jump to navigation

7 Pearls of Dubious Pedigree January 27, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, People, Word Play.
trackback

Every so often, I toss flotsam, jetsam, and/or detritus overboard in order to keep synapses firing at optimal efficiency.

Here for your consideration are 7 Pearls of Dubious Pedigree:

Ringling Museum 018c1.  Judgment is discernment.

Judgment gives us the ability to weigh options and choose between competing priorities.  We would be lost without it.

Fundraisers unite
with one common goal ~ to take
your money and run

Even if you give ALL opposing ideas, thoughts, and opinions the benefit of the doubt, that doesn’t mean they possess any inherent validity.

Some ideas are ignorant, idiotic, and/or just plain evil.

Not convinced?  Keep reading . . .

2. Rejecting Social Acceptability.

Next time you’re in a restaurant (or, better still, the bowling alley!), reach over and grab a handful of French fries or a slice of pizza from your neighbors.

See what happens.

Snoopy-and-Schroeder

3.  The Zeitgeist Movement and the Venus Project.

If parents can’t make equitable distributions between 2-3 offspring, how would society do so for everyone?

“How come Mozart got a GRAND PIANO and I just got a stupid harmonica?”

“Be glad it’s not a rock, Charlie Brown.”

3D-Cow4.  Why are carnivores averse to cannibalism?

Why are cows, pigs, chickens, and turkeys gobbled up while horses, dogs, cats, and rodents are shunned by everyone but Andrew Zimmern?

Why are we willing to donate our organs to science . . . but not to someone’s breakfast table?

5.  A “Pay It Forward” Pyramid Scheme.

There’s a Pay It Forward chain letter circulating through cyber space.

When I saw it for the first time, I refrained from leaving a comment on the post because I did NOT want to be selected to win an “unspecified surprise” . . . not if it meant agreeing to add five more people to the chain by offering to send them an unspecified surprise if they would each agree to add five more people to the chain.

Snoopy2

Etc.  Etc.  Etc.  Ad Nauseum.  The whole thing is just too forced and phony.  A pyramid scheme gone awry.

I’m happy to perform “good deeds” and “random acts of kindness” on an ad hoc basis, but I don’t like gifts with strings attached.

And, even if I enjoyed being manipulated via cyber strings, I’m not going to agree to send out 5 surprises in exchange for one surprise I might not even like.

“Be glad it’s not a rock, Charlie Brown.”

When we are mindful, ample opportunities to be kind appear in our In Box every day . . . without the necessity of entering into contrived cyber contracts.

IMGP1368a6. Happiness is ‘eeling.

Laughter each day keeps the doctor away.

He who laughs, lasts. ~ Mary Pettibone Poole

And even if you don’t get better, you’ll feel better.  It’s a win-win for everyone.

Except the doctor.  But ‘eel get over it!

Eek . . . an eel!
Grasping on to my heel!
Whilst wrapped in chain

Oh what a sight
I shudder with fright
But ‘eel steal my pain

All’s well that ends well

The Eel that Time Remembered (Kate Shrewsday)

448px-Alice_05a-1116x14927.  No Fungus, Please.

When I was a kid, I ate a poisonous mushroom in the backyard and had to have my stomach pumped.

It left a bad taste in my mouth.

That’s why I refuse to eat fungus.

If ever I get around to writing a Vegetarian Cookbook, it will NOT include any recipes featuring mushrooms, toadstools, or truffles.

I’ll call it, No Fungus, Please!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related Posts:  13 Pieces of Potpourri * 13 Unpolished Gems . . . One Stone7 More Unpolished Stones

Comments»

1. suzicate - January 27, 2015

We humans are full of controversy as we pick and choose what constitutes that of which we are willing to do or not do or believe or shun. And I don’t like people stealing my pizza…or fries for that matter!
Oh yes, that pay it forward chain on FB…no thank you!

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I’m with you on the pizza and fries. Having a stranger walk up and help himself would be disconcerting. :mrgreen:

That Pay It Forward chain gives people in cyber space a chance to pat themselves on the back for being kind to random visitors to their social media sites . . . instead of actually going out and helping people who don’t have time to play cyber games.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - January 27, 2015

Have yet to see the pay it forward chain on FB… thank goodness. I don’t want people stealing my pizza either unless I know them pretty well… 🙂 I didn’t know you didn’t like mushrooms… learning something new all the time.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Imagine if someone had strolled over to us at Rise Pies and grabbed a slice . . . “Hey! L’eggo my lunch?”

