jump to navigation

Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder January 13, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Humor, Writing & Writers.
trackback

Tigger-BouncingAs some of you noticed and noted – thank you! – I have not been posting every day.

That trend may continue:

1.  I started SLTW, in part, to create a searchable database for notes and quotes gathering dust in files, notebooks, and journals.

After five years (and more than 2,500 posts), much of that backlog is now up and running.  Yay!

Tigger-Looking-At-His-Tail2.  Last year, I culled my draft folder from 80+ unfinished posts to a more manageable 17!  Yay!  I’m satisfied with that level of behind-the-scenes ballast.

3.  My mantra this year is “acceptance” and “let it be.”  I don’t feel like pushing myself to crank out “one a day” posts.

If it happens, it happens.  If it don’t, it don’t.

4.  For now, sharing my view of the world seems less compelling than using that time to play the guitar, stretch, exercise, meditate, create, cook, listen to music, eat chocolate, etc.

Tigger-Pogo5.  Posts on SLTW often flow from using thought-provoking and compelling posts on other blogs as springboards.

*BOING* . . . *BOING* . . . *BOING*

At the moment, the community offered by reading and commenting on other blogs seems sufficient.

6.  Instead of staying on the Post-A-Day treadmill, I’m (a) being lax, (b) cutting myself some slack, and (c) going with the flow.

7.  I want to post when I have something to say . . . not just because I want to say something.

Tiggers-R-UsAs I relax and let life unfold, I anticipate posting often enough that it won’t be a case of “out of sight, out of mind.”

I much prefer the adage, “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

Aah . . . that’s better!   

Comments»

1. Tammy - January 13, 2015

I, for one, really appreciate this philosophy! I’ve backed off also and it has certainly not been to the detriment of other fun areas of my life! Enjoy Nancy.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

After 5 years of steady blogging, it’s nice to see the “bottom of the well.” Most of that time, words flowed so fast that I could never quite keep up.

Now, instead of a rushing (raging) river, I’m gazing at a placid pond

2. Hariod Brawn - January 13, 2015

Good idea Nancy; it seems that to let blogging become either a compulsion or an obligation is neglectful of some healthier pursuits. As Val would doubtless say, far better to find our middle ground. I post only once or twice a month, and that is the right balance for me at the moment.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

For 5 years, I’ve enjoyed posting on an almost daily basis b/c I had lots of “stuff” I wanted to share. Sharing X made me want to share Y which reminded me of Z.

Posting primed the pump. :mrgreen:

3. Jill Weatherholt - January 13, 2015

It’s your blog, you can do whatever the heck you want, Nancy! Posting once a week is all I can handle. I can’t imagine posting every day, Enjoy yourself!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Jill! I’ve been enjoying turning my attention elsewhere ~ with some delicious results in the kitchen.

Jill Weatherholt - January 13, 2015

Yum! That sounds better than blogging. 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

With all the delicious results (including Oatmeal Bread), it’s a good thing I’ve carved out more time for exercise.

Otherwise “less is more” might just become MORE. 😛

4. Val Boyko - January 13, 2015

Yeah!
#4 and #7 really resonate!!
As Hariod would say … live from your Middle ground Nancy 😉
p.s. You have so much wisdom in older posts, why not refresh and share with a new generation of readers.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Val. If I wanted to continue to post every day (due to compulsion or a sense of obligation or a desire for more interaction), giving posts in the archives a quick “nip and a tuck” would be a means to that end. But, after 5 years of almost daily blogging, I am happier not posting every day.

The data base is there for anyone who wants to “go fishing” for themselves. But I’m not planning to “toss fish” to them. 😛

Val Boyko - January 13, 2015

You deserve a break!
I can always go fishing when I miss you 😉

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Maybe I’ll invite visitors to dive into the pool with a post about what’s “hidden” in the archives. I can call it “Go Fish!” :mrgreen:

5. Crowing Crone - January 13, 2015

It’s all good I say!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Well said!

6. Pix Under the Oaks - January 13, 2015

Sounds good Nancy… Plenty for me to find to read at your blog for sure! I can always stop by and say “Good Morning” on your last published post… 🙂

Pix Under the Oaks - January 13, 2015

Good Morning! 😀

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Hi Pix! I may use some of my “free” time to scroll through old posts on happiness and mindfulness. Aah . . . that’s better!

See you on Thursday!

