jump to navigation

Giving Thanks To Promote Giving December 4, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Humor, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

devious-hobbesMy e-mail box has been FLOODED with four types of messages this past week:

* Black Friday Sales Flyers
* Cyber Monday Sales Flyers
* Thanks Giving Thanksgiving Missives from Non-Profits
* “Giving Tuesday” pleas . . . please!

Black Friday Sales have overflowed the banks of traditional brick and mortar storefronts to infiltrate automobile advertisements, performing arts centers, and even the Smithsonian Museum.  Most are dispatched without whetting my appetite to Buy More.

The same goes for most of the Cyber Monday Sales Flyers.

That’s the great thing about cyber trash . . . No Residue.

Most Thanks Giving Missives received on Thanksgiving seem designed with manipulation in mind.

The-Pink-PantherAlma maters, non-profits, restaurants, charities, and businesses give thanks for past giving (encouraging us to bask in the glow of their “sincere” appreciation for past support) before asking us (in almost the same cyber breath) to reach into our piggy banks, wallets, and IRA’s to provide them with continued support.

Maybe it’s just me being cynical, but I tend to question the sincerity of Thanks given with a plea for me to Give More.

Especially when it’s followed up with “Giving Tuesday” pleas to “please give!”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  I Hate This Time of Year Rant (Crowing Crone Joss)

Comments»

1. valleygrail - December 4, 2014

Well, I vote for Give It Back Wednesday, because I have changed my mind, and no longer wish to have my money used by someone who spends it on advertising and begging instead of the work for which it was intended. I sound like the Grinch!

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

Bwahaha! I love it ~ “Give It Back Wednesday!”

Charities are now following a business model with non-profits set up with the aim of teaching other non-profits how to more profitably tug on our heart strings.

It brings out the S.C.R.O.O.G.E. (Society to Curtail Ridiculous Outrageous Ostentatious Gift/Giving Exchanges) in me.

2. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 4, 2014

My recycle bin has been working overtime this week, too!

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

The endless manipulation is mind boggling at times. I’ve added a link to Joss’s rant above.

3. Silver in the Barn - December 4, 2014

I just read CCJ’s awesome rant. I’m reminded of the George Carlin bit on Americans and our “stuff.” Oh, I could really go on and on myself, Nancy, discussing everything that we as a society have lost in this terrible affliction of consumerism. And then go look at the landfills filled with crap and the storage containers filled with more crap in a sort of Purgatory between the house and the landfill and the greedy, dissatisfied children…..stop me, I’m tipping over the edge here…..falalalalala

Crowing Crone - December 4, 2014

tipping over the edge…into sanity I say!

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

George Carlin’s bit on “stuff” is classic, Barbara. And so true!

The best investment of time I’ve ever made ~> reading Simplify Your Life by Elaine St. James. I read it in 1997 and gave copies to everyone that Christmas. She doesn’t just address the issue of accumulation and acquisition . . . she touches on all the ways we fill our lives with low priority stuff that sucks the life out of us.

Silver in the Barn - December 4, 2014

I’ll investigate immediately.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014
4. Jill Weatherholt - December 4, 2014

You’re not kidding, Nancy! Cyber Monday needs to be changed to Cyber Week because I continue to receive emails about deals for Cyber Monday and it’s Thursday! Make them STOP!

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

They are like the Energizer Bunny . . . they keep coming and coming and coming and coming. ACK! 😯

5. William D'Andrea - December 4, 2014

Back in August I received a message on facebook, from a woman who attends my Church. She was promoting the “Ice Bucket Challenge”, to raise money for ALS research. This was accompanied by a video, showing her and her friends getting bucket’s of ice water dumped on them.

I replied, “You girls don’t play nice, do you?” And continued, “No thank you. I’ll send an anonymous contribution instead.”

Comment edited to delete scriptural reference.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

I deleted your reference to the gospel of Matthew. If you prefer that I delete your comment in its entirety, let me know.

