jump to navigation

All I Want For Christmas . . . December 10, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Humor, Less IS More.
trackback

When we go to someone’s home for dinner or a party, we often bring a small hostess gift ~ flowers, wine, chocolate, or a bakery item.

2014-06-15 16-22-14_0002

This Thanksgiving, we went to my niece’s apartment in Tampa.

2014-11-27 13-05-48_0024

Earlier this year, we helped her furnish the apartment by giving her our sofa.

2014-07-14 16-11-15_0003

Pick up, not delivery.

2014-07-14 16-11-25_0005

As a hostess gift this Thanksgiving, we brought the matching love seat.

2014-11-24 17-48-40_0010

We tossed it in the back of the van with the coolers of food.

2014-11-24 17-57-17_0011

At the other end, we set it up before proceeding with the feast.

2014-11-27 13-03-50_0021

Perfect!  A made-to-order spot for it under the windows.

2014-11-27 13-04-02_0022

Giving away the love seat left a “small hole” in our living room.

2014-11-24 17-58-41_0014

“All I want for Christmas is . . . a new sofa.  A new sofa.  A new sofa.”

Until Santa stops by on December 25th, we filled it with . . . lawn furniture.

2014-11-26 15-43-40_0016

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

Aah . . . that’s better! 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - December 10, 2014

How nice of you, Nancy. Your niece looks very pleased! Happy Shopping!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

The sofa and loveseat work great in her apartment. But . . . I thought giving our furniture away would inspire me to go shopping. Nope. Not yet, anyway.

Seeing the lawn furniture in the living room makes me smile. :mrgreen:

Jill Weatherholt - December 10, 2014

Definitely gives it that Floridian feel. 🙂

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Ooh . . . if I buy a sun lamp, I can really get that FL feel. 😎

2. Silver in the Barn - December 10, 2014

You make my day. LOL.

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Yay! Glad you got a kick out of my laissez-faire approach to interior decorating. 😎

Thus far, we have not stuck our noses into a single furniture store to look for a replacement couch/ sofa/ loveseat/ futon. I am just not much of a “shopper” these days.

Maybe Santa will drop one down the chimney on the 25th.

3. katecrimmins - December 10, 2014

In one of my houses I used a wrought iron patio rocker in my family room. Worked wonderful until I moved many years later. You bring some fabulous hostess gifts. Wanna come for dinner?

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Sure! As soon as it warms up. Now, let’s see . . . what would Kate like most as a hostess gift???

I’ve got it . . . her own private Starbucks Barista!

katecrimmins - December 10, 2014

That’ll work!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

How ’bout this one?

4. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - December 10, 2014

I get it! Ever since we remodeled three years ago, I have meant to buy a new sofa. PS I’d rather be outside, or writing, or painting, or cooking……..anything but shopping!!!!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Yes! That’s it. When we gave her the sofa in July, the plan was to start shopping and, once we found what we wanted, give her the loveseat. But life kept getting in the way since we would rather be doing anything but shopping.

Plan B ~> give her the loveseat as motivation to go shpping.
Plan C ~> make do with what we have and go shopping “later.”

5. Pix Under the Oaks - December 10, 2014

I am excited to see what Santa brings you! Oh, I read in comments you are in no hurry. CH wants to bring in one of the outdoor chairs we sit in under the oaks because he can’t find a comfortable chair.. works for me!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Bringing the outside in . . . PERFECT!

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 10, 2014

That is totally the way to go! Love the lawn furniture!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Everytime I see them SITTING there, I laugh. They are not motivating me to shop since they add a silly quotient to my day.

7. valleygrail - December 10, 2014

You are so clever! I love it!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Thanks, VG! Not sure that beach chairs are a good long term solution (even with our eclectic decor) but they’ll do for now.

8. jannatwrites - December 10, 2014

I bet she was thankful for the addition! I don’t like shopping for furniture… either I don’t find anything I like, or I find something that’s not even close to being in my budget. (Last year, when I got the bedroom set, I fell in love with a leather sofa/loveseat set… it was about $5,000 so I decided I’d just have to visit it once in a while.)

