jump to navigation

Lizard Mania November 18, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Humor, Nature.
trackback

IMGP3570A few nights ago, we spent 20 minutes catching a lizard in the lanai.

BFF reached up to the ceiling and “almost” got it in the bucket first try.

It escaped, raced around the room, and hid under the corner bookcase.

We had to take everything off the shelves, lay the bookcase down on its side, and . . .

“Got it!”

Almost.

We chased it around the room a few more times. Β At last, BFF caught the lizard for real, took it outside and released it.

Yay!

During Lizard Mania, Tigger sat on the other side of the sliding glass doors flicking his tail and yowling to be allowed to join the hunt.

Tigger is better at catching lizards than we are, but they aren’t good for him. So we muddle along the best we can so he doesn’t have to do the dirty work.

IMGP3197b

We’re not convinced that he appreciates our consideration.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Don - November 18, 2014

We have them coming in to our place as well. We kind of live with them. Everybody here does. Sounds a bit crazy. A friend of ours also has a cat who used to catch them but would puke all over the floor after having done so. She stops her now from catching them.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Tigger has caught his fair share lizards outside on the deck. He has a catch and release policy and hasn’t had many intestinal issues as a result of his hunting efforts.

He did get very sick once after catching a lizard~ the vet said some lizards have salmonella on their skin which causes tummy problems. Tigger needed an anti-biotic to counteract the toxins.

We want to avoid a repeat of that messy business. So we encourage lizards to stay outside.

2. artistinsa - November 18, 2014

We get Geckos in our home – we leave them as they catch the mosquitos! Sometimes the cat manages to catch one, but they just shed their tails and escape.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Tigger caught a glow-in-the-dark lizard once. It shed its still glowing tail which whipped back and forth on the deck for quite some time. I watched in horrified fascination. πŸ˜•

3. suzicate - November 18, 2014

Cat’s are such good hunters…I know Tigger wanted to help. A bat got into our house once and we had a hard time getting it but the cat corned it under the sofa and we were finally able to safely catch and release.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Tigger was quite put out with us for excluding him from the hunt ~ he was not impressed with our fumbling and mumbling.

Your cat cornering that bat is impressive. Bats belong outside!

4. Silver in the Barn - November 18, 2014

Max would have gone berserk! The prey instinct is so strong in these cute little furballs of ours that we cannot help but realize – hey!- he really is an animal after all!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Exactly! They’re not stuffed animals focused solely on cuddles and love. They are mini-beasts with instincts causing tails to quiver.

5. Pix Under the Oaks - November 18, 2014

Now that would have been fun to watch.. πŸ˜€ We had a cat named Spanky that used to.. nah, not a good story for breakfast time. But let me tell you, she perfected her lizard hunting skills when we lived in Alabama.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

If I hadn’t been involved in the hunt, I would have enjoyed sitting on the far side of the looking glass with some popcorn.

That lizard was FAST.
BFF and I were SLOW.
Tigger was ANNOYED.

Maybe you’ll share the tail/tale of Spanky and her lizard hunting skills one day . . . AFTER breakfast.

Pix Under the Oaks - November 18, 2014

Yes.. πŸ™‚

6. Jill Weatherholt - November 18, 2014

I’ll never forget being greeted by a Gecko in our master bathroom. By my reaction, you would have thought it was a lion. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

I would be the same . . . especially if I was not fully dressed.

Most lizards we’ve caught inside hang out near the ceiling which makes them harder to catch, but less likely to get stepped on. A few others have been found near the door on the floor. None have snuck up on me. If I found one sitting on the throne, or in the shower with me, or up on the bathroom counter, I would make myself heard. πŸ˜›

Jill Weatherholt - November 18, 2014

My little guy was front and center in the middle of the floor looking at me like I had interrupted him. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Yes! You’ve described the Lizard Look to perfection. “Excuse me . . . this space is occupado!”

7. Crowing Crone - November 18, 2014

Tigger was likely shaking his head at all your “fumbling”. Geez, he woulda had that sucker caught in a heartbeat. What humans don’t know about catching prey! Taking care of business – lizard catching – cat protecting – can be a full time job some days!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Yes! He would have caught that lizard in two shakes of his tail. I fear he views us as terribly inept! πŸ˜›

Crowing Crone - November 18, 2014

it’s why cats rule!!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Exactly!

