jump to navigation

The Royal Flush November 17, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

zen stonesWhen people blithely say, “Everything happens for a reason,” I don’t necessarily agree.

That said, more often than not, when I look back at “negative” events, I see that some good comes out of almost everything. That makes it easier to deal with the next curve ball or senseless happening.

Hand-rolling-diceOther times, I just shrug my shoulders when asked, “What’s the point?”

Because maybe there is No Point.  Maybe it’s just a crap shoot and it’s up to us to make the most of the cards we’ve been dealt or the next roll of the dice.

Yup, maybe it’s all a crap shoot, and some just get The Royal Flush.

Aah . . . that’s better!

“Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” ~ Forest Gump

Related posts:  When Life Goes Awry

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - November 17, 2014

Both you and Forest are so wise, Nancy. Love the photograph…too funny!

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Thanks, Jill! It pays to keep our sense of humor locked and loaded . . . we never know when we’re gonna need it.

2. Silver in the Barn - November 17, 2014

I’ve typed and re-typed responses to this comment and can’t articulate what I want to say. Hits too close to home for me, Nancy. Suffice to say that I’ve rejected this saying as utter poppycock (for lack of a better word…it is too early in the morning to start slinging around what I really want to say!) after living through the destruction of my daughter’s health. Try telling her that everything happens for a reason. I need to stop now…..
Oh, and I love the elephant. LOL!

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

While I did not write this with your daughter in mind, her situation reinforces the “crap shoot” nature of life.

Poppycock is a good word to use . . . at least while we’re waking up.

ericjbaker - November 17, 2014

It’s usually said by someone who hasn’t endured heartbreak and agony.

Silver in the Barn - November 17, 2014

With a smug air of certainty.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Yes. And yes.

3. Crowing Crone - November 17, 2014

That’s one of those sayings that are spoken along with a pat on the head and a “I really don’t want to know or feel your troubles” thought behind them. At least that’s how it’s always felt to me. I prefer a gentle hug and the words “I love you”.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Agreed. We do learn from hardship and adversity, but I think it’s what we add to the mix that bears the fruit.

4. momentswithmillie - November 17, 2014

Beautifully written.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Thanks, Millie.

5. Pix Under the Oaks - November 17, 2014

It’s definitely a crap shoot!

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Some of the cards, anyway. Much of life just happens.

6. ericjbaker - November 17, 2014

I’m with you on this, Nancy, like I often am with your thoughts and insights. Rationalizing painful events by trusting a complex supernatural plan seems less healthy than simply recognizing we are moral beings in an amoral universe who are sometimes in the wrong place at the wrong time. No need to blame or justify.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Sometimes #$%^ just happens. And we can either roll with the punches or collapse into a pool of tears.

If there is a supernatural being who gives kids brain tumors as part of a complex master plan, I want no part of it.

ericjbaker - November 17, 2014

Word.

7. Grannymar - November 17, 2014

This post makes me think of Randy Pausch’s quote “We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.”

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Yes! As Randy realized, everyone dies, but not everyone really knows how to live.

Grannymar - November 17, 2014

Some people never learn how to live, they just exist.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

True dat!

8. Don - November 17, 2014

I find it to be such a ridiculous phrase, Nancy, and so many people just glibly use it. So much that comes our way is permeated with senselessness, and yet there are times when I have the distinct feeling of an underlying meaning, and I almost whisper that, because in a flash it can all go up in smoke. I’ve come to that place, after a lot of struggle and thought, where I don’t question any more and simply handle as best I can whatever comes my way. Strange to say, it’s actually been quite freeing. Sometimes I have strong feelings that we are on our own, then suddenly feelings of something being there. I actually don’t know and have found a lot of peace in my not knowing. Great post Nancy. Thank you.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

I’m not surprised that it feels freeing to you. When we aren’t consumed with looking for reasons, rationales, or hidden agendas, we need only assess the hand we’ve been dealt ~ the “what is.” Using that as our G.P.S. coordinate, we decide what our next best step will be and which direction we’ll head.

Glad that you are happily ensconced in uncertainty and non knowing. It is a peaceful place.

9. NancyTex - November 17, 2014

Yes to this post and yes to the reference to Randy Pausch.

nrhatch - November 17, 2014

Thanks, NT. His book, The Last Lecture, is a treasure trove of wisdom for living and dying.

NancyTex - November 17, 2014

Absolutely.

10. Behind the Story - November 17, 2014

I agree that it’s up to us to make the most of the cards we’re dealt. If we believe everything happens for a reason, then we tie ourselves in knots trying to figure out what the reason is or who’s responsible, when it would be better to just jump over the obstacle and move on. (There’s a bunch of cliches for you. Sorry.)

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Yes! When I dropped a dish in the kitchen, scattering broken glass all over the room and cutting my toe, I didn’t let worry about the WHY get in the way of dealing with the WHAT.

11. jannatwrites - November 18, 2014

Sometimes things are just so messed up, we have to do the best we can with what we’ve got. I’m in the minority here, but I do think some things in life do happen for reasons I couldn’t possibly understand. I don’t dwell on what the reasons may be, but instead, look forward to something- anything- that can make me smile or bring some sort of peace.

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

I am with you, Janna . . .

While I don’t believe that EVERYTHING happens for a reason, I do believe that some things do (even if I can’t discern the reason at the time). There have been too many “coincidences” in my life for me to believe that everything is a crap shoot.

12. diannegray - November 18, 2014

As my mother always said, ‘it’s not what happens to you that is important – it’s how you deal with it.’

I’d like to think everything happens for a reason, but there’s too many WTFs going on in the world to actually believe it 😉

nrhatch - November 18, 2014

Same here. I don’t have to believe that everything happens for a reason to believe that MANY things happen for a reason.

When synchronicity knocks, I definitely see orchestration.

13. Three Well Beings - November 20, 2014

I wonder the same thing at times, Nancy. So often it is possible to retrace steps and see where actions long ago set particular consequences in motion, and other times life feels quite random. I think both Gump and the elephant cover the bases well!

nrhatch - November 20, 2014

Exactly my thoughts, Debra. It may not be Everything or Nothing ~ some things may have reasons, other things may just happen.

Either way, we are happier if we look for the silver linings in whatever comes our way.


What Say YOU?

