jump to navigation

Homemade Cards and FOXY Gifts December 9, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Humor, Word Play.
trackback

I’m a frugal Scot at heart.

The idea of paying Hallmark $4 (or more) for a piece of card stock with a few uninspired impersonal words printed on it seems the opposite of frugal.

So, time permitting, I flex my creativity chakra and make cards from scratch ~ like this 30th Anniversary Booklet that BFF is holding:

2014-06-16 11-36-59_0004

Decisions . . . Decisions . . .

The booklet goes on for pages and pages about ways to celebrate our 30th ~ including going on a safari to watch a Zebra chasing a Lion:

2014-06-16 11-37-22_0005

“I  K~E~E~E~L~L  You!”

This year, one of our nieces turned 18.  She wants a pet fox “one day.”  We decided to get her something FOXY for her birthday.

Here’s the card I created to go with the present:

2014-11-18 19-57-12_0023

I had no problem finding illustrations for the card.

Who knew that you could find so many FOXY items for sale?  From hats to scarves to mittens to socks!

2014-11-18 19-58-51_0027

From t-shirts to earrings to stuffed animals to night lights.

2014-11-18 19-57-55_0025

That FOXY Night Light gave me a Bright Idea!

2014-11-18 19-58-05_0026

I’m sure you’re wondering what we got her for her birthday.  Here’s a hint:

2014-11-27 13-05-33_0023

And here’s the FOXY reveal:

2014-11-27 13-10-32_0025

Yes . . . it’s a horse.

2014-11-27 13-11-52_0001

But I think it’s FOXY!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. laurakelly2 - December 9, 2014

I like making my own cards too. Mine are pretty simple but I love putting a little of myself into the cards I make before giving them to people. 🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Me too. I use blank greeting cards and include a personal note. I’m a bit disappointed when I receive a Christmas card, open it, and see that’s it’s signed with NO note.

Nothing but a signature => an autograph.

2. suzicate - December 9, 2014

Your handmade cards are great. I love handmade gifts. I used to spend time making them but haven’t in a while. Sometimes I cut up old Christmas cards and use parts for gift tags for homemade goodies to give out.

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

With your amazing sewing and quilting skills, you could make quilting squares for wall hangings, trivets, or table runners.

One of our favorite Holiday Decorations is a Christmas “Quilt Square” for the coffee table ~> there’s no batting so it’s more like a tablecloth or square table runner than a puffy quilt.

I used to give mom sewing project ideas for me . . . like this tea cozy:

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 9, 2014

Wow! Very creative!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Thanks, Kate. It’s fun creating one-of-a-kind cards filled with bits and pieces of humor and whimsy.

4. Silver in the Barn - December 9, 2014

You’re awesome. Not because of the cards but because of the caption under photo #2. BWAHAHAHA. How I adore that bit. OK, you’re awesome because of the cards too. I loved that Moose.

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Haha! I had so much fun making that anniversary card for BFF ~ it’s 17 pages of “bright” ideas for celebrating our 30th. But my favorite page is the Zebra chasing the Lion while quoting Achmed the Dead Terrorist!

That’s Moose iz COOL! 😛

Silver in the Barn - December 9, 2014

It’s in my head now, dash it! SILENCE!!!!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Something “Moose” popped into my mailbox this morning. I’ll shoot it your way in a few minutes.

nrhatch - December 9, 2014
5. Becky - December 9, 2014

We’re big fans of the homemade cards and gifts here. Yours are fun!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Thanks, Becky. I bet your pickles and preserves are well appreciated gifts.

Becky - December 9, 2014

There are those that like them, but not everyone appreciates them. C’est la vie!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

For my birthday, mom let me wander into her pantry and select a few jars of jams, jellies, preserves, chutneys, or pickles.

What fun! Strawberry rhubarb jam, peach chutney, and bread and butter pickles were favorite picks.

6. Bridgesburning Chris King - December 9, 2014

Ooooo I think the whole thing is very foxy and wonderful!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Thanks, Chris. My niece got a kick out of the card.

7. stacilys - December 9, 2014

Ohhh, that’s great. And very creative to. I’m a newbie to mixed-media art and would love to make my own cards. I’m going to give it a try soon.
🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

The fortuitous bit about this FOXY card ~ I was looking for fox images on-line without finding what I wanted. And then I decided to look through the NWF catalog that had arrived in the mail 2 hours earlier. And almost every page had a FOXY FOX.

http://www.shopnwf.org/catalog/search.cmd?keyword=fox&x=23&y=8&pageToken=C8ZRJIXUrLiK8mARKcsTRzJZDQoVlbiz

Have fun mixing it up with mixed media!

stacilys - December 9, 2014

Hahaha. Isn’t that just how life i?

