jump to navigation

Stuff By Us December 30, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Home & Garden, People.
trackback

Don’t get the wrong idea . . . we don’t spend all our time sitting on our hands waiting for others to gift stuff to us.  Sometimes we make it!

In high school, I hooked this rug (which gives you an inkling of where I wanted to live).

2014-11-30 17-57-06_0006

BFF made this bookcase which we use as a table in the front hall.

2014-11-30 12-14-26_0054

I cross-stitched this small sampler which hangs in the kitchen.

2014-12-01 14-08-16_0011

BFF made a second bookcase for my office.

2014-11-30 18-12-04_0031

I cross-stitched this large sampler which may be adopted out soon.

2014-12-01 15-13-42_0035

Or not.  We’ll see.

2014-12-01 15-14-33_0038

Here’s a built better by BFF bench that sits by the front door.

2014-11-30 18-19-49_0036

Two more benches we used as coffee tables are patiently waiting in the closet to be repurposed.

2014-12-01 15-07-42_0028

I sewed the button Christmas tree next to this copper teapot.

2014-11-30 12-10-41_0043

We didn’t make this bench . . . but it’s the first antique we purchased after we got married.

2014-11-30 17-58-12_0008

This Scottish seaman’s trunk is 400 years old.  It stores all my Santas and Christmas decorations “out of season.

2014-12-01 15-11-17_0033

I painted this Whimsical WELCOME.

IMGP2255

IMGP2256

And this little patchwork Christmas tree (next to the Santa).

2014-11-30 12-06-24_0032

One year, I painted 12 Santas as gifts and kept one in a blue coat holding a wreath (far right).

2014-11-30 12-06-43_0033

I decorated 13 of these trees one year to give as gifts.  I kept one.

2014-11-30 12-12-03_0048

And last (and least) I painted the Christmas tree in a thimble stand that keeps my Christmas Critters company in front of a few more favorite heirlooms and keepsakes . . . BOOKS!

2014-11-30 12-10-15_0042

Aah . . . that’s better!

Do you have heirlooms that you enjoy all year and others that emerge only at the holidays?

Related posts:  Making Your Dreams Come True * What Have You Created Lately? * Why Do We Keep Stuff? * When Pigs Fly * Adults Have All The Fun . . . NOT! * Sense and Nonsense * My Rogues Gallery * My Blue Period

Comments»

1. Rainee - December 30, 2014

People in your family (including you) are multi-skilled Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thanks, Rainee. Most of us have a creative vein running through the right brain longing to be let out.

As a kid, crafting things added balance to life ~ giving me a chance to turn off the left analytic brain and “just be.” I still enjoy making stuff and painting but I don’t do it often enough.

2. Val Boyko - December 30, 2014

Crafty folks with talent and humor 🙂

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

I loved crafts as a kid ~ decoupage, dress making (for dolls), macrame, beading, painting, sketching.

I only wish I had photos of the rust and olive green plant holders I macramed to share with you! Or the groovy macrame and beaded belts and vests. 😛

Val Boyko - December 31, 2014

Too funny N!
I had a love of macrame and indoor plants too! What a perfect combination of hobbies 😉
The 70’s were inspiring !!

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

And the music rocked!

3. Pix Under the Oaks - December 30, 2014

You did rug hooking??? In high school?? I tried rug hooking at 60 and nearly pulled my hair out! I love that rug.. I didn’t notice it when we were there!

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

I spent MONTHS turning yarn into that 3′ x 4′ rug. The design was easy; the execution ~> slow going.

You didn’t see it because it’s hanging in the master bath, 10 feet up, over the ledge above the sink.

Pix Under the Oaks - December 30, 2014

😀

4. Silver in the Barn - December 30, 2014

OK, first of all, trying not to be jealous that you and Pix have met. Putting that aside (for now), only later in life did I start making things chiefly through my knitting. A labor of love really even if it is just a stack of cotton dish cloths! I really like all the hand crafted wooden furniture in your home, Nancy.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

We’ve “hooked up” with Pix & CH twice. Once in Venice (Florida) and once here. A 3rd meeting is in the planning stages. Yay!

And I know that we BOTH would like to meet up with YOU. That would be Cool as a Moose!

I’ve done a bit of knitting ~ a sweater, a vest, a scarf. But none of them are still around. And not just because we moved to FL.

Silver in the Barn - December 30, 2014

TWICE? With another in the works? Now I’m sulking…..

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

The next time your hubby flies a turtle rescue mission . . . ask him to choose the southern leg and hop aboard with him.

I’ll have an umbrella drink waiting!

5. Equipping The Saints - December 30, 2014

I like all of the things that you have in your house; it looks like a nice place to call home. Blessings to you.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thanks, ETS. It’s comfy and cozy.

Equipping The Saints - December 30, 2014

Blessings to you. Please have a wonderful day.

6. NancyTex - December 30, 2014

NH, you definitely win the prize for holding onto keepsakes. I remember hooking a rug in junior high. I don’t remember it being around by the time I was in high school. LOL. 🙂

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Hey! Are you calling me a pack rat??? 😛

Most of my artsy craftsy stuff from HS is long gone . . . so I can’t share my macrame, bead work, or decoupage with you. That rug is the exception because it kept my dream of living by the sea ALIVE.

NancyTex - December 30, 2014

I think it’s awesome that you held onto it!

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

I just wish you could see some of the groovy macrame I made in HS ~ in 70’s shades of rust, olive, and brown. 😆

7. anotherday2paradise - December 30, 2014

Lovely art work, Nancy. I love all your Christmas critters. 🙂

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thanks, Sylvia. There’s always room for whimsy this time of year.

