jump to navigation

Meeting Life As It Is March 26, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Here’s to allowing things to be “as they are” while we “go with the flow” and “embrace the now.”

IMGP3904b

Aah . . . that’s better!

Find Your Middle Ground

… Continuing the conversation about judging, evaluating and accepting life as it is. These words from Adyashanti moved me today. May they touch you also and bring a deeper connection with your inner being and life itself.

Clarity Image courtesy of wbhunt.com

“The greatest generator of conflict, both internal and external, is our addiction to interpreting and evaluating each and every moment of our experience.
When we continually judge and evaluate, we separate from what’s happening. We feel a certain distance from our experience, because now we have become the evaluator of the moment and we’re no longer in unity with the flow of existence and life.

As we begin to meet life as it is rather than as we think it should be, as we let go of our need to control and continuously interpret our experience, we start to open to life in a completely new way. We become deeply founded in silence.
The nature of this…

View original post 55 more words

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - March 26, 2015

Lets remind each other every day! Thank you for the re-blog Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

It is a GREAT reminder. Thanks for posting, Val.

2. Grannymar - March 26, 2015

There are times when I think that I must be rather odd. I have always met life as it is, sometimes in the very raw. At nine years of age my mother had a serious heart attack, I was the oldest in the house at the time. I had mammy and my three younger siblings to take care of and no idea of how to contact my father and older brothers, so there was no time for interpreting and evaluating each and every moment of the experience. I did what needed to be done and became an adult overnight.

The internet is full of ‘Experts’ who know the best way for us to live our lives. I often wonder how many of them have washed the feet of a dying person? There is no better way to discover what life is really all about.
Rant over.

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

You are odd, GM! 😛

Most people whine and moan and rant and rave about things that are not to their preferred specifications. By way of example, I’ve had family members come to my house for a party at the holidays and complain that my Christmas tree wasn’t large enough! Silly rabbits.

In contrast, you have mastered the art of accepting the things you can’t change ~ like the weather (and the size of my yuletide tree).

Keep being a good example for the rest of us.

Grannymar - March 27, 2015

Confirmation that I am odd. Wonderful!!! 😆 Your yuletide tree is massive compared to mine.. I have not bothered with one for a few years now.

I was in low mood yesterday and allowed it to slip through in several comments. Today I had an no ‘internet’ or radio day, and spent the time working on finishing a couple of craft projects. I am back to my normal oddness now!

nrhatch - March 27, 2015

That to hear that you recharged your batteries with craft projects, GM. When my mood / energy are “low,” I allow more snark to sneak into my comments (and posts) too. It’s the nature of the beast.

Here’s to being back to our normal oddness!

3. Jill Weatherholt - March 26, 2015

We all need to be reminded of this….thanks, Nancy! I loved Grannymar’s comment.

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

Me too. GM is a pro at accepting the “what is” as it is while going with the flow (instead of struggling against the current).

4. anotherday2paradise - March 26, 2015

Wonderful words of wisdom. 🙂

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

The quote Val shared is a wonderful reminder. I find greater enjoyment when I don’t over-think things.

5. Behind the Story - March 26, 2015

A thought-provoking quote, especially the part about avoiding judgement and evaluation.

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

Some of the best moments of my life have involved just sitting, breathing, and “watching the waves” without interpreting them or trying to impose any control over the situation.

6. Pix Under the Oaks - March 26, 2015

We do all need to be reminded of this as Jill says… I am doing better 🙂 I know I am because we had one interesting day today and before I found SLTW I would have whined and cried and driven CH out of his mind… 😀 I actually let go several times today and went with the flow! I love your quote above the Kliban Kitty Nancy. I also found another quote above your Kliban Kitty from October 26, 2013. I find so much peace in that quote. I read it every day.

nrhatch - March 26, 2015

Yay! That’s great, Pix. It’s wonderful when we “learn” tips and techniques that make for smoother sailing . . . and even better when we remember to apply them under stress.

Glad that you enjoyed the “A Little Buddha Told Me” quote. If anyone else wants to read it:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/a-little-buddha-told-me/

7. Don - March 27, 2015

I also found the quote quite profound Nancy. I sometimes struggle with trying to understand the “allowing things to be.” Never quite sure what that ultimately means. I grasp something of it, but I also know that there are things that we can’t allow to be. Does that make sense? Just thinking out aloud.

nrhatch - March 27, 2015

Maybe we don’t have to “allow things to be” 24/7 ~> maybe we can start small as we practice the art of allowing.

Set a timer. For 5 minutes, allow things to be as and where they are. Listen, watch, observe, embrace, inhale, exhale, be . . . without doing, thinking, analyzing, evaluating, judging.

Over time, expand the time. Allow more, analyze less. Perhaps then you will know what to do with what you can’t allow to be.

Don - March 27, 2015

Yes I like that Nancy. I like all that you’ve said here and I especially warm to your last sentence. You see for me that dimension has to be part of the process – to ultimately get to that place where we, in your words, “…will know what to do with what you can’t allow to be.” I think it’s the absence of this aspect that always disturbs me in some of the writing. If we simply allowed things to be in this country we would still be living under some of the most oppressive structures a nation could ever have. Sometimes, I’m afraid, there are those who simply have the luxury of “allowing things to be.

nrhatch - March 27, 2015

Perhaps spending a few hours a day “allowing things to be” would increase our productivity and clarity the rest of the day.

8. L. Marie - March 28, 2015

Thank you for that reminder. We have such trouble just being, don’t we? We have to do, do, do.

nrhatch - March 28, 2015

If we are busy being busy bees, we get caught up in the buzz.

9. Three Well Beings - April 1, 2015

I think that meeting life on its own terms and spending less time thinking about what “could be,” is a direct link to inner freedom. Always expecting more or different is a recipe in disappointment! I wish more people talked to their young people about this. It would set them on a good trajectory!

nrhatch - April 1, 2015

Agreed! One reason why I enjoy going for a walk or bike ride every day is that I don’t “evaluate” the moment . . . I just go with the flow of life. It’s relaxing and liberating to “Just be.”


What Say YOU?

