jump to navigation

Things I’ve Re-Learned This Year December 27, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, People, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

Life lessons aren’t mastered in a single bold stroke.  We learn, we practice, we forget, we remember, we re-learn.

Here are a few key notes I re-learned this year:

1.  Like a bottomless well, Ego’s desire for applause, accolades, approval, acknowledgement, acclaim, awards, and recognition is never satiated.

2.  When we stroke Ego, it purrs.  When we stop, it snarls.

Broccoli-Mocking-Stewie

3.  People want us to do what they want us to do when they want us to do it. They are affronted when we don’t.

4.  When people ask us to “be honest” . . . they don’t always mean it.

daffy_duck_boxing

5.  It’s silly to buy another pair of shoes because we want an Ego Boost from others when they see us rocking our new ruby slippers.

6.  In many ways, we are at the mercy of the tides.  Life ebbs and flows.  Joy comes and goes.  Sorrow is hard to avoid.

Lumpus-Moose

7.  Even if we’re not convinced that “everything happens for a reason,” taking time to look for “silver linings” helps us deal with passing clouds.

8.  When we aren’t wedded to a set destination, we enjoy the journey (and its inevitable detours) more.

Mickey-Surfer

9.  If we are enjoying the journey, we win.  No matter where the wind blows us.

Aah . . . that’s better! 

For Life Lessons by other writers, check out Timi’s series on Lively Twist:  Did We Do Any Learning? [1]  Learning [2]  Learning [3]  Learning [4]  Learning [5]

Comments»

1. katecrimmins - December 27, 2014

How about, when someone is angry, most times it’s not about you at all so get over yourself.

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Yup. It’s not always about us.

2. Silver in the Barn - December 27, 2014

Learning and re-learning is how we eventually evolve into the best version of ourselves possible.

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Do you like my new Ruby Slippers? Be Honest! 😛

3. NancyTex - December 27, 2014

Do they ever *really* mean it? 🙂

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

I do.

And (in the unlikely event that your opinion doesn’t match mine) I’ll repay the favor and be honest with you, by pointing out where your logic went astray. :mrgreen:

NancyTex - December 27, 2014

Bahahahaha! Exactly! 🙂

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

{{GRIN}}

4. Jill Weatherholt - December 27, 2014

It’s great to re-learn things, isn’t it? I love number six!

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Yes! #6 is a reminder that we must let droplets of JOY surface even in the midst of sad times.

5. Val Boyko - December 27, 2014

I love your list Nancy! Its a time for reflection and learning … I’m revisiting mine as well 🙂

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Thanks, Val. I try to pause and reflect throughout the year . . . but year end is a time for serious reflection.

6. Eric Tonningsen - December 27, 2014

#6 – hear, hear! Though I will acknowledge being a tad disappointed that you’re not rocking new ruby slippers. 🙂

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

What? Like these:

Eric Tonningsen - December 27, 2014

Yes, but even more spectacular if you were/are sporting Annie’s hair!

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Haha! She said it was ITCHY!

7. livelytwist - December 27, 2014

I wish we learnt with a single bold stroke! Your nine lessons are awesome. I’ll be chewing on them awhile. For now, I’m still camping at number 4. Thanks for sharing about the lessons from other writers.

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

My pleasure. I loved your series, Timi! Great way to end your blogging year.

8. Pix Under the Oaks - December 27, 2014

Enjoying the journey.. yes!

nrhatch - December 27, 2014

Ditto!

9. Cecelia Futch - December 28, 2014

Great list! I will be thinking about these for a while. #7 is the one that most struck home with me. I really question the notion that everything “happens for a reason,” but absolutely concur with the silver lining bit. I am one who has moved from the position of finding my life’s meaning to how do I create a meaningful life. Again, great list!

nrhatch - December 28, 2014

That shift makes so much sense to me, Cecelia ~> here’s to creating meaningful moments every day!

10. jannatwrites - December 28, 2014

Life is a series of refreshers, I think. I’m good with honesty as long as it isn’t delivered wrapped in thorns. Honesty with good intentions is a gift we shouldn’t turn away 🙂

nrhatch - December 28, 2014

Good way to put it, Janna. I believe in being Kindly Honest.


What Say YOU?