7. Cecelia Futch - January 13, 2015

Wonderful! Especially numbers 3 and 4! 😀

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Cecelia. It’s been great pushing back from the keyboard.

8. NancyTex - January 13, 2015

Brava, NH! I did notice,, and – in fact – was so sure that WP had unfollowed you on my behalf that I searched your blog on google to see how many posts I’d missed. When I saw that I was fully up to date and hadn’t missed any, I realized you were no longer posting every day. So glad to hear it’s a conscious decision (and not that something unpleasant had gotten in your way). Love this philosophy, and love that you have embraced it! Enjoy your dancing, guitar-playing, cooking, exercising!!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, NT! At first I just skipped a day because I didn’t have anything “compelling” to share. Having additional time for other things was great. So I skipped a second day ~ two days “off” in a row! ~ and the sky didn’t fall.

Now I’ll have time to practice using my new Selfie Stick! 😛

NancyTex - January 13, 2015

Jeezus, please don’t. 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

No worries, mate!

9. Kate Crimmins - January 13, 2015

Thanks for the notice. I too though WP had dumped you from my Reader (it does that occasionally) so your note was timely. As Jill said, it’s your blog you can do whatever you like and we’ll be around to cheer you on.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Kate. It’s nice to push back from the keyboard and S~T~R~E~T~C~H a bit more.

10. William D'Andrea - January 13, 2015

If you’re all worn out, there’s nothing wrong with giving yourself a well deserved vacation. After posting more than 2500 articles, you certainly do deserve it.
Thank you for all your efforts.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks! I’m not worn out . . . just switching gears. 😎

11. Silver in the Barn - January 13, 2015

I couldn’t agree more. As soon as it begins to not be fun, then it’s time to reassess. You will never be a case of Out of Sight…., but I admit I did check my reader to make sure I wasn’t missing anything. Good for you, Nancy! And I look forward to your next post whenever it might be. XXX

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Barbara. Blogging is still “fun” . . . but in somewhat smaller doses than in the past.

I need to clear the decks for other interests. Like starting our band! :mrgreen:

Silver in the Barn - January 13, 2015

So awesome.

12. suzicate - January 13, 2015

I noticed and figured you were busy “being” and living life. Your #7 is my motto for my posting schedule.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

When I started blogging, I never anticipated getting as involved as I have been for the past 5 years. It’s time to take a giant step back and assess the landscape.

Nothing like a sabbatical for gaining perspective!

13. Yolanda M. - January 13, 2015

I hear you Nancy! because of my work schedule I am one of those bloggers who ‘goes with the flow’ although I try hard to post at least once a week. Love your philosophy 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Yolanda. I follow the adage “Less is More” in many areas of life . . . now it’s time to apply it to my blogging schedule!

14. ericjbaker - January 13, 2015

That’s a lot of posts! Blogging is fun and the community is great, but sometimes it turns into a grind. At that point, you have to ask “Why am I doing this?” Post when you want to, not when you feel you have to.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

It is a lot of posts . . . and some of them even say something. 😛

With so much water over the dam, it’s time to reassess past practices. The best way I know to evaluate the value of something I’m doing is to STOP doing it so often and see how it feels. Thus far . . . it feels GOOD.

15. thecontentedcrafter - January 13, 2015

Hurrah for you Nancy! Posting because it’s in the schedule has always seemed to me a bit – well – odd. Posting because you have something to say usually makes for interesting reading and commenting. Plus, as you say, there are other things in life to enjoy.

I’m an ad-hoc poster – sometimes weeks go by with nothing and other times, like this week two in pretty quick succession.

I’ve actually found I get more comments – which is the bit I really enjoy – when there is a longer gap between posts. No idea why, except maybe it’s the neighbourly thing of catching up on the news 🙂 And of course not spending all one’s time on one’s own blog gives us lots of time to boing boing boing among other posts. So interesting and so much fun!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Good points, Pauline.

Being an “Ad Hoc Poster” sounds like just the thing for me at the moment. If I miss posting more often, I can always start tapping away at the keyboard again. If not, I’ll pursue other pursuits.

16. anotherday2paradise - January 13, 2015

Great idea, Nancy. Blogging is lots of fun, but I’ve also decided that I need to play my piano more and also finish some of the books I’m reading. It’s quite frightening to realise how much time daily blogging gobbles up. I’ll try to steer clear of baking too many delicious cookies though. 🙂 Enjoy your s t r e t c h i n g as well as the chocolate eating exercises.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

That sounds about where I am, Sylvia ~> I enjoy blogging but I just have other things that, for now, seem more enticing than cranking out daily posts.

