jump to navigation

No Mailing Lists! December 3, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Humor, People.
trackback

devious-hobbesThe moment we stepped into the Sarasota Home and Garden Show, a travel company minion accosted us.

The spokesperson shoved an entry form and a pen into my hand.

“Fill this out for a chance to win a Lowe’s Gift Card.”

Donald-Duck-BaseballI glanced at the form and saw blanks for name, address, phone number, e-mail, birth date, income bracket, children, pets, requested last meal, etc.

I started to hand the form back.  Blank.

He pointed to signs all over the table:

NO MAILING LISTS.

I looked back at the form wondering why they wanted so much information if they didn’t plan to use it.

Evil QueenNoting my reticence, he said all they needed was my name, address, phone number, birth date, and signed consent so they could call me when we won.

I glanced down at the signed consent portion of the form and started reading.

He interrupted my endeavor to “interpret” the language for me.

The-Pink-PantherQuestions swirled through my mind:  Why would a travel company give away a Lowe’s Gift Card?

Why did they need so much information just to contact the winner?

Why was I still standing here talking to Barker Bob?

I placed the blank entry form and pen on the table and turned away, ignoring their continued pleas for me to Enter & Win.

Aah . . . that’s better! 

Someone asked about the falling snow.  To activate on your WordPress blog:

Dashboard ~> Settings ~> General . . . scroll down and click the box that says “Show falling snow on my blog until January 4th.”

Comments»

1. Cecelia Futch - December 3, 2014

Yay! You walked away. The older I get, the easier it becomes to just walk away from the “Barker Bob’s” of this world. And yes, life is better because of it. 🙂 Enjoyed the post.

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Hi Cecelia! Hope you’re enjoying the vista outside your window without piles of snow blocking your view.

Glad to see you back and blogging . . . and to see the progress you’ve made on changing your life landscape over the past 5 years.

2. Don - December 3, 2014

That’s the only way to deal with them, gracious and firm. 🙂

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Sometimes we cycle through a list of “Ways To Say No” before they tune in and listen:

“Thanks, but no.”
“No thanks.”
“Not my cup of tea.”

“Sorry, but no.”
“No. Sorry.”

“What part of NO do you not understand?” 😕

3. suzicate - December 3, 2014

That’s exactly why I don’t enter those contests…they ask too much personal information. There have been times I’ve given info like this out and within the week I am flooded with “offers”. And once, a relative gave out my cell number to one of those “time share” places, and I had a time getting my number off that listing!
Good for you…sometimes it’s best to just walk away!

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Before the internet, giving out my name, address, and phone number for a contest didn’t seem like a big deal. But with all the information people can harvest from the WWW (with very limited “ammo”), I’m more reticent about sharing any info at all.

4. Jill Weatherholt - December 3, 2014

Good for you for walking away, Nancy. Unfortunately many people freely give out information because they think they might get something for free. Thanks for the snow falling instructions…I was wondering about that! 🙂

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

I am more circumspect about sharing information that doesn’t seem pertinent ~ in this case, the form was Extensive and Barker Bob was In-Your-Face Annoying. It made it easy to wander off and allow myself to be swallowed up by the crowd.

I love having snow falling on SLTW, especially since it’s the only snow I’ve encountered since moving to Florida. 😎

5. Silver in the Barn - December 3, 2014

I feel the same way when asked to give my email and phone number during check-out in a store. No, thank you, just ring up my purchase please. Cool about the snow!!

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

If I’m focused when they ask at the check out for my e-mail, I say, “no thanks.” If I’m distracted by all the shiny trinkets in the store, I sometimes slip up and give it out.

And . . . then . . . the . . . store . . . bombards . . . me . . . with . . . sales . . . flyers . . . until . . . I . . . scroll . . . down . . . and . . . click . . . UNSUBSCRIBE.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Silver in the Barn - December 3, 2014

I spent some time the first week of the new year unsubscribing from all of them and it was been GREAT. Occasionally one will slip through but, all in all, my email is under my control once again.

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

It’s an avalanche . . . . until we press PAUSE!