8. Jill Weatherholt - December 30, 2014

Wow! The seaman’s trunk is incredible, Nancy! I think I need to have your BFF build me a few bookcases…mine are exploding. 😦 Most of my family heirlooms hang out with us year around.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

I fell in “love at first sight” with that trunk ~ it is perfect for keeping Santa and his reindeer safe from Yule to Yule.

If we lived closer, I’d send BFF over to take measurements this week! My bookcases used to be stuffed to the gills until I culled their groaning shelves and donated piles of books to the library for its annual sale. Now the cases breathe easier.

Jill Weatherholt - December 30, 2014

It’s really beautiful. Well, last year I donated over sixty books, but my shelves keep filling back up…and my Kindle.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Books, like rabbits, multiply when we’re not watching.

9. kateshrewsday - December 30, 2014

What a lovely haul, Nancy. I think home made things are just the best. I LOVE your 400 year old treasure chest, but my favourite is the bench by the front door. Gorgeous.
I’ve said it at mine, but I’m popping my head round the door to say it at yours: though we have never set eyes on each other, I consider you a great friend, a rare gem who speaks with honesty and integrity no matter what the cost. I want to wish you a happy new year, filled with adventure and the small happinesses which make life great. Have a lovely one, you and BFF both.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thank you so much, Kate. I do strive to be honest (and have paid a high price a time or two when honesty was NOT what someone wanted to hear). Your comment made my day!

And BFF’s too ~> I love that little bench. Perfect for stacks of books to be returned to the library or packages and parcels to pick up on the way out the door.

I am delighted our paths crossed in cyber space. Your writing is such a treat to read. I shall keep my fingers crossed that we will, one day, sit down over a bowl of smoking bishop or a cup of tea or an umbrella drink to natter and trade stories in person!

10. Barb - December 30, 2014

What a joyful piece of art.

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thanks, Barb. The sun, moon, stars, and sea still beckon to me ~> nature nurtures.

11. Valleygrail - December 30, 2014

I love your stuff! And I tell you, some of your words tickle me so much-natter; perferct word! Thanks for another tour. It was so fun!

nrhatch - December 30, 2014

Thanks, VG. The tour ends here ~ tomorrow we resume our regularly scheduled programming.

Thanks for all your delightful writes this year. You pull us into every story your share.

Valleygrail - December 30, 2014

Your kind words encourage me every time. Thank you!

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

My pleasure.

12. jannatwrites - December 31, 2014

I enjoyed perusing your things. Your creative muscles do get quite a workout!

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

Imagine how much more creative stuff I could stuff into my week (and add to my stuff) if I cut back on blogging?

Here’s to Right Balance in the New Year!

13. katecrimmins - December 31, 2014

I am amazed that you have all this stuff. You are such a simple person. (That was a compliment just in case you couldn’t tell.)

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

Haha! I come from a LONG line of pack rats, Kate.

My grandfather in VT was always stuffing stuff into his attic. My parents did the same. Before I read Simplify Your Life in 1997, I tended to follow in their footsteps ~ keeping things “just in case.”

Since then, I’ve pared down purchases and cleared out lots and lots of “clutter” but we still have plenty of stuff. Progress, not perfection.

katecrimmins - December 31, 2014

I have been working on it too. I have stopped buying stuff and it feels good but I have a basement and attic full.

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

We don’t have that issue here ~ no basement and the attic is too hot in the summer for anything to survive.

We do, however, have cathedral ceilings in the two walk-in closets if we have stuff to stash!

14. Behind the Story - December 31, 2014

My daughter planned a long list of activities for our holiday visit to her house this year, from laser tag to baking to a trip to the zoo. Since she loves crafts, she cleared off the dining room table, brought out boxes full of felt, buttons and sequins, and we sat around making Christmas decorations that we later hung from doorways and the chandelier. Crafts are fun for every age working together.

nrhatch - December 31, 2014

How fun! I saw you mention the Medieval Dinner she planned with singing between the courses ~ sounded delightful.

15. Grannymar - January 4, 2015

I love these pieces, Nancy. As you know I love all forms of craft work, or perhaps I should say ‘hand work’. The only area where I fall down is with, is painting…. that is unless it is walls & woodwork! 😆 I once went as far as buying plans for building a kit car, I so wanted to have a go, but since we had only one single garage for our car, without a covered space for the ‘building of my dream’, I shelved the idea altogether.

I am slowly playing catch-up with my blog reading, glad I found this post: a wonderland of hand crafted treasures!

nrhatch - January 4, 2015

Thanks, GM! Glad you enjoyed seeing the post before it got buried in the archives. I’ve enjoyed seeing some of your hand and craft work ~ like those gorgeous wraps.

Your plans to build a “kit car” reminded me of the enjoyment from building model cars and such as a kid ~ all the way down to applying the decals as detail.

Maybe you should build yourself a mini Maserati? Vroom. Vroom.

16. Three Well Beings - January 13, 2015

You’ve created a very personal and delightful nest, Nancy. I love all the handcrafted items. I forgot about your painting! You haven’t shared about that lately. I have a number of heirlooms, but nothing that relates specifically to our Christmas festivities and decorating, unless I count a few little decorations that go back to my childhood. Those are practically antiques! 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2015

A few of our “Christmas Heirlooms” could be left out year round since they have nothing to do with the holidays (i.e., alligators, snakes, ducks, LuLu, etc.), but packing them away allows us to enjoy seeing them once a year and keeps the villa from feeling too stuffed with stuff.

I haven’t done much painting since I started blogging. Cause and effect? Or just waning of interest? Now that I’ve cut back on posting, I’ll see if my paintbrushes are calling my name.

One of my favorite decorations on our tree is a small stocking that’s 80+ years old.


What Say YOU?