Oh I will. I’ve been having a blast so far.
🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Timing is everything . . . especially when it comes to synchronicity!

8. Pix Under the Oaks - December 9, 2014

I have to ask… she likes horses? 😀
I am not good about sending cards for any occasion.. :/

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

She LOVES horses! And cards are hit and miss with me ~ sometimes I remember . . . sometimes I forget.

9. Grannymar - December 9, 2014

I love your card making skills. My most favourite home made card came from my grandnieces when they were small. My niece put it in a second envelope with a warning note to don rubber gloves and open the card on a tray.. There must have been a half bucket of glitter, definitely more than the weight of the card.

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Haha! Glad your niece thought to include a warning. I’ve received store bought cards that shed glitter everywhere. It makes for sparkly carpets and tiles.

10. Yolanda M. - December 9, 2014

Well done and you made me laugh Nancy! A horse?? I highly recommend the lion chasing the zebra thing for your 30th. Going on safari is one of those incredible and unforgettable experiences as long as you don’t go wandering off into the bush by yourselves…

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Not a lion chasing a zebra . . . a zebra chasing a lion! 😛

I can assure you that if we ever go on safari, I will not wander into the bush by myself. Nor will BFF. We want a gun toting guide with us. 😯

11. reocochran - December 9, 2014

I enjoyed all of the cards and your sense of humor, too. I love foxes and nature, also. I am a big card maker, but usually for birthdays. Christmas is more two different styles of boxes and split into which will like which… smiles!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Thanks! I just created a whole pile of Christmas cards for my nieces and nephews, adding jokes and poems. So much fun. But quite time consuming. And not always practical if you actually want to get the cards mailed before Christmas.

12. livelytwist - December 9, 2014

I don’t mind shelling cash on a Hallmark card, some are inspirational. But a personalized card like the one you shared means so much more. The time, thought, and creativity that went into it. The ability to capture the nuances of the relationship on paper- the little things that reveal how much we care, and how far we’ve come . . .

Your niece looks happy with her gift. Happy 18th birthday to her!

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

Some store-bought cards are funny, intelligent, or amusing . . . but many just “phone it in.” Those are the ones I avoid.

My niece had a fun birthday that lasted most of November.

13. Behind the Story - December 9, 2014

Homemade cards are always appreciated. I haven’t made any for a while. When I was a kid, we always made cards for our parents. I’ve enjoyed looking back at the ones they saved.

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

I like funny cards the best (big surprise, right?). Imperfections add to the charm. For those who share more introspective or poetic thoughts in cards, my slap dash approach to card making might not enhance the message being conveyed.

For weddings and golden anniversaries, I tend to go with Hallmark.

14. jannatwrites - December 10, 2014

Cute card – and I think that is one mighty foxy horse 🙂 I think cards are outrageously expensive, too. I don’t bother getting cards for kids when we go to parties (they really just want the gift.) If I’m mailing one, I like the 97 cent ones 🙂

nrhatch - December 10, 2014

Thanks, Janna. In my early years, I recall ripping off the card and tossing it to the side, unopened, to get to the present. Such bad manners!

I’ve gotten some decent cards at the $ store.

15. Tiny - December 10, 2014

Great creativity! And it’s fun too, both to make the card and to receive one that is home-made. I am not very crafty like this, but make digital birthday cards to family and friends.

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

With those gorgeous photos of yours, the sky’s the limit! I’ve received some FAB homemade cards created with card stock and photos of field, flowers, or fauna.

Tiny - December 11, 2014

Thanks for the tip Nancy! I have always just let my cards stay digital, but today went to buy some card stock. Will try it out for b-day cards next year 🙂

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

Digital cards with your photos to illustrate them would be great too, Tiny. Especially with your running commentary on what those birds are thinking.

16. Three Well Beings - December 11, 2014

Oh my gosh, so much more personal. I love receiving handmade cards and have been thinking that this coming year I might use some of my photos on card stock. I take all these photos and then what to do with them? I agree that purchased cards are just ridiculously priced. The foxy horse is very cool! I’m intrigued that your niece would like to own a fox one day…that’s right up there in the originality department! 🙂

nrhatch - December 11, 2014

Some/most foxes make very bad pets but there is one type that manages well in domestic situations. We’ll see if Sam-I-Am ends up with a Fox in Socks.

Several friends have sent me hand-written cards with a gorgeous photo they took on the cover. Some of them are framed and sitting around the villa. I’ve also made cards for nieces and nephews using photos of them as babies and toddlers in “compromising situations.”

17. NancyTex - December 14, 2014

Fantastic! (And so much better than store bought cards!) You’re creativity chakra is alive and well.

nrhatch - December 14, 2014

Sometimes I get “carried away” by that chakra . . . it took BFF 10 minutes to read and absorb the 30th Anniversary card. :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