6. livelytwist - December 3, 2014

“Why did they need so much information just to contact the winner?”
Good question. Don’t they get it? But I guess he was just doing his job.

Sometimes I need a service that requires an email address. I opened an email account for just this purpose!

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

We do have a 2nd e-mail address . . . but I often forget to check it for WEEKS at a time. Hope I never miss winning $$$’s due to my delay. 😛

7. valleygrail - December 3, 2014

Well done! You would think one NO would do it, wouldn’t you?

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

As we wandered through the show, we were offered chances to win Home Security Systems, Cruises, Trips to Timbuktu, etc.

We said “Thanks, but no” each time. And all of them accepted “no thanks” as an acceptable response . . . except for Barker Bob who had stationed his team at the entrance to grab folks before they stiffened their resolve. :mrgreen:

valleygrail - December 3, 2014

I like the snow!

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Snow does create ambiance and atmosphere!

8. katecrimmins - December 3, 2014

My husband and I stopped going to home shows for the same reason. Walking down the aisle was like walking through a very aggressive carnival. Everyone wanted to hook you. There was a bathtub refinisher who wouldn’t accept, “but we have a brand new house.” He had ideas on how he could make it look newer. Really?

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Yes!

Everyone wants a bathroom remodel, right?
Even if they’ve just moved in.
Surely something is out of whack and not quite right?

Didn’t you get the memo, Kate?
Americans are never satisfied with the status quo! 😛

katecrimmins - December 3, 2014

Maybe it’s age or maybe I never was into that but I never was into that. I do like to do house projects to make things more efficient or comfortable but I’m not neurotic about it.

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Same here. You will gasp at this admission, but . . . we have NEVER had a house with double sinks in the master bath.

{{GASP}}

And we have NEVER had stainless steel appliances or granite countertops in the kitchen.

{{DOUBLE GASP}}

And, get this, we have had visitors who did NOT run screaming when they saw how far out of the HGTV loop we are. 😛

9. Grannymar - December 3, 2014

Every till receipt I get these days offers me a chance to win a £1,000 by going to their website and telling them every little detail about my life. I often wonder how many suckers fall for that trick? They harvest the info and sell it on. No I do not take part.

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Smart thinking, GM. It’s a bit scary thinking about all the info floating around about us out there.

Grannymar - December 3, 2014

It sure does, Nancy, thankfully I have nothing to hide.

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

As long as no one steals my identity.

10. JOriginal Muse - December 3, 2014

How about suggesting a trade ~ their personal information in exchange for yours…? That might throw them from “bark” mode into “bite”… Just do it for the special effects… Muah-ha-ha 🙂

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

Thanks for the giggle, Joanne. That might just work!

Seinfeld did a bit once along those lines when a telemarketer called during dinner ~ “Give me your home phone number and I’ll call you back later.”

11. Eric Tonningsen - December 3, 2014

“Turned away.” Bravo and prudent!

nrhatch - December 3, 2014

With them barking behind me . . . “you cannot win if you do not play.” 😕

12. Behind the Story - December 3, 2014

Years ago, when we moved back from having lived overseas in countries that didn’t yet know all those tricks, we were easy marks. But only for a brief time.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

It pays to learn the tricks of the trade so that the “tricky rabbits” no longer have the ability to manipulate us.

13. jannatwrites - December 4, 2014

I always avoid those entries. The chance to win “whatever” isn’t worth the harassment that inevitably comes.

nrhatch - December 4, 2014

I didn’t always avoid them . . . but the more info they request, the less likely they are to get any.

We did enter a raffle by the Historic Society in Cherry Hill once ~ and we won a weekend at Ever May On the Delaware, an adorable bed and breakfast. That was fun.

14. ericjbaker - December 7, 2014

You missed your opportunity to write “Lily Munster, 1313 Mockingbird Lane, Hollyweird”

Imagine if she would have won! The gift card could have bought supplies to build a new pen for Spot.

nrhatch - December 7, 2014

Oh, man . . . where is Time Travel when you need it! I am so ready to go back there and WIN as Lily Munster!

Not for me . . . for SPOT!


What Say YOU?

