemed more than a mere coincidence. That, to me, is the definition of synchronicity:

* the simultaneous occurrence of events that appear significantly related but have no discernible causal connection.

I have since added Black Narcissus to my queue . . . just in case. 😉

11. suzicate - April 13, 2015

HA, let’s hope “get thee to a nunnery” is NOT the message! I love when synchronicity knocks on my door!

nrhatch - April 13, 2015

Same here ~ being a nun wouldn’t be much fun. Unless I could be the Flying Nun (like Sally Field). Synchronicity feels like a *happy little wink* . . . a reminder to pay attention.

12. Ally Bean - April 14, 2015

Oddly [or maybe not] I’ve been fixated on the name Ann lately. It keeps entering my mind and flashing across my awareness. Cannot put any meaning to it, as of yet, but when I do I hope it’s as interesting as your adventures with Annie. Cool post this one.

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

Hi Ally. That happened to me with Morocco awhile back. Every where I turned ~> MOROCCO!

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/morocco/

I never figured out why. ❓

Ally Bean - April 14, 2015

Interesting. I’m thinking that Ann, which means grace, is telling me to take time to notice the grace in my life. Share it with others? Try not to stumble so often? Something like that.

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

That might be it. And even if that’s not the message, grace is wonderful to notice ~> gratitude!

13. Silver in the Barn - April 14, 2015

When I wrote my post about minotaurs and ukuleles appearing over and over, a friend wrote me privately and announced I was experiencing Baader-Meinhof phenomenon. Who knew?
http://www.psmag.com/books-and-culture/theres-a-name-for-that-the-baader-meinhof-phenomenon-59670

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

Interesting article, Barbara. When we buy a new car, suddenly we see that car everywhere due to increased recognition of its features and appearance. That’s selective attention and confirmation bias at work ~ validating our purchase.

I’m not persuaded that every instance of “synchronicity” can be explained by selective attention and confirmation bias.

I’ve known about and used The Elements of Style for over 30 years ~ it’s not a new word, thing, or idea to me. I wasn’t keeping an eye out for it when it happened to pop up on Jeopardy right after you mentioned it in your comment.

And I didn’t feel that the second sighting proved its “overnight omnipresence” . . . especially since I haven’t experienced 3rd, 4th, or 5th sightings.

When the same thing happened with Annie the next night, it made me smile ~ I’d never watched it before, but I’ve known of its existence for decades. I found it amusing to have it mentioned in the book I was reading on the same night I FINALLY watched it for the first time.

Black Narcissus is more like the Baader-Meinhof phenomenon since I’d never heard of it before . . . but unlike the terrorist group for which it was named (which was in the news at the time), Black Narcissus is a movie made before I was born. No reason for it to appear on my radar screen 2x in 2 days.

So I’ll stick with my initial label of synchronicity . . . until the next time I buy a new car. :mrgreen:

14. Val Boyko - April 14, 2015

I love the idea of the universe alerting us to take notice and there being no meaning behind it…. I also like the idea of the Baader Meinhof Phenomenon.
One comes form the idea of consciousness and mystery and the other from what we manifest ourselves.
I watched Interstellar on the plane back from the UK. Really enjoyed it!! … and was left with the similar pondering.
You’ll have to watch it and share your review 🙂

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

I’ve seen Interstellar and ended up with the same problem I have with most Time Travel movies ~> an endless loop.

Humans couldn’t have created the 5th dimension needed to communicate with Murphy (so she could save the human race) UNLESS the 5th dimension already existed so that Murphy’s father could send the initial coordinates he needed to go on the mission in the 1st place.

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

You might get a chuckle out of this:

Val Boyko - April 15, 2015

Exactly!!! 🙂 I did enjoy it though – especially the Matt Damon character. A nice twist.

nrhatch - April 15, 2015

I didn’t enjoy it as much as A Theory of Everything or The Imitation Game, but it was entertaining. When it ended, I didn’t feel I’d wasted my time.

When watching SciFi, I don’t try to convince myself that IT could happen. Instead I focus on internal consistency ~> IF IT happened, is this the way people would act?

nrhatch - April 14, 2015

We watched a good movie tonight ~> Big Eyes.

Based on the true story of Margaret Keane, a painter, whose ego-driven narcissistic second husband claimed credit for her work for more than a decade until she sued him for libel and slander and WON!

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/12/21/movies/the-artist-margaret-keane-vindicated-in-tim-burtons-film.html?_r=0

Val Boyko - April 15, 2015

Now that sounds like one to watch! Thanks Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - April 15, 2015

I tend to gravitate to movies based on true stories. Several I’ve enjoyed this past year:

The Theory of Everything ~ Stephen Hawkings
The Imitation Game ~ Math Wizard Alan Turing
Saving Mr. Banks ~ P.L. Travers (author of Mary Poppins)
Philomena ~ Irish woman forced to give up her son
You Don’t Know Jack ~ Jack Kevorkian
Belle ~ Dido Elizabeth Belle, a biracial girl born in 1761

15. Three Well Beings - April 15, 2015

I love it when I notice synchronicity in the small matters within a day! I think we could combine some of your cosmic cues and maybe you should add The Singing Nun to your upcoming Netflix options. 🙂

nrhatch - April 15, 2015

Great idea!

The Singing Nun => Elements of Style + Musicality + Devotion!

16. Behind the Story - April 17, 2015

Synchronicity times three. That’s exciting. I haven’t had any for a while.

I’m not a fan of old movies. The acting and the music makes everything so dated. But the trailer sparked my curiosity. Maybe I should watch Black Narcissus.

nrhatch - April 17, 2015

I’m with you on old movies, Nicki ~ the acting seems overdone, the music overly dramatic. And when shot on a soundstage, the backdrops and scenery are almost cartoonish. It’s like watching a play with limited set changes, rather than a movie. And often the soundtrack is grainy. Most of the time, I’d rather watch something more contemporary.

That said, I added Black Narcissus to the bottom of my Netflix queue. With another “nudge” from the Universe, I’ll watch it.

17. jannatwrites - April 19, 2015

It’s weird when things work out like that… kind of makes you pause and ponder for a bit, doesn’t it? 🙂

nrhatch - April 20, 2015

Especially when it happens 3x in 3 days ~ it makes me sit up and pay attention so I don’t miss anything. I’m more mindful, awake, and aware. I keep my eyes open to possibilities.


What Say YOU?