Other than bread, I don’t do much baking. But I have been in the kitchen playing, creating, and having delicious fun.

17. Grannymar - January 13, 2015

I too, have left the self imposed treadmill. Right now I’m staying away from the screen to rest my eye as much as possible. When the mood takes me, I’ll dip my pen once more. There are no laws for blogging apart from etiquette, so posting when we feel like it is okay.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Yes! Eat when hungry, sleep when tired, and blog when we can’t keep our fingers from tickling the keyboards. :mrgreen:

Hope your eye benefits from the rest until you’re scheduled.

Grannymar - January 13, 2015

Me too. I find I am sleeping longer than normal and when awake, happy to lie in the dark with the radio for company.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Listening to the radio sounds like a great way to give your eye a much needed break. Hope you receive the gift of “restored vision” for your birthday in March.

18. Eric Tonningsen - January 13, 2015

If it happens, it happens. I like and support that mantra and practice, Nancy. Onward, at your discretion and per your comfort!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

I am always happier when I allow life to flow . . . in its own way and time.

19. Three Well Beings - January 13, 2015

I think you probably lead well with this decision! Or let’s just say I found your response very reassuring! 🙂 I never did post every day, but I am postingless and less. I enjoy it every time I do, and I absolutely enjoy coming around and reading others and responding, but you’re so accurate in noting that time spent writing is time not spent in other ways. I began to think I’d flare out! So instead, I wait until I think I have something I want to share. I’d like to think many of us will still be here long into the future, so it’s best to listen to what feels right. I’m with you!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

At the turn of the year, I assessed how I’ve been spending my time and decided I needed to branch out a bit. Your post about creativity factored into that evaluation process.

Since blogging less, I’m enjoying other pursuits more. It’s all good.

20. Barb - January 13, 2015

Five years posting every day is enormous Nancy.
However, we do have a life outside of blogging just waiting to be enjoyed. Go with the flow and when it comes, it comes. Gazing at a placid pond sounds good to me!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

I have missed a few days in 5 years ~ especially right after my dad died. But not many. Not aiming for one-a-day will be a pleasant go-with-the-flow feeling.

21. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 13, 2015

I am a fan of the organic blog! I love that is the direction you are going!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Kate! Organic so much better than being genetically engineered, right?! 😉

22. JOriginal Muse - January 13, 2015

Although I get to read, enjoy and post responses to your blog sporadically, concerning my own writing… thank you, Nancy, for allowing me to realize that I wasn’t just being slack by doing the same thing myself 🙂

There are so many other creative hobbies I enjoy besides writing, and I am so in the “go-with-the-flow” mode when it comes to picking and choosing which ones I will go with on any given day 😉

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Joanne. That’s it! I love the freedom of choosing day by day where to place my focus. Time to let go, allow, and flow.

23. Behind the Story - January 13, 2015

Your posts are welcome no matter how frequently or infrequently they arrive. I enjoy the wisdom and humor you share. five years of daily blogging is an awe-inspiring feat.

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Nicki! That’s how I feel about the blogs I follow, however often they post. Here’s to blogging in the slow lane!

24. Valleygrail - January 13, 2015

Such a wise woman!

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, VG! After rolling the idea around, I decided to “take a day off.” I enjoyed the window of time it created.

25. brickhousechick - January 13, 2015

What a fantastic attitude about the whole thing. I bet you feel at least 50 pounds lighter (not that you needed to be lighter – LOL). It’s so freeing to make decisions that are in your best interest and feeling okay about it. We’ll be here. 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

Thanks, Maria. It’ll be great to have a bit more time at my disposal each day, while allowing the path to unfold before me.

26. Paula Tohline Calhoun - January 14, 2015

Go with the flow, indeed, but put in a Hello once in a while so we will know how wonderful the flow is. I, too, for reasons radically different than yours am chugging along at a much slower pace. So be it. It is wonderful to be alive, and I will continue to share some of my clear/cloudy/distorted reflections as I am moved to do so. You have been my blog friend and champion from the beginning and I will always be grateful for and remain energized by our lively discourse. All the best, Nancy, and I still hope we meet for real one day. I am of the opinion that we will not be the least bit surprised at each other, and could probably pick each other out in a crowd. In a way, we already did, didn’t we? 😀

Paula

nrhatch - January 14, 2015

I expect I’ll be posting once or twice a week ~> 71% less than before. And, as we all know, less is more. Sometimes.

