jump to navigation

Virtual Reality: Kings & Pawns March 28, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, People, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

150px-Carlo_Crivelli_052When the white missionaries came to Africa they had the Bible and we had the land. They said ‘Let us pray.’

We closed our eyes.

When we opened them we had the Bible and they had the land. – Desmond Tutu

* * *

Kill one man and you’re a murderer, kill a million and you’re a conqueror. – Jean Rostand

America is so advanced that even the chairs are electric. – Doug Hamwell

We are here on earth to do good unto others.
What the others are here for, I have no idea. – W.H. Auden

Chess

Lawyers believe a man is innocent until proven broke. – Robin Hal

A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kickboxing. – Emo Philips

After the game, the King and the Pawn go into the same box. – Italian proverb

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  e-mail from unknown author (sent by Granny1947)

Comments»

1. Don - March 28, 2015

Good post, Nancy. I’ve always loved that quote by Desmond Tutu.

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

There is much to admire about Tutu. He’s been an outspoken supporter on so many human rights issues while maintaining his sense of humor ~>> Life is better with laughter.

Don - March 29, 2015

He has kept his integrity and has become a fierce critic of the present government as well. He just can’t be bought.

nrhatch - March 30, 2015

Integrity = a worthwhile pursuit.

2. Jill Weatherholt - March 28, 2015

Great quotes, Nancy! I had to laugh at the Robin Hal quote. Having handled the finances of a prominent divorce attorney’s office…I have to agree. 🙂

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

That quote cracked me up ~>> “show me the money.” :mrgreen:

3. NancyTex - March 28, 2015

The Tutu quote made my heart ache a little. 😦

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

Me too! As it does when I think of Native Americans being pushed off native lands to make room for white settlements.

NancyTex - March 28, 2015

That too. 😦

4. anotherday2paradise - March 28, 2015

Great quotes, Nancy! Love the Auden. 😀

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

Excellent play on “others.”

anotherday2paradise - March 28, 2015

Agreed. 🙂

5. L. Marie - March 28, 2015

This is my favorite: “After the game, the King and the Pawn go into the same box. – Italian proverb” Love that.

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

That quote is a cheeky reminder to keep our Egos in check.

6. reocochran - March 28, 2015

I felt this was such a great message, Nancy. I have often said there are many ways people who carried Bibles mistreated others. All in the name of the Lord. Desmond Tutu shows dignity, intelligence, acceptance and was (and still is) one of my favorite ‘heroes.’

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

He has shared powerful messages . . . often with a BIG smile

7. Val Boyko - March 28, 2015

Great quotes to wake up to 😉

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

Thanks, Val. Hope your weekend is filled with smiles.

8. brickhousechick - March 28, 2015

Very nice, Nancy. The lawyer one is a hoot! 🙂

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

That one is my favorite! :mrgreen: But I like the last one too.

9. Barb - March 28, 2015

Sadly, Tutu’s quote is relevant to the indigenous natives of Australia too.

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

Those missionaries knew how to get around . . . and get what they wanted. :/

10. judithhb - March 29, 2015

Good post Nancy and that quote by Desmond Tutu has stayed with me since I first heard it.

nrhatch - March 29, 2015

How different the world would be if missionaries and explorers hadn’t viewed themselves as conquerors and crusaders.

11. Behind the Story - March 29, 2015

My favorite is the Italian proverb. The Jean Rostand quote sends my mind down too many bitter side roads of murder by another name.

nrhatch - March 29, 2015

That Italian proverb is a great truth, a reminder to keep our Egos in check ~> none of us is “all that.”

Your comment about Rostand’s quote explains why I grouped these quotes together ~> whether they elicited a chuckle or a wince, each sent me down a side road to wander and ponder.

12. Pix Under the Oaks - March 29, 2015

The Tutu quote made my heart hurt too.

nrhatch - March 29, 2015

That seems to be the general consensus, Pix. Much of World History makes my heart hurt.

13. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - March 30, 2015

Great quotes to start my day – thank you Nancy!

nrhatch - March 30, 2015

Glad you enjoyed, Kate.

14. Grannymar - March 30, 2015

I love the last one, and would add: Kings and paupers turn to similar dust.

nrhatch - March 30, 2015

Exactly!

15. Silver in the Barn - March 31, 2015

My two favorites flank this post, Nancy. Tutu’s wisdom and the Italian proverb which is symbolic of the grave. And so very true.

nrhatch - March 31, 2015

Those two seemed the perfect Header and Footer for the post.

Really enjoyed your photos from Arizona, Barbara. Magnificent colors. Glad to have you back.

16. Tiny - March 31, 2015

Enjoyed! Some of the quotes made me nod, others made me smile 🙂

nrhatch - March 31, 2015

Same here. Hope your trip is going well, Tiny. I’m anxious to see the babies when you get back to the marsh.

Tiny - March 31, 2015

I’m just back! Hoping to get a report for tomorrow night 🙂

nrhatch - April 1, 2015

People might think you’re April Fooling them!

17. Three Well Beings - April 1, 2015

i like the Auden quote! 🙂 And America’s “advanced chairs” is a good one, too! These are all quite clever, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 1, 2015

Some quotes resonate at first hearing. These invited a bit of reflection to allow a deeper meaning to settle into the crevices and contours.

Here’s hoping “the others” start to do good too! 😉

18. beeblu - April 9, 2015

lol @ the Emo Philips quote. 😀

I love Tutu – he’s passionate and speaks his mind on everything.

nrhatch - April 9, 2015

Emo’s quote is great ~ computers have their limits. Tutu seems grounded and sensible, qualities I admire.


What Say YOU?

