jump to navigation

Virtues, Vices, and Politics November 4, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor.
trackback

Wikipedia ~ Winston Churchill (in Public Domain)

In honor of Election Day in the U.S., here are a few of my favorite quotes on politics and politicians:

* In politics, absurdity is not a handicap.

~ Napoleon Bonaparte

* He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire.

~ Winston Churchill

* It is inaccurate to say that I hate everything. I am strongly in favor of common sense, common honesty, and common decency.

This makes me forever ineligible for public office.

~ H.L. Mencken

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. ashokbhatia - November 4, 2014

Good ones!

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

I hope others will share a few more favorites. Having a Baker’s Dozen at my disposal would be great.

2. Val Boyko - November 4, 2014

The absurdity has been around for a while 😉
Val x

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

If we don’t learn from the past, we’re doomed to repeat it . . . with all its attendant and sundry absurdity. 😛

3. granny1947 - November 4, 2014

I would have LOVED to have met Winston!

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

He did have some notable quips and quotes!

4. Jill Weatherholt - November 4, 2014

These are great, Nancy! I love the Churchill quote. 🙂

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Such a great line!

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 4, 2014

Perfect way to honor election day!

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Poking fun at politicians is like shooting fish in a barrel. 😛

6. Silver in the Barn - November 4, 2014

Winston Churchill is my father’s hero. Wasn’t he also a master of the English language? I’m glad you included him here.

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

He had some great zingers and one liners on his resume.

7. William D'Andrea - November 4, 2014

As a responsible citizen I’ve just cast my vote, here at my local library. I consider today as not just another Election Day, but as a day of exorcism, when we begin casting out the rulers of the darkness of this world, who’ve been deliberately ruining this Country for the past six years.

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Good luck with the Ejector Button!

William D'Andrea - November 6, 2014

That seem to be what happened on Tuesday. The majority of people who entered the voting booths ejected the “Fundamental Transformation” in favor of a “Return to Normalcy”.
With all the problems that come with “Normalcy”, it’ll still be better than what we’re dealing with now.

8. valleygrail - November 4, 2014

All politicians should have 3 hats – one to throw into the ring, one to talk through, and one to pull rabbits out of if elected.
-Carl Sandburg.

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Wonderful!!! Most of them are two-faced though . . . so maybe they need even more than 3 hats!

9. katecrimmins - November 4, 2014

“Reader, suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress . But I repeat myself.” –Mark Twain

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Yay! Mark Twain is the BEST . . . even if he is being redundant and repetitive. 😛

10. Three Well Beings - November 4, 2014

These are great, Nancy. I love the Mencken quote…sadly I do think it is true! I was thinking that this may be the first year in many when I have voted, but feel very disconnected from the voting outcome. I don’t usually feel apathetic…not enjoying the feeling!

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

I feel the same, Debra. I don’t think it much matters who we vote for when the only choices are Republicans or Democrats.

11. jannatwrites - November 4, 2014

Nice quotes. Winston Churchill was a character. I am so happy election day is here so I don’t have to hear those ‘smear campaign’ commercials any more. I’m not happy with any of the choices… maybe because of the truth in the 3rd quote?

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Yes! And me too! I am ready for the campaigns to call a Cease Fire!

12. Grannymar - November 4, 2014

I like this one:

A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.
~ Winston Churchill

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

Good one, GM.

A pessimist is someone who blows out the candle . . . and then complains that it’s dark.

13. diannegray - November 4, 2014

Best of luck with the election, Nancy. I love the Churchill quote – what a great man he was.

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

He had his head screwed on tight!

14. NancyTex - November 4, 2014

And I’ll add my favourite election quote: Vote for Pedro! 🙂

nrhatch - November 4, 2014

From now on, I’ll use “Pedro” wherever I need a write in candidate! 😛

15. Rajagopal - November 5, 2014

Nancy , so you are among the few women quipping on politics . Your Churchill quote reminds me of many of his witty statements like his well-known exchanges with the not-so-good looking lady astor , “winston you are drunk and unbearable , and Churchill’s rejoinder ,, lady astor , tomorrow morning I’ll be sober and agreeable while you will still be ugly”….best wishes…raj

nrhatch - November 5, 2014

Yes! Winston Churchill was famous for his skill with a riposte. When his friend Lady Astor said that, if he were her husband, she’d poison his tea, Churchill responded, “If you were my wife, I’d drink it!”

Last night we watched “Women in Politics” ~ moving from 2% to 20% of the US Senate is a step in the right direction . . . but we have a long way to go.

16. ericjbaker - November 5, 2014

Lots o’ handwringing over elections. Oh no, now nothing will get done in a different way!

nrhatch - November 5, 2014

My apathy increases with each election . . . because the ping pong ball (like the one in PONG) keeps bouncing back and forth between Twin Sons of Different Mothers.

No matter whether the Democrats or the Republicans control the House and Senate, the status quo remains status.

ericjbaker - November 5, 2014

I’m pretty sure, once the doors are closed and the porch light goes out, they’re all in the back room playing poker and laughing at us.

nrhatch - November 5, 2014

I feel the same ~ the partisan politics is a dog and pony show designed to get voters to believe that their vote matters.

But as long as we’re choosing between Status and Quo . . . it really doesn’t make a difference.

17. anotherday2paradise - November 7, 2014

Great quotes, Nancy. Nothing at all has changed since politics came into being. 😕

nrhatch - November 7, 2014

Not much. Just think back to “Et tu, Brutus?” :/


What Say YOU?

