jump to navigation

Virtual Reality: Battle of the Sexes February 28, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, Life Balance, People.
trackback

Betty-Boop

When a man opens a car door for his wife, it’s either a new car or a new wife. – Prince Philip

The only reason they say ‘Women and children first’ is to test the strength of the lifeboats. – Jean Kerr

I’ve been married to a communist and a fascist, and neither would take out the garbage. – Zsa Zsa Gabor

Home cooking ~> Where many a man thinks his wife is. – Jimmy Durante

3D-Cow

Men are like linoleum floors. Lay ’em right and you can walk all over them for thirty years. – Betsy Salkind

A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle. – Irina Dunn

Q. “Why buy the cow if you can get the milk for free?”
A. “Why buy the pig if all you want is a little sausage?”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  e-mail from unknown author (sent by Granny1947)

March 2nd: I’m guest posting on L. Marie’s blog as part of her series ~ The Stanton Effect: Inspiration From A TED Talk.

Here’s the link:  The Stanton Effect:  Building to the Punchline

Comments»

1. Hariod Brawn - February 28, 2015

I take it you don’t want another Woody Allen one-liner Nancy? 😉

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Sure . . . fire away!

2. Jill Weatherholt - February 28, 2015

Great quotes, Nancy! Oh, I can’t wait to read your post on L. Marie’s blog…love her!

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Thanks, Jill. Linda picked a good talk as a starting point for the series ~> contributors will wander off in a myriad of directions as they touch upon Stanton’s guidelines for compelling storytelling.

3. Kate Crimmins - February 28, 2015

Good way to start the day! (with a Starbucks and a giggle!)

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Yay! I’m enjoying my new blogging schedule ~ one post during the week and something silly on Saturdays.

Here’s to getting our giggle going! :mrgreen:

Kate Crimmins - February 28, 2015

You are the queen of going with the flow. Glad that you are doing it with your blog. We do miss your posts but we like you happy.

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Thanks, Kate! I thought not posting every day might result in withdrawal symptoms ~> with words bouncing around high and lo looking for a place to go.

But they seem to be going with the flow. 😎

4. Silver in the Barn - February 28, 2015

Hi Nancy, I checked out the link and think this “make me care” concept is an interesting one. I look forward to seeing what you have to say on the subject!

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Thanks, Barbara. I touched upon “make me care,” “draw me into the story,” and a few other points raised by Stanton as I penned “Building To The Punchline” ~> if we don’t know where we’re going, how do we know when to stop writing? 😎

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - February 28, 2015

I love starting the day with a giggle! Looking forward to Mondays feature!

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Thanks, Kate! And thanks for the inspiration for our lunch today ~ a Southwestern Quinoi Casserole with Black Beans, Rotel and Corn!

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - March 1, 2015

Rock on! Wasn’t it yummy? I had the last of my leftovers last night with some fresh avocado sliced on top! 🙂

nrhatch - March 1, 2015

I loved it! Yesterday I had some wrapped in a flour tortilla sprinkled with a bit of cheese. Today I had some as a side for a cheese quesadilla.

BFF isn’t a fan of RoTel ~ too spicy. So it’s all mine.

6. Grannymar - February 28, 2015

I look forward to reading you post on Monday.

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Thanks, GM. It’s set in a pub . . . so it’s got that going for it! 😛

7. reocochran - February 28, 2015

I sure do enjoy light hearted posts. Thanks, Nancy for the smiles sent my direction! (Oh, I know they were meant for everyone… just teasing!)

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

“This jokes for YOU!” Glad you enjoyed, Robin!

8. brickhousechick - February 28, 2015

Ha, ha, ha – Nancy!!! Love these, thanks for making my return to the cold bearable!! 😉

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Hang in there, Maria . . . Spring must be around somewhere!

And only one more week to Daylight Saving’s time. 😎

9. sufilight - February 28, 2015

LOL! Thanks for the Saturday chuckles. 🙂

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

My pleasure, Marie!

10. kateshrewsday - February 28, 2015

Ha! I love the Prince Philip quote. Its among his more diplomatic.

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Yes. He showed admirable restraint.

11. Barb - February 28, 2015

Love ’em, they went well with my morning coffee!
It’s good to hear your new schedule of blogging is working out for you Nancy; after posting daily for such a long time, it must have been a struggle getting out of that routine.

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Hi Barb! I’ve enjoyed seeing shots of your vacation. Loved the flowers you delivered to Poppy’s pet sitter. Spectacular colors!

I thought turning off the switch would be far harder. If I find that I’m biting my tongue, I may up the ante to 3x a week. But for now, just twice is nice.

12. Val Boyko - February 28, 2015

Thank you for the lightness and laughter Nancy 🙂
Who knew Prince Philip had such a dry sense of humor!

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

My pleasure, Val. His quick quip displays a high, dry, and wry wit. :mrgreen:

13. Tiny - February 28, 2015

Love closing the day with a giggle! Looking fwd to your post on Monday! Curious to see whether it will be deep ponderings or a riot…or an enjoyable mix of both 🙂

nrhatch - February 28, 2015

Yay! Laughter each day keeps S~T~R~E~S~S at bay! (Or in the marsh, as the case may be.)

Monday’s post (“Building To The Punchline”) parallels points highlighted in Stanton’s talk using his Scottish Pub joke as a departure point and a landing strip.

14. sarsm - March 1, 2015

Why only 30 years ? 😉

nrhatch - March 1, 2015

Maybe that’s the average length of “matrimonial bliss”? :mrgreen:

15. beeblu - March 1, 2015

Both sides give as good as they get.

nrhatch - March 1, 2015

And both have plenty of ammo! 😎

16. Patricia - March 1, 2015

Who knew Prince Philip has a sense of humor?
I guess men are men and don’t do menial chores no matter their politics.

nrhatch - March 1, 2015

My guy does! That’s why he’s my BFF.

I would never marry one of those “helpless guys” who are looking for a combo Maid/Mommy as a wife. 😎

17. Behind the Story - March 1, 2015

My favorite was Zsa Zsa Gabor’s.

I was going to complain about Prince Philip, but, come to think of it, most of us don’t like to wait until the man walks all the way around the car. If he’s on the passenger side already, okay.

nrhatch - March 2, 2015

Good point, Nicki. I’m not inclined to stand about like an armless ninny waiting for “Prince Charming” to walk around the car to open the door for me . . . UNLESS my arms are otherwise occupied with packages, boxes, and bags.

18. Pix Under the Oaks - March 2, 2015

I knew they were going to be from Granny1947.. 😀 I will be checking your link as soon as I have breakfast!

nrhatch - March 2, 2015

Thanks, Pix. I’m heading over there right now.

19. L. Marie - March 2, 2015

These are all hilarious! For some reason the home cooking one made me giggle more. It’s so ridiculous.

nrhatch - March 2, 2015

In the words of Jimmy Durante . . . Hachachacha! 😛

20. Barb - March 3, 2015

We need more one liners. I wish I could think of one of them besides…”Get it yourself.” and “Turn the lights out when you come to bed.” Thanks for making us smile.

nrhatch - March 3, 2015

Haha! Relationships are all about “give and take” (and “get it yourself”). Thanks, Barb.

21. Three Well Beings - March 4, 2015

I love the Zsa Zsa quote! That’s classic! 🙂

nrhatch - March 4, 2015

Especially in Zsa Zsa’s voice, dahling!

22. jannatwrites - March 6, 2015

I’m a little late in reading these, but there isn’t an expiration on humor 🙂 I enjoyed these!

nrhatch - March 7, 2015

Hang on to that sense of humor ~ it’s a valuable possession. :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

