jump to navigation

Happy Holidaze! November 28, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Less IS More, Poetry.
trackback
santa on the beach

How Santa spends Black Friday

The call of the mall
lures us to traffic jams.  Cheer
fades as tempers flare.

Red ribbons flying.
Sales set records.  Merchants grin
at crowded check-outs.

Street corner Santas
ring bells & flash Grinchy smiles.
Shoppers hurry home.

Boxes stacked, bags stashed.
“Bargain loot” labeled and tagged.
Happy Holidaze!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Xmas-CatMark Downs . . . and Mark Ups:

A few days ago, I looked at an on-line product selling for $6.29.  To get free shipping, I needed to place a $50 order.

I opted to wait.

The next day, the store advertised 30% off EVERYTHING and free shipping with a $30 order.  I went back to the item that had been selling for $6.29.

It’s new price?  $8.99 . . . or $6.29 after the 30% discount!

I opted to unsubscribe from that store’s marketing manipulation.

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - November 28, 2014

I’d rather pay full price than deal with the craziness of Black Friday. Typically when I drive home from my parents on Thanksgiving night, the roads are deserted. Last night it was like rush hour since stores were opening at 6:00 p.m. It was sad. Enjoy your day, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

We drove up and back to Tampa with no real issues . . . and now we’re hunkered down at home. Happy not to be out shopping.

There isn’t anything we NEED badly enough to deal with the crazies out there on Black Friday.

2. Val Boyko - November 28, 2014

My blood pressure is rising just at the thought of it all! I’m off to teach yoga … assuming some folks aren’t at Wall Mart 😉
Have a lovely day after. Nancy!

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

Have a great day, Val. Since we don’t buy into the notion that we must BUY, BUY, BUY in order to prove we care about our kith, kin, and country . . . we are happily relaxing AT HOME today.

3. valleygrail - November 28, 2014

Combat shopping not for me! The funny thing is all that stuff will be on sale all weekend.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

The sales are not enticing enough for me to venture out today. It’s good to be home.

4. Don - November 28, 2014

Watched the news this afternoon and saw some Black Friday scenes in London and elsewhere in England. Terrible! People turn in to monsters. We’re slowly catching the fever and it gets worse every year. Loved the poem and the crazy math sum.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

It’s a nasty business. Happy to be HOME.

5. NancyTex - November 28, 2014

Last Saturday (6 days BEFORE Black Friday) I got the deal of a lifetime at DSW Shoes: A pair of Doc Martens boots regular $129.99 were 70% off ($38.99). I had a $20 coupon as well, so in total I left the store with those boots, a great pair of leggings (also 70% off) and some funky boot socks for the sum total of $34.29.

We ventured out after TG dinner last night, more for the walk/exercise than the shopping, to the Premium Outlets mall off the strip. It wasn’t nearly as crowded as I thought it would be (actually, no different to most nights I’ve been out there). I didn’t really see any great deals, but I did manage to pick up one Xmas gift for my son’s girlfriend. Coach was having their usual crazy sales (it didn’t seem to be better than the usual Coach outlet sale situation) – but still a great deal (purse reg price $299; in store price $149 plus 50% discount = $74.50…I’ll take it!).

Today I am working 6am to 2pm (east coast hours) because I’m part of the Canadian subsidiary and it’s not a holiday for us. 🙂 As soon as I’m done, I’m heading back to the mountains for one final hike! (Heading home tomorrow at noon.) Will I go shopping tonight? Probably. But that’s only because I don’t have the option to shop after the Black Friday nonsense, as I’ll be back in Toronto. Still, wouldn’t trade hiking for shopping time, even if it means missing out on some bargains.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

You’re a smart shopper and a terrific trekker! Enjoy your final hike before heading home tomorrow. Grand vistas await.

NancyTex - November 28, 2014

Watching the clock as I type. I may work straight through lunch (well, I do most days…) and actually leave an hour early. Sun sets so darned early here.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

Winter days are always too short on daylight . . . I miss seeing the sun until 9 pm.

