jump to navigation

It’s A Guy Thing December 20, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Joke.
trackback

Brian-Oh-NoWhat is it with guys shoving food down their pants and into their pockets, like squirrels storing up stores for the winter?

* Raymond cramming his pockets full of roast beef at the PTA Pot Luck on Everybody Loves Raymond.

* Stephen C. McQueen lining the pockets of his overcoat with canapes stolen from a birthday buffet in The Understudy.

* Pinto in Animal House sticking packages of meat down his pants and inside his sweater for a Frat Party. TOGA!  TOGA!

At the Cheese Tasting we attended this week, a retired sheriff’s deputy spotted an un-gentlemanly gentleman pilfering cheese, by stuffing containers down the front of his pants for later consumption.

Apparently he’s not alone!

According to the Fun Facts shared at the tasting, cheese is the #1 shoplifted item in both Europe and the US because it’s small, compact, and pricey.  And doesn’t melt like ice cream.

IMGP3178b

So, if you happen upon a cheese tray at a Holiday Party this year, you might query the hostess about its origins.

If she says, “Raymond picked it up for me,” consider opting for the fruitcake.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Hariod Brawn - December 20, 2014

Beware the nuts.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Bwahaha! Perfect one liner, Hariod. 😎

2. Jill Weatherholt - December 20, 2014

I think you might have just broken my obsession with cheese, Nancy! 🙂
I remember that Raymond episode…hilarious!

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

When BFF and I left the cheese tasting, I told him about the guy pilfering cheese which reminded us of Raymond and Pinto and the Fun Fact about stolen cheese.

Soon we could hardly breathe we were laughing so hard.

When Raymond defends his choice to stuff meat in his pockets, tears fall from our eyes. Poor Deborah.

3. Valleygrail - December 20, 2014

Still laughing! I never thought I would consider passing on a cheese tray, until now. So funny!

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Bwahaha! My plan is working. Soon ALL the cheese will be mine at Holiday Gatherings! :mrgreen:

Valleygrail - December 20, 2014

Brilliant!

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Thanks! 😎

4. ericjbaker - December 20, 2014

Those guys need a man purse.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Or a backpack!

And good to see ya . . . you’ve been laying low for a week or so. I figured you were out shopping. But ya never know.

If you haven’t been by PTC’s place in a while, you might want to swing by. Her last post is a doozy ~ she broke her leg AND almost froze to death.

http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2014/12/12/resting-on-jacobs-pillow/

ericjbaker - December 20, 2014

I will check it out. I’ve been super busy at work, to the point that I don’t want to go anywhere near a computer screen these days when I don’t have to.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

I don’t blame you. Too much screen time makes my eyes buggy. Hope you can UNPLUG in the coming week(s).

5. katecrimmins - December 20, 2014

Awww! I love cheese but I’m fussy. If it looks a little dry or like it’s been handled too much, I pass on it. Now I know why and I didn’t see those shows!

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

As a whole, I’m leery of buffets . . . especially when it appears that something has been sitting there for hours.

katecrimmins - December 20, 2014

Me too. Getting older has taken the fun out of things. Where we once said, OMG! strawberry shortcake, we now say OMG! those strawberries are bruised; that whipped cream doesn’t look like whipped cream; and I bet that was frozen. It’s as bad as discovering saturated fats. Those were so tasty.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Yes! And if I see someone double-dipping . . . I’m done!

6. reocochran - December 20, 2014

I like trivia about people stuffing their pockets with food. I have seen in the distant past, “The Understudy” and “Animal House,” but must have missed or forgotten Raymond’s episode. It sounds like something one of my brothers would have done… smiles
As far as fruitcake, there are many flavors of these I enjoy. It is ironic, since it is much maligned as the thing not to eat. If it is made well, rich with fruits and laced with either a non-alcoholic cider or alcoholic brandy, it is quite moist and delicious, too.
Hope you have a buffet of amusements for your Christmas and holiday season, Nancy.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

I was in the midst of reading The Understudy when I saw the Parmesan Pilferer at the Cheese Tasting. The part about finding party canapes in his pockets “the morning after” tied in nicely with the theme of this post.

My mom made a fantastic dark moist fruitcake with dates, etc., that I LOVED. She also made mini-fruitcakes in cupcake tins with just enough batter to hold the candied fruit together. YUM!

Thanks for the good wishes and glad tidings ~ hope your holiday is Merry and Bright and overflowing with Love, Peace, Joy, Hope, and Light!

7. Val Boyko - December 20, 2014

You guys are a riot!
I was at a party last night and seriously wished I’d brought hefty bags!!
C_H_E_E_S_E P_L_E_A_S_E_!

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

At some parties . . . doggy bags are a definite plus! Sounds like you had a great time. {Unless you meant you just wanted to sweep the buffet offerings into a TRASH bag.} 😛

We are having a GRAND and GLORIOUS day today, Val ~> Farmer’s Market, Curried Lentil Soup, Walk on the Beach (with FANTASTIC temps), and a Luminary Walk tonight ~ with stations in the woods featuring violinists, steel drums, and native american flutes playing carols.

8. Silver in the Barn - December 20, 2014

No man of mine stuffs his pants with cheese. That I know of anyway! COL!! And I love a good fruitcake soaked in bourbon. Oh yeah.

nrhatch - December 20, 2014

Good fruitcake is so yummy.
Bad fruitcake is BAD!

9. Three Well Beings - December 21, 2014

I went to a specialty cheese shop today to pick up some nice offerings for a little holiday party. I think I will put the receipt out next to the platter. I don’t want anyone to think they’re getting cheese that’s formerly been stuffed anywhere! 🙂

nrhatch - December 21, 2014

Haha! That’s just the thing to add to the buffet table . . . “This cheese is NOT hot.” 😛

Hope you had a wonderful party.

10. jannatwrites - December 21, 2014

This is funny. But eating pants food, is not 🙂

nrhatch - December 21, 2014

I may never look at a cheese tray in quite the same way.

11. Behind the Story - December 21, 2014

It seems a stinky thing to swipe.

nrhatch - December 21, 2014

Yes! Especially the barnyard-y varietals. :mrgreen:

12. Pix Under the Oaks - December 23, 2014

That is an attractive and interesting offering of cheese.. 🙂

nrhatch - December 23, 2014

That cheese tray (enjoyed on Pine Ave.) looks yummy. I can almost block out the tell-tale whisper:

“Do you know where that cheese has been?” 😛

Pix Under the Oaks - December 23, 2014

Ha ha!


What Say YOU?