William D'Andrea - December 6, 2014

I don’t understand why you’re so always mean spirited about this. I never say anything critical when you express your beliefs. Would I be wrong to call you a “Bah-humbing, Scroog-ing Grinch”?

nrhatch - December 6, 2014

To the best of my knowledge, I have deleted only those portions of your comments that quoted lengthy biblical passages verbatim.

If you want to engage in bible quoting . . . I suggest you start your own blog.

William D'Andrea - December 6, 2014

Very well. Please pardon my grouchiness. I will nevertheless wish you a Merry Christmas, meaning that I hope you will enjoy December 25th, whether you like it or not.

nrhatch - December 6, 2014

We’ll enjoy the Winter Solstice too! 😎

William D'Andrea - December 6, 2014

If I did start a blog, I doubt you would read it.

nrhatch - December 6, 2014

I expect you’re right. I’m not in your “target audience.”

That said, there are a number of very merry Christian bloggers who might value your biblical references.

6. Val Boyko - December 4, 2014

I feel so much tension in my body and mind with all this consumerism bombardment! It isn’t good for mind, body and soul that’s for sure.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

I don’t feel any tension from it any more ~> for the past 17 years, I’ve bowed out of the Holiday Hoopla and maintained a calm, peace-filled awareness of the stuff that matters to me. (Hint: it’s not stuff). These days, I am mindfully aware of and immune to the marketing manipulation so prevalent at this time of year.

Fingers in the ears . . . FALALALALALALA! 😕

Val Boyko - December 4, 2014

I’m going around with fingers in my ears as well! Maybe I need blinkers and mufflers too. 😉

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

When we watch TV, we laugh out loud at the ads ~ especially the one saying that every woman wants CHOCOLATE DIAMONDS.

Not me! I want real C~H~O~C~O~L~A~T~E!

7. suzicate - December 4, 2014

Maybe it’s just me being cynical, but I tend to question the sincerity of Thanks given with a plea for me to Give More. -I totally agree!

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

And all the fundraisers seem to be following the same play book.

8. jannatwrites - December 4, 2014

I’m with you 100% on this. I’ve been deleting tons of emails for a couple weeks now. I don’t need the temptation to spend more money on stuff I don’t need, and I prefer to give on my time, in my own way, to whom I decide to assist. I try to keep it local because I don’t believe these big organizations handle their money as well as they could.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

Yes! I’m with you on that ~ as they become more focused on fundraising, their raison d’etre seems to take a back seat.

9. Behind the Story - December 5, 2014

I agree, the best thing about cyber trash is, there’s no residue.

I still get the Sunday newspaper, even though I keep threatening to stop. Maybe I’m sentimental about reading the newspaper on Sunday morning. But there’s so much paper to throw away. On Thanksgiving they send me a free newspaper–very fat and filled with Black Friday ads. Such a waste! I never open it.

nrhatch - December 5, 2014

After reading Simplify Your Life in 1997, we canceled the daily paper and got the weekend pack ~ Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Then we cut it to just the Sunday paper for the comics, coupons, circulars, etc. Even that became too much, so we stopped our subscription.

But BFF occasionally buys the Sunday paper . . . it gives him reading material for a week!

10. ericjbaker - December 7, 2014

These “Don’t Miss Out!” messages/threats from the retailers of the world carry little weight when you can set your watch by the “Deals extended one more day!” email that is sure to follow.

nrhatch - December 7, 2014

Exactly!

11. livelytwist - December 8, 2014

Am I bad person? I just delete without reading . . . 😦

nrhatch - December 8, 2014

You are a very, very bad person, Timi! 😛

Marketing manipulators went to great lengths to spin their web of lies and draw you in . . . and you stepped around their grasp as easy as kicking a pebble from your path. {{GASP}}

Go you!

livelytwist - December 8, 2014

Haha! 😉

12. joannevalentinesimson - December 9, 2014

I was SO glad when the political emails stopped. And now all THIS marketing!! I think I’ll just send my family money.

nrhatch - December 9, 2014

That’s what we send our nieces and nephews now . . . it’s a win-win for them and us.

We still do a little shopping for chocolate, wine, and other treats.


What Say YOU?