Mushrooms and me have agreed to disagree! 😛

Pix Under the Oaks - January 27, 2015

That would have given me a cranky! That was some good pizza. CH picked up pizza downtown Venice our last night at the Soda Fountain and it is always good but I have to say Rise Pies was a better pie… 😀 I feel that way about oysters!

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I used to enjoy good fried oysters until I bit into a not-good fried oyster ~> Last. Oyster. Eva!

I see Rise Pies on the horizon for us again!

3. Hariod Brawn - January 27, 2015

I somehow suspected you were never a relativist Nancy. 😉

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I’ve never been one for labels of any ilk ~ no one else’s philosophy is a perfect fit for mine. :mrgreen:

Hariod Brawn - January 27, 2015

Chocolatist?

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Haha! Not quite. I’m far more expansive than a small piece of dark chocolate dove with almonds.

4. Jill Weatherholt - January 27, 2015

Ugh…those pay it forward emails are the worst. They remind me of the chain letters when I was a kid. “If you break this chain, something bad will happen to you or a loved on.” Oh brother! I’ve never eaten a poisonous mushroom, but I refuse to eat fungus too, Nancy.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Yay! I’ll send you an autographed copy of my cookbook. Once I sit down and write it. 😎

I like the chain letters that say they’ve already circled the globe 17 times, etc. ~ really? is this the SAME letter that started circling the globe? was that statement in there from the get go? and how does one circle the globe in cyber space?

5. Kate Crimmins - January 27, 2015

Saw that “chain letter” on FB last week. It was posted by a friend who doesn’t usually get hoodwinked. I passed it by. As for fungus, love it. Nothing better than a good mushroom soup! Yum! However, I would consider your cookbook. You can add mushrooms to anything.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I saw it on a blog, shared by someone I’ve viewed as “smarter than the average bear.” I tip-toed away without posting anything in the comment box. Sometimes when I don’t have anything nice to say I keep my thoughts to myself.

But not always. 😛

As for ‘shrooms . . . you can have mine!

6. NancyTex - January 27, 2015

Loved this stream-of-consciousness rant. This is basically what goes on in my head 24/7. 🙂

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Some of the “monkey chatter” in my brain amuses my muse.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 27, 2015

I hate mushrooms, too! And, I’ve seen that Pay It Forward abomination, and refuse to participate, totally with you on that one! Have a great day!

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Thanks, Kate! It’s such a silly cyber contract. Like New Year’s resolutions, I bet half the people who sign up will NOT follow through, leaving the folks they signed up waiting at the mailbox for surprises that never arrive. 😛

How do you feel about sharing fries with grubby pawed strangers? The more the merrier? Or STEP AWAY FROM THE FRIES!!!

8. Val Boyko - January 27, 2015

Great pearls Nancy! Now tell us what you really think (GRIN) 😆

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I just read “QUIET ~ The Power of Introverts in a World That Won’t Stop Talking” and cracked up when Susan stressed that introverts are afraid to speak up and share their thoughts with the world.

Not me, buckeye! 😛

9. ericjbaker - January 27, 2015

I owned a pair of carnivorous fish until one got hungry. After that, I owned one carnivorous fish…

True story.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Living with a cannibal would take some getting used to . . . especially if they announced, “I’m Starving!” 😛

ericjbaker - January 27, 2015

Fortunately, this critter was rubbish at traveling outside water, so I felt safe. He did look at me funny a few times though…

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I bet he was thinking: “Come a little bit closer, you’re my kind of guy!”

Or maybe “You scratch my back, I’ll . . . bite your finger off!”

10. L. Marie - January 27, 2015

Oh my word! I had to laugh at the cannibalism one, because I had a similar thought recently. (Um, not that I thought about becoming a cannibal.)
I haven’t seen the Pay It Forward scam. Sigh. Why do people have to mess up what was intended to be a good thing–doing something kind for someone else? Sometimes being broke is a good thing. No one tries to hit you up for money!

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

The Pay It Forward thing would be “OK” if someone announced that they were going to randomly pick 5 names from the comment thread and send them a surprise during the year. That’s nice, kind, fun, generous, etc. ~ like giving away Terror of the Southlands or Andra’s book on your blog!

If others followed their lead and did the same thing ~ GREAT!

But when the original post “surprise” has got strings attached that require pulling more and more people into the mix, it becomes “manufactured mass marketing” and loses its organic appeal.

Anyway . . . DELIGHTED to hear that you don’t plan to “surprise” your fans by becoming a cannibal!

11. Grannymar - January 27, 2015

I would be perfectly safe with a cannibal! I knew if I waiting long enough, I’d find a benefit in being skinny! Thanks for the link love, Nancy.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

You’re welcome, GM! Glad you have nothing to fear from carnivorous cannibals ~ unless they like soup!