8. ericjbaker - November 18, 2014

My brother and I grew up sharing our bedroom with an iguana (he was free range… no aquarium), so if I saw a lizard running aorund the apartment, I’d probably just adopt it.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Did your iguana want to curl up in bed with you when the temps dropped? I do NOT want to share the bed with a reptile. πŸ˜•

ericjbaker - November 18, 2014

He (she? I can’t tell the difference with reptiles) would sit on the bed, but I wouldn’t exactly describe him as the cuddly type.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

They are not pets that need much petting.

9. jannatwrites - November 18, 2014

Luckily, my older son is great at catching lizards (so is one of our cats, but those are always minus tails by the time we get to them.) Glad you finally caught it. I bet it was terrified!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

My niece is terrific at catching them. But she’s never around when I need her. And, yes, I’m sure it was terrified to have two giants chasing it around.

Once we released it outside, it “happily” raced away. Tail intact.

10. livelytwist - November 18, 2014

What an adventure! Running, weight lifting, you both must have also done some squats and dead lifts πŸ™‚ Cheaper than my gym too πŸ™‚

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

What a great way to view our endeavor, Timi! I shall mark it on the calendar as a completed exercise routine.

11. Eric Tonningsen - November 18, 2014

In the desert we have little gecko’s. All I need to do is say the word “gecko” and point in any direction and they’re off to the hunt. They don’t seem to be of the delicacy order, however,as they (the hounds) usually leave remnants scattered.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Dismembered reptiles are NOT something I would like to encounter in the dark . . . with bare feet. πŸ˜›

12. Barb - November 18, 2014

Tigger was most likely ‘tut-tutting’ at you under his breath and wishing you would let him in and he would have caught the lizard in a flash! But you don’t want a repeat of the time he got sick from one; so I guess it’s up to BFF to catch it!
We have geckos in the house but leave them alone because they catch mosquitoes and other flying insects that manage to get through the screens.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

We have some annoying mosquito-like insects buzzing around the deck, but the lizards seem to ignore them. Especially when they show up in record numbers. Maybe they taste bad? πŸ˜•

When the bugs sneak into the house, we vacuum them up.

13. Yolanda M. - November 18, 2014

No lizards or geckos up here (too temperate or cold, I imagine) but we had to live with them in Africa of course and we didn’t mind them because they eat some nasty insects πŸ˜€ A favourite game of ours as children (proof of how terrible we were) was to hold them down until they released their tails. Poor Tigger he lost out on an hour or two of fun!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Oh you horrible horrible children! πŸ˜›

That sounds like a game that Tigger might like to play!

14. brickhousechick - November 18, 2014

Ha,ha! Poor Tigger! We have them in Puerto Rico and they always sneak inside. One night my sister and I had gone to bed when suddenly I hear my sister yell. She turned the lights on and claimed that something had crawled on top of her on the bed. I told her it was her imagination until I saw the lizard heading my way. Ahhh! It took a while to capture this one, too. At least they are better than the iguanas!

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

And THAT is why we don’t like lizards running around the house, especially when we’re trying to sleep! Having reptiles in bed with me is NOT a cozy thought.

Thanks for a great share, Maria.

15. Patricia - November 18, 2014

I lived in an apartment that had chameleons in the garden. They would sun on my door and when I opened the door they would drop in for a visit. Dolly loved it. I was not too fond of finding headless lizards in the bathtub which is where she liked to dine on them…heads and tails only.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

I can see Dolly now . . . dragging her prey up and over the edge of the tub where . . . EEK!

16. diannegray - November 19, 2014

I could imagine Tigger watching the entire scenario and wishing to join in! We get small lizards on the walls in the house, but I find if i leave the lights off they’re not as likely to come in to find insects. But I guess we can’t live in the dark forever πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - November 19, 2014

We don’t get them all that often . . . but we evict them as soon as we’re able. Tigger had a great time twitching his tail at us.

17. NancyTex - November 19, 2014

I’m betting the lizards are pretty darned grateful that you don’t let Tigger in on the hunt. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - November 19, 2014

You’re right! The lizards are NOT enjoying this cold snap we’re having ~ they’re hibernating somewhere until it warms up.

18. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 20, 2014

hahahahaha! He is not happy that you caught the lizard instead of him!!

nrhatch - November 20, 2014

You got that right, Kate. He likes to catch them because after we tell him what a great hunter he is . . . he gets a treat!

19. Three Well Beings - November 20, 2014

Even our dog tries to get these critters. She caught a mouse and was playing with it the other day while I jumped around shrieking, looking ridiculous!

nrhatch - November 20, 2014

I’m amazed at the speed of our pets and their lack of squeamishness! πŸ˜›

Even if I was fast enough to catch a mouse, I’d probably pass.


What Say YOU?

