jump to navigation

An Unlimited Limerick November 12, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Poetry, Word Play, Writing & Writers.
trackback

Something about the cadence and rhyme of limericks always teases a smile out of me.

I don’t mind a few made up words that stretch language to its limits.

There’s something fun about limericks
Especially those that boast gimmericks
They make us smile
And ponder awhile
On the sleight of tongue trickericks

Here’s to the liberal literary license of limericks!

After all, where would Dr. Seuss be
If he had limited his vocabulary
To words already written
Would we be as smitten
If it hadn’t called it a Truffula tree?

Aah . . . that’s better!

Do you enjoy limericks?  With sleight of tongue trickericks?  Are you a fan of the bawdier the better rhymes . . . featuring folks from Nantucket?

 

Comments»

1. suzicate - November 12, 2014

Love me some limericks, and I thank Dr. Seuss for that!

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

My love affair with words goes way back, commencing with rhyme time with The Cat in the Hat and other Dr. Seuss characters.

2. bikerchick57 - November 12, 2014

I suddenly have a hunger for green eggs and ham.

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

I would not like them in a box
I would not like them with a fox
I do not like them, Sam, you see
I do not like them . . . please let me be! 😛

3. Val Boyko - November 12, 2014

Indeed! “Here’s to the liberal literary license of limericks!” 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Huzzah! To liberal limericks!

4. Don - November 12, 2014

“On the sleight of tongue trickericks.” I love them Nancy. I mean look at that word “trickericks.” How can you get better than that. I’ve even got a red line under it saying no, no, but as it rolls off my tongue I’m saying yes, yes. 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Haha! I had someone take me to task for writing that limerick in response to a challenge. They felt that using made up words like gimmericks and trickericks was cheating.

I replied with limerick #2 about the Truffula tree. :mrgreen:

5. valleygrail - November 12, 2014

Clever!

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Thanks, VG. Here’s to playing with words. :mrgreen:

6. Jill Weatherholt - November 12, 2014

Dr. Seuss just makes me smile…and so do you, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Thank you, Jill . . . you make me smile too! It’s hard to see your avatar without thinking that the day just got a bit brighter. 😎

Jill Weatherholt - November 12, 2014

Aw…that’s so nice, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Smiles are contagious! Thanks for spreading yours around.

7. Silver in the Barn - November 12, 2014

And Lewis Carroll with his Jabberwocky! I love all word play and think limericks, PUNS, and trickericks are a sign of high intelligence. Frabjous post!

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Yes! Lewis Carroll’s creativity astounds and astonishes. Every time I dive into Wonderland along with Alice, I see something different (and FRABJOUS!) staring up from the pages. 😛

8. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 12, 2014

I like limericks, but I love Dr. Seuss!

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

He’s added joy to my life too, Kate.

9. ashokbhatia - November 12, 2014

I happen to know one Miss Muffet
Who could travel faster than light,
She left one morning
And arrived the previous night.

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Haha! That would be a handy skill to have! 😎

10. L. Marie - November 12, 2014

Great limerick! I usually like them, but I’m not very good at them. I agree though that Dr. Seuss’s stories wouldn’t have been as fun if he hadn’t made up his own words. 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

Thanks, Linda. One of my favorites is the Grinch describing the Who girls and boys making noise, noise, noise:

And they’ll shriek squeeks and squeels racing round on their wheels.
And dance with jing-tinglers tied to their heels.
They’ll blow their flew – flewbers.
They’ll bang their tah – tinkers.
They’ll blow their Who – Whoovers.
They’ll bang their gar – ginkers.
They’ll beat their tom – tooklers.
They’ll slam their blum blewkers.
They’ll wham their Who – hunkers.
They’ll play noisy games like Sue Zitta Kahray……

11. Tiny - November 12, 2014

I love clever limericks. I have tried my hand on them but it doesn’t bend correctly, most of the time.

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

I have to be in a silly mood to write limericks. Of course, it’s pretty easy for me to find my inner silly. It’s never far away.

12. Grannymar - November 12, 2014

I enjoy reading limericks, but I’m not good at writing them. I only became aware of Dr. Seuss books when Elly read them. She read each one, once only and moved on to her more usual favourites.

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

I loved Dr. Seuss as a kid . . . especially The Grinch Who Stole Christmas. I have watched that Christmas Special 50+ times by now. And it still makes me S~M~I~L~E.

I also loved Green Eggs & Ham and The Cat in the Hat.

13. jannatwrites - November 12, 2014

I like Dr. Seuss and enjoy made-up words (though I’m not good at making them up myself.) I prefer clean limericks to racy ones that I’d choose to not read in front of the kids 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2014

I’ve made up new words from time to time . . . but fiction writers create new worlds from words.

Limericks that are a bit risque are funny to me. If they’re too ribald, I blush. 😳

14. Behind the Story - November 12, 2014

You’re right, there’s something about the cadence of a limerick that’s irresistible.

nrhatch - November 13, 2014

The rhymes pull us forward . . . “poetry in motion.” 😉

15. JOriginal Muse - November 13, 2014

I’d much rather be playing with my words than having to eat them 😉

nrhatch - November 13, 2014

There once was a girl named Joanne
Who celebrated each day with flan
Into the cup her spoon dips
As she is licking her lips
I’m Joanne, I love flan, man oh man!

16. William D'Andrea - November 13, 2014

I one saw an episode from a TV series, about the Middle ages. The episode took place in Ireland, in the County of Limerick; where the poet who invented the “Limerick” was in trouble with the King, whose name happened to be Anguish.
The poet had completed one of his poems using the words “‘Tis anguish, for Anguish, to smile.”
The King eventually shrugged and nodded, forcing a smile, while he said, “‘Tis true. “Tis true.”

nrhatch - November 13, 2014

Thanks, William. One of my faves:

The limerick packs laughs anatomical
Into space that is quite economical.
But the good ones I’ve seen
So seldom are clean
And the clean ones so seldom are comical.

17. William D'Andrea - November 15, 2014

I remember the lyrics to a “Horror Comedy Song” titled “Dinner at Dracula’s”, which came out in the late 1950s.

“A dinner was held for three
At Dracula’s house by the sea.
The hors dourves were fine,
but I choked on the wine,
When I learned that the main course was me.”

nrhatch - November 15, 2014

That reminds me of one of my mom’s childhood favorites:

Algy met a bear
The bear was bulgy
The bulge was Algy


What Say YOU?