Glad that you are on the mend from your ordeal ~ hope that trend continues. I am confident that we could pick each other out in a crowd.

For now, we’re still not traveling . . . but, one day, maybe.

We’re having a 3rd meet up with Pix and CH tomorrow! They’re down here from Missouri for a mid-winter warm up. We’re planning to chow down on some PIZZA!

Paula Tohline Calhoun - January 14, 2015

As you eat a piece, eat one in “toast” to me! I will be hovering around in spirit, and I shall have a sip of chocolate wine in your honor! All the best. Paula

nrhatch - January 14, 2015

Pizza is perfect for toasting folks with pizzazz!

27. beeblu - January 14, 2015

Yay for you, Nancy. 😄

nrhatch - January 14, 2015

Thanks, BB. Sporadic, organic posting should free up time for other interests. I’m looking forward to “switching gears.”

28. Anne Lene - January 14, 2015

I’m amazed you managed to stay with it that consistenly for 5 years. I think you absolutely decerve a change of pace! You should let life flow, at whatever pace you want. If that means changing your blog postings to acommodate other things, I say, go for it 😉 Life is there to be lived… fully!

nrhatch - January 14, 2015

Thanks, Anne. This afternoon’s “change of pace” including taking in a PlayReaders play ~> Laughter on the 23rd Floor, by Neil Simon.

29. Tiny - January 14, 2015

Hi Nancy! I noticed …And I love your post. I have very similar thoughts. In the beginning I felt I had to post every day, but soon it became a stress factor and was not enjoyable anymore. I agree on all the rest too 🙂

nrhatch - January 14, 2015

Thanks, Tiny. I decided early on that I didn’t need to post every day, but daily posts had already become a habit. And I enjoyed the community. And I kept thinking of stuff to share. And etc. So I kept that schedule.

But this pushing back a bit feels good ~> wicked good!

30. Patricia - January 14, 2015

I am not a regular regular poster. Seems some months I am very chatty and other months for whatever reason I shut up. Whenever you pop up on the reader I will visit as I always do…though I rarely comment. Time thing ya know. Anyway, enjoy whatever your day holds for you.

nrhatch - January 15, 2015

Thanks, Patricia. After 5 years of being ‘chatty,” I’ll allow other bloggers to steer the cyber ship.

31. jannatwrites - January 15, 2015

You have certainly kept up a busy blogging schedule for a long time. I have fewer than 800 posts with my 5 years coming up in March. Good to go with less posting and more other stuff, if that’s what your heart desires 🙂

nrhatch - January 15, 2015

That’s impressive, Janna ~> in that time, you’ve managed 2 boys, a move, a new job, in laws, being a cub scout leader, etc.

Stepping back will give me a chance to evaluate the landscape and explore other possibilities. It’s all good!

32. judithhb - January 15, 2015

Hi Nancy – I have been less than active at blogging recently and I agree with you. Time to relax and read others’ blogposts and comment as and when it is appropriate,

nrhatch - January 15, 2015

Yes! Blogs ebb and flow ~ I’m looking forward to spending more time away from the keyboard.

33. livelytwist - January 15, 2015

“For now, sharing my view of the world seems less compelling than using that time to play the guitar, stretch, exercise, meditate, create, cook, listen to music, eat chocolate, etc.”

Good for you. I’m glad you’re not going away forever. I usually have a laugh or a think or learn something new whenever I come here 🙂

nrhatch - January 15, 2015

Thanks, Timi! Sharing a laugh or a think is my favorite part of blogging. I shall continue doing so . . . in a somewhat more abbreviated and organic fashion.

34. L. Marie - January 15, 2015

Nancy, that sounds wise and certainly far less stressful. 🙂 Mmm. Chocolate.

nrhatch - January 15, 2015

Thanks, Linda! “Shifting gears” today meant a blog meet up with Pix (Under The Oaks). Had a great time and delicious lunch. Plus chocolate!

35. nancy curteman - January 22, 2015

My mother used to say “Absence makes the heart grow fonder for the other fellow.” Not exactly your point, but the title reminded me.

nrhatch - January 23, 2015

Thanks, NC. Your mother had a point.


What Say YOU?