6. Grannymar - November 28, 2014

That madness seems to have reached our stores in Ireland and the UK. Police have been called to supermarkets across the UK amid crowd surges as people hunt for “Black Friday” offers. Christmas has become a Greedfest, and I want none of it.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

The compulsion to shop for stuff we don’t need (with money we don’t have) to impress people we don’t like is a form of mental illness.

Grannymar - November 28, 2014

I solved it by announcing to family and friends, that their presents from me, were a donation to charity. That donation included the cost of cards, stamps, presents and gift wrap.. My siblings seemed relieved and some have followed my example.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

We don’t exchange many gifts these days ~ it’s a great way to avoid the madhouse.

7. Barb - November 28, 2014

Don’t blame you for unsubscribing from that store, I would have done the same. We don’t have Black Friday here in Oz, and I’m glad we don’t when I see what happens in other countries – some people are crazy! The stores can keep their ‘sales’, I would want no part of it.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

We scaled WAY BACK on gift after reading Simplify Your Life in 1997. We also scaled back on Holiday decorating, Holiday baking, Holiday hoopla, and Holiday stress.

Other than buying a few token gifts (mostly consumables), we ignore the BUY MORE messages.

Barb - November 28, 2014

I scaled back on all that hullaballoo years ago too Nancy – best thing we ever did.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

I agree, Barb. Downsizing, simplifying, and clearing clutter have paid great dividends in terms of having time, energy, and $’s for things that matter.

8. Pix Under the Oaks - November 28, 2014

No shopping on Thanksgiving or the day after Thanksgiving or Thanksgiving weekend. I am not a shopper!

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

Same here, Pix. We have a couple of “big ticket” items to buy ~ since we gave our sofa and loveseat to our niece ~ but no rush.

If we’re lucky, maybe Santa will bring us something to sit on. 😛

9. Tiny - November 28, 2014

A great poem! I stayed indoors today…going anywhere near shopping places earliest on Monday 🙂

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

Same here, Tiny. We avoid the mall on all but the rarest occasions. Most of our shopping is for essentials ~ like groceries . . . and chocolate.

10. Hariod Brawn - November 29, 2014

Ah, marketing departments – the scourge of the world! Bill Hicks wasn’t so very far off the mark on that.

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

When we’re mindful, marketers lose their power to manipulate us. We just need to know when we need to say NO.

Hariod Brawn - November 29, 2014

Well, there’s an awful lot of “no” saying we’re asked to do these days Nancy; so I just stay silent instead.

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

Makes sense. There is little need to say NO to them . . . the path to simplicity is an inner journey. In time, we recognize the difference between what we need and what Ego wants (due to its incessant desire to impress others).

Hariod Brawn - November 29, 2014

Never take your ego shopping; it gets far too expensive!

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

Haha! Good one, Hariod. Ego believes in conspicuous consumption ~ often desiring to impress people he doesn’t like with money he doesn’t have.

Much like the Queen of Versailles, which is an eye-popping example of narcissistic consumerism gone wrong:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/want-to-feel-good-about-your-life/

11. jannatwrites - November 29, 2014

The price games can be annoying. I didn’t go out for Black Friday (there aren’t many stores around here, and I didn’t need anything.) We did go to the park, though 🙂

nrhatch - November 30, 2014

Good for you! Great way to spend Black Friday. Marketing manipulation is so tedious. If we had a more cooperative and less competitive society, we could just lay our cards on the table and reach a fair price for the exchange of goods and services . . . knowing that everyone was looking for a win-win.

12. beeblu - December 5, 2014

Santa’s got the right idea – avoid the shops at all costs – contemplate the ocean instead (if you can find space on the beach at this time of the year 🙂 )

nrhatch - December 5, 2014

The “main beach” is well populated at this time of year, but there are 7 miles of beaches on AMI and most have more birds than people.


What Say YOU?

