jump to navigation

Thanksgiving Grace November 27, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, People.
trackback

200px-March-hareLord, as you know
We’ve been trying of late
To stick to our diets
To lose some weight

On this day of Thanksgiving
Please turn a blind eye
As we inhale stuffing
And two slices of pie

We promise if you
Will look the other way
We’ll resume our diets
On Black Friday!

Aah . . . men!

For those of you in the States, may your Thanksgiving be full of grace.
Eat, drink, and be merry . . . for tomorrow we die-t!

Gobble. ย Gobble.

Related post: ย But I Don’t WANNA Be An Onion!

Comments»

1. Don - November 27, 2014

Lol – classic parting sentence Nancy. Eat and celebrate well. Not sure about the day Do I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving day. If so, there you are, have a good one.

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, Don. We do wish each other a Happy Thanksgiving.

Instead of a mumbled “good morning” and half-hearted nod, we S~M~I~L~E as we issue forth a hearty “Happy Thanksgiving!”

2. Jill Weatherholt - November 27, 2014

Love it! Happy Thanksgiving, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

You too, Jill! We spent the day cooking yesterday ~ with ample sampling . . . for “quality control purposes.” :mrgreen:

Jill Weatherholt - November 27, 2014

I hope there will be pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Not a one ~> my camera sat idle while we got down to the business of eating.

3. Pix Under the Oaks - November 27, 2014

Happy Thanksgiving you two!!!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

You two, too!

4. Val Boyko - November 27, 2014

Happy Thanksgiving Nancy!!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, Val. Just back from dinner at our nieces. Great food and ample gratitude. Plus lots of laughter.

Hope your day has been filled with HAPPY.

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 27, 2014

Love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, Kate. We didn’t manage to get a walk in today ~ I’ll have to double up tomorrow.

6. JOriginal Muse - November 27, 2014

Wishing you and BFF another Thanksgiving Day filled with the richness from the earth… As you are a vegetarian, may your spread be colorfully abundant and steal the attention away from the poor turkey (if he’s on the table of where you are) who never asked to be the center of attention, anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰ Uh, oh… did I just say that…? May you eat in peace ๐Ÿ™‚ Now, I must go and prepare my own feast to bring to the table where another turkey bit the dust ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, Joanne. No turkey at our table ~ there were 6 of us in attendance and all are vegan or vegetarian. But we did have plenty to eat, drink, and laugh about.

Hope you had a peaceful feast!

7. livelytwist - November 27, 2014

Happy thanksgiving! Tomorrow, we diet XD

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, Timi. Tomorrow . . . I shall NOT get on the scale. I’ll wait until Saturday.

8. NancyTex - November 27, 2014

Over indulgence in food today and then over indulgence in retail tomorrow. God bless America. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Meant to ask, NH, what’s on the menu for TG day as a vegetarian? Would love to hear your food plans for today!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

The menu is pretty traditional ~ all the sides and desserts, but no turkey.

We had: stuffing (2 kinds), mashed potatoes, vegetarian gravy, sweet potatoes (2 kinds), a nut loaf, green beans, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, chocolate chip cookies, fudge, apple cider, and wine.

Yes. We are STUFFED with stuffing! And it was G~O~O~D.

NancyTex - November 27, 2014

Sounds great!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

And nobody had to be wheeled out of there! ๐Ÿ˜›

9. Grannymar - November 27, 2014

Happy Thanksgiving Nancy, I am thankful for your friendship!

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

Thanks, GM! I feel the same about you. I’ve especially enjoyed watching you create Hour House from inception to fruition.

I almost feel I could check in and stay there.

Grannymar - November 28, 2014

Thank you, Nancy, I am thinking about a final episode for next Friday. It has been an interesting experiment.

nrhatch - November 28, 2014

I’ve enjoyed following along the detail you’ve put in to creating a “new world.”

10. jannatwrites - November 27, 2014

Haha, too funny! However, I’ll be eating lots of leftovers for the next few days, so I’ll commit to being good by Cyber Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 27, 2014

We took most of the food we fixed to my niece’s and left the leftovers with her, including the cookies. My sister brought the pies and they went home with her.

We do have some stuffing though! :mrgreen:

11. Tiny - November 28, 2014

Did he? Look away…I had the same prayer, although your poem is much nicer, and I ate three pieces of pie, with whipped cream on top. I’m sure I’ll not be forgiven, but you might!

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

How can someone so Tiny handle 3 pieces of pie?! ๐Ÿ˜›

Tiny - November 29, 2014

It was like a miracle on Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

That’s it! My 18 year old niece eats like a lumberjack and looks like a hummingbird. If it doesn’t catch up with her someday it will be the miracle of miracles ๐Ÿ˜•

12. Yolanda M. - November 30, 2014

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and that you still have some pie left Nancy ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - November 30, 2014

Thanks, Yolanda. My sister brought the pies ~ pumpkin and pecan. We let her take home the leftovers.

But we have a cheesecake and some chocolate mud pie in the freezer to enjoy once we’ve burned off all the “extra” calories from Thanksgiving. ๐Ÿ˜›

Yolanda M. - November 30, 2014

I had to a buy a ‘Large’ sweater over the weekend because of the pie eating ๐Ÿ˜ฆ my first one ever! so I’m with you Nancy. I have to rev up (and change up) my exercise plan this month.

nrhatch - November 30, 2014

We’ve focused on walking a bit more to alleviate “bloat.” Good luck!

13. Three Well Beings - December 1, 2014

Oh but if it had just been two slices of pie! Tomorrow–Monday–it’s ALL overโ€ฆback to sensible eating. I’ve been on quite a binge. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - December 1, 2014

We planned it well this year. My sister brought the pies and took the leftovers home. My niece hosted the dinner and we left our leftovers with her. So we only stuffed ourselves with stuffing (and pie) once.

Of course, the Holiday Season is still young. :mrgreen:


What Say YOU?