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

You have GREAT taste, Janna! I’m pretty sure we won’t be plunking down $5K for a sofa. But you’ve described the situation exactly. I’d rather just “bump into” what I want at a price I’m willing to pay without going out and hunting for it.

9. Grannymar - December 10, 2014

Why spend a fortune now, when the January sales might get you what you want at half the price. You do have january sales in Florida. Right?

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

It used to be a safe bet to wait until January for big ticket items. Not sure if that’s still the case with all the Black Friday and Cyber Week sales.

I’m glancing at the prices of sofas/ loveseats in flyers, but haven’t motivated myself to walk out the door and to a store. All in good time.

10. livelytwist - December 10, 2014

Santa? Are you listening? 🙂

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

It will be a Christmas Miracle if we have a new sofa delivered by 8 tiny reindeer!

livelytwist - December 11, 2014

The elves better get busy then 😉

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

I wonder how much they get for overtime at this time of the year. 😛

ericjbaker - December 12, 2014

I don’t support “Sweatshop” Santa. Elf rights now!

nrhatch - December 13, 2014

Don’t get them all riled up, Riley . . . we don’t want them to go on strike mid-December!

11. Barb - December 10, 2014

You put “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are” into operation….until you get your new sofa!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

I’m much more apt to “make do” with what we have than to rush out and buy something . . . especially at this time of year.

They deck chairs are cozy, but they are ripe with kitsch!

12. Cecelia Futch - December 10, 2014

That is cool! Both the giving/sharing and the improvising! Reminds me of when the only furniture we had in our living room was camp furniture (as in canvas fold-up chairs). Oddly I miss those chairs. Everyone who came into our home loved the comfort and ease of it all, not to mention the campfire smell! 😉

Your lawn furniture looks lovely in your living room. Color coordinated, too!

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Whenever I go into a restored one room log cabin and see what early pioneers managed to do without, it reinforces my resolve not to fan the flames of “want” when “need” is a better measure.

13. Three Well Beings - December 11, 2014

At least the outdoor furniture looks comfortable! We play “musical furniture” in our family quite often. It really is funny. I would probably have a very different style of furniture in my home if it weren’t for the practical part of me that can go to my mother’s house and come away with an antique or two (or more!). She has furniture to spare and still has items that belonged to my grandparents. I have purchased very few “new” items in 42 years of marriage. As I think about it, we are Scottish also. LOL!

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

Same here. We owe much of our eclectic decor to antiques and heirlooms from my grandparents and parents that I’m hanging onto until our nieces and nephews start to set up “real homes” (not college apartments). Once they’re out of here, we talk about getting a pool table for the living room . . . with bar stools in the corners. 😛

14. Behind the Story - December 11, 2014

I have some bedroom furniture I want to give away. I’ll work on finding someone to take it in a month or two.

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

Good luck, Nicki! Since moving into the villa 5 years ago, we’ve unloaded/given away/donated 2 sleeper sofas, the loveseat, an entertainment cabinet, a large wardrobe, headboards, bedside tables, etc. ~> less is more when furnishing a small place.

15. Don - December 11, 2014

That’s kind of you Nancy.

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

Thanks, Don. It’s a Win-Win when we find a new home for something we no longer want, need, use, or love. Although we were using the loveseat and sofa (which we inherited with the villa), we did/do want something else.

BFF didn’t love the fabric. :mrgreen:

16. Yolanda M. - December 12, 2014

LOL! I hope you get a lovely new sofa Nancy.

nrhatch - December 12, 2014

Let’s just hope that Santa’s got it on his list!

17. Reclining Happily-Ever-After | Spirit Lights The Way - April 23, 2015

[…] decided we would go shopping AFTER Christmas . . . just in case Santa dropped the sofa of my dreams down the chimney we don’t […]


What Say YOU?