“Mmm mmm good. Tastes like chicken.” 😛

12. Silver in the Barn - January 27, 2015

Your number four intrigues me, Nancy. Whenever I’m in China where I know they are MUCH more likely than we are to eat….everything….I am hesitant with UFOs. Unidentified Food Objects. I ate pig intestines in a Human restaurant once and truly I should have been with you getting my stomach pumped. Horrible stuff. And yet others were gobbling them up like the rarest delicacy.

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

People eat some bizarre things in various ports of call ~ from Monkey Brains to Bull Balls. Even if I didn’t follow a vegetarian diet, I’d pass on many/most/all those UFO’s.

I’m assuming you meant Hunan restaurant . . .

But your typo raises an interesting question: Would a Human restaurant feature “Lobster Thermadore” or perhaps “Human Lobstadore”? 😛

Silver in the Barn - January 27, 2015

BWAHAHAHA. Did I write human? Actually there is a dreadful restaurant in Richmond called “House of Hunan” which we call “House of Human.” I can’t blame this on autocorrect. I need to slow down in my typing? How funny!

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

You did type Human . . . and it stopped me dead in my tracks! Leaving me wide open to attack by any cannibals lurking in the cyber shadows! 😛

Once I translated it to Hunan, your decision to try pig’s intestines didn’t sound as offal!

13. reocochran - January 27, 2015

I liked it when I received real hand-written letters which were part of a chain letter pattern. I did receive ones from other parts of the country and one from England. I don’t participate in FB, so I am blessed with no awareness of this strange new problem. I am happy to say I don’t check my emails more than once a month to delete thousands and find only one or two ‘pearls’ amongst them. Smiles! (Oh, I like mushroom soup, raw mushrooms on my salad, mushroom with cheese omelets and mushrooms on my pizza, along with onions and banana peppers…)

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

I participated in a Recipe Chain once ~> send recipes to 7 people and add your name to the bottom of the list and you’ll receive 49 recipes.

Instead of receiving 49 recipes . . . I got one! For mushrooms! 😛

reocochran - January 28, 2015

Oh no, Nancy! So sorry about that one recipe!
I liked number one where you said sometimes what is said can be foolish or idiotic, no matter what. Some people think if they use fancy words or language, they can say just about anything and you will agree with it. The best kind of confidence is to be able to say your ‘piece’ and if the other doesn’t agree with it, ‘agree to disagree.’

nrhatch - January 28, 2015

Yes! And don’t be afraid to use your judgment to decide that something doesn’t make sense in light of everything else you know about the world.

14. ashokbhatia - January 27, 2015

The several blogging awards which keep coming up: I wonder if they are not another form of pyramid-kind schemes?

nrhatch - January 27, 2015

Good point!

Get selected and name 7 more bloggers who are to name 7 more bloggers who are to name 7 more bloggers . . . ad infinitum.

ashokbhatia - January 28, 2015

In some cases, it goes up to 15!

nrhatch - January 28, 2015

The more the merrier! ~> soon everyone will have an award or two hundred sitting on their cyber mantels.

I don’t see the point of passing around non-monetized awards. Show me the money!!! :mrgreen:

15. Tiny - January 27, 2015

Pay forward…in emails, FB, blogs…in any form get me running in the other direction…and pay for/to something in general 😀

nrhatch - January 28, 2015

Agreed! Some folks find strength in numbers. They like to do whatever is trending. I prefer to pick and plan my own activities.

16. livelytwist - January 28, 2015

The chain email, sms, FB post, etc, annoys me. I send a smiley to the kind people that tag me and then delete.

nrhatch - January 28, 2015

Smart thinking, Earthling!

17. Yolanda M. - February 1, 2015

I despise chain letters in any form 😦 #4 excellent point Nancy.

nrhatch - February 1, 2015

Thanks, Yolanda. Eating people reminds me of Soylent Green.

Or perhaps a movie where the family eats leftovers every night and the kids finally start asking, “What were they BEFORE they were leftovers?”

18. Three Well Beings - February 4, 2015

I was right there with you, Nancy, until you had to go and bag on mushrooms! Don’t you disparage my fungus! 🙂 You hit upon some great point, for sure, and the one I most relate to is probably anything that even comes close to resembling a chain letter or pyramid scheme. I just cringe when something comes my way. It’s usually from some of the nicest people, but I just can’t oblige! Great list!

nrhatch - February 4, 2015

My deep-seated psychological aversion to fungus => more mushrooms for YOU! :mrgreen:

The proliferation and perpetuation of cyber chains surprises me ~ I tend to back away and go forage for more interesting fodder.


What Say YOU?

