jump to navigation

Marvelous Benches & Whimsical Chairs November 24, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Home & Garden, Humor, Mindfulness.
trackback

While at Mixon Fruit Farms, we stumbled across some marvelous benches.

2014-11-15 13-24-43_0023

Natural.

2014-11-15 13-25-06_0025

Unadorned.

2014-11-15 13-25-35_0028

They brought to mind other marvelous benches and whimsical chairs.

2014-10-05 15-31-07_0034

Not natural.

IMGP2754b

Or unadorned.

IMGP2814

But fun.

IMGP1918

Each designed to encourage us to press the pause button and relax.

IMGP1344

C’mon . . . pull up a dolphin and set a spell.

IMGP3523b

Aah . . . that’s better.

 

Comments»

1. suzicate - November 24, 2014

You came across some really cool “sits”!

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Some are so enticing . . . like that dolphin. I didn’t need to sit, but I had to try out that seat. ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Jill Weatherholt - November 24, 2014

Looks like you had fun trying out all of benches, Nancy. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the driftwood style.

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

The driftwood style would be my choice as a “permanent” addition to my garden (if I had a garden). The novelty of the others would fade.

Except maybe the dolphin. I might make room for Flipper! Or maybe I could get him in an office chair edition? ๐Ÿ˜•

3. Silver in the Barn - November 24, 2014

I’d love any of those top three for my garden. Some people just the eye for seeing the potential in things I’d walk right past!

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

They would look great in your garden.

I know what you mean. Some see the statue in the rock before sculpting begins. Others see the bench in the log.

4. Pix Under the Oaks - November 24, 2014

We love our sittin’ places on The Tiny Ten so I find your bench photos lots of fun! Love the driftwood.

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Hope your sittin’ places aren’t in hibernation for too long, Pix.

My favorite chair for outdoors is an Adirondack with WIDE arms for beverages and cocktail snacks. Or a hammock. And a book.

5. William D'Andrea - November 24, 2014

Here’s something I’m wondering, about those driftwood benches. Could sitting on one of them lead to splinters?

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Perhaps. ๐Ÿ˜•

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 24, 2014

I don’t think I would ever get tired of sitting in randomly fun seats! I don’t want a novelty one for myself, but I always sit in them when we are out! you are right, it’s a great way to press the pause button in our life!

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

One novelty seat I’d love to have in our lanai is a swinging chair that twirls around . . . whee!

7. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - November 24, 2014

Delightfully fun post!

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed.

8. Eric Tonningsen - November 24, 2014

“Fun” definitely looks so! I have two coffee tables that are in a similar vein (one burlwood, the other PNW driftwood). In addition to their being unique(ly odd), they both have sentimental value, which for me means fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Yes! Furniture with sentimental value is great ~ antiques, family heirlooms, hand-crafted items. Your coffee tables sound FAB.

9. thecontentedcrafter - November 24, 2014

The third ‘all natural’ bench seat took my eye – I used to have one a little like that. Time and weather eventually eroded it’s usefulness as a seat ๐Ÿ™‚ They are all fun – except, I think, for the multi coloured monster footed one, which someone went to a lot of trouble to paint …….. You look at home on the dolphin!

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

I think that multi-colored monster footed one would be great in a nursery or child’s play room. It’s where I would sit to read Dr. Seuss.

The dolphin was great ~ perched in a park in Naples, FL.

10. livelytwist - November 24, 2014

What a feast for me eyes. I liked them all, but the zebra(?) made me smile the most.

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

That zebra resides at the Rain Forest Cafe in Orlando . . . next to some other whimsical stools.

11. Grannymar - November 24, 2014

I have seen some benches similar to the first ones. They are formed from the roots of teak trees that are hundreds of years old, and found in teak plantations in Java Indonesia. Teak root was originally considered as waste. But now with skill and creative hands of Indonesian teak furniture makers, the teak root become a piece of strong and unique furniture. When first complete, they have rich patterning and colours, but left outdoors, they bleach from the weather.

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

Thanks, GM! Appreciate the history of those benches. I didn’t think to ask if they were local products or from farther afield.

Grannymar - November 24, 2014

Try an image search, the shapes are amazing.

nrhatch - November 24, 2014

I just did . . . quite an eclectic collection. Thanks!

12. NancyTex - November 24, 2014

How fun!

nrhatch - November 25, 2014

I’m guessing you don’t have much time to kick back and relax these days, NT. Hope you’re maintaining balance. Cheers!

NancyTex - November 25, 2014

Ugh…feels like I’m barely treading water these days. But…I have managed to hike 3 times in 4 days, with plans to make it 4 hikes in 5 days in about an hour. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s helping me stay sane.

nrhatch - November 25, 2014

That’s great, NT. Keep breathing!

13. Behind the Story - November 25, 2014

I love them all. My favorite is the first one, or maybe the zebra, or the crazy one with pink feet, or the turtle …

nrhatch - November 25, 2014

You sound like me, Nicki. Decisive! ๐Ÿ˜‰

14. jannatwrites - November 25, 2014

Those are some cool chairs! I like how what would seem to be just pieces of dead wood were fashioned into something useful and aesthetically pleasing. Of course, I can’t resist the splashes of color in some of those… I love bright colors ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 25, 2014

Me too! I like soothing zen colors with BIG BOLD SPLASHES of unexpected color that POPS!

15. Tokeloshe - November 26, 2014

What a lovely theme, my favorite photo is of you on the turtle and the dolphin.

nrhatch - November 26, 2014

Thanks, Tok. Seeing the benches at Mixon’s made me reflect on how many other seats I’ve snapped. I wonder if that’s because the idea of sitting is so appealing to those of advancing years. ๐Ÿ˜›

16. beeblu - November 29, 2014

I do like the Dr Seuss-like throne. Very funky.

nrhatch - November 29, 2014

It’s got PERSONALITY!

17. Yolanda M. - November 30, 2014

LOL great benches and chairs Nancy! I like the tortoise and the driftwood benches.

nrhatch - November 30, 2014

That tortoise lives at Philippi On The Creek restaurant. A very accommodating seat.

18. Three Well Beings - December 1, 2014

The whimsical benches are great fun, but I really love the natural ones found at Mixon Fruit Farms. Very appealing. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - December 1, 2014

Agreed. The others are fun but if I wanted a bench for my garden, I’d go natural.


What Say YOU?

