jump to navigation

It’s All Hallow’s Eve October 31, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Nature.
trackback

You never know who you might meet on a Haunted Trail . . .

2014-10-25 18-55-52_0018

“My what long legs you have . . . ”

“All the better to c~h~a~s~e you with . . . “

2014-10-25 18-55-14_0017

If you get scared, keep breathing . . . don’t lose your head!

2014-10-25 18-49-51_0015

“Hey!  What’s that floating in the breeze?”

2014-10-25 18-53-15_0016

Just a little Spanish Moss . . .

2014-10-25 18-14-45_0013

Aah . . . that’s spooky!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 31, 2014

I’m staying off that trail, Nancy! Happy Halloween! Boo!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

We went just before dusk ~> perfect for “wee ones,” scaredy cats, and us! 😯

2. suzicate - October 31, 2014

Hope you have a spooktacular day!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

Thanks! I probably will head over to the island to see the little ghosts and goblins “trunk or treating” at the church. We don’t get any wee witches ringing our doorbell here.

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 31, 2014

Oh that’s awesome!!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

We went before dark and decided it would have been far scarier if we’d waited until the path was pitch black. Of course, then one of us might have needed CPR from the shock! 👿

4. Grannymar - October 31, 2014

That skull sure has a great set of teeth…. He must have an American dentist!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

Haha! He does have quite a set of chompers on him!

5. valleygrail - October 31, 2014

I love the decorations and the costumes! BTW, thank you for your suggestions! The WP update and simultaneous OS X Yosemite and iPhone 8.1 updates posed some challenging issues with my computer, iPhone and iPad. Since I look at everything daily, I was flabbergasted at the change in the order of comments and replies on my blog, and had everything as it should be, repeatedly. Then, this morning I remembered to scroll down, and check SAVE. GAAAH! The only remaining thing WP still has to fix is I cannot access my followers past the first page. When that’s done, all should be back to normal. Thanks again for your help!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

You’re very welcome, VG. I’ve overlooked the “save changes” button a time or two myself. Glad you’ve got most glitches sorted out now. Have a FAB Halloween!

Here’s to Rebecca and Susannah. May they rest in peace.

6. Silver in the Barn - October 31, 2014

Someday I am going to convince that old grinch I live with that a scary Halloween themed park is just what we need to do at our old place. Wouldn’t it be cool? All ghosts and witches and goblins? I’ve only started working on him this year so it may take some time.

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

That would be awesome ~ cobwebs hanging from the ancient oak, snakes and spiders in your gardens, eerie music from the potting shed.

BOO!

Silver in the Barn - October 31, 2014

Of course you understand!!! BOO BACK!!!!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

Your yard is perfect for it!

7. brickhousechick - October 31, 2014

How fun! The last time I went through a haunted house, I stretched my son’s sweatshirt so badly that it no longer fit him. I walked behind him as we went through the dark house and I didn’t let go of his sweatshirt for anything! I still laugh at the memory of his stretched out sweatshirt! LOL. Happy Halloween!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

That’s so funny, Maria. I can see you hanging on tight. If we’d gone through the Haunted Trail after dark, I bet BFF would have emerged with a stretched out shirt too!

8. Behind the Story - October 31, 2014

Great pictures! It was raining here, so I didn’t get any photos. I walked downtown to where kids were trick-or-treating and enjoyed the fun but drippy atmosphere.

nrhatch - November 1, 2014

We got to see wee witches, ghosts, and ghouls at the Trail of Treats ~ two of the cutest: a 3-year-old Little Orphan Annie and a 6-month old pumpkin. I snapped some photos but may have ended up with the backs of heads. I’ll share if I got and good ones.

9. ericjbaker - November 1, 2014

Halloween is my favorite holiday, as you might imagine. I hope you had a fun one.

nrhatch - November 1, 2014

So . . . how did you celebrate the High Holy Day? We checked out the wee ghosts, goblins, ghouls, piglets, pumpkins, and pirates . . . and then dove into pizza and beer, beachfront. :mrgreen:

ericjbaker - November 1, 2014

Several of my co-workers dressed up, decorated pumpkins for a contest ( the winner came from our help-desk guy who made a spinning pumpkin with glowing red eyes… hard to top that), and brought in all kinds of gruesome deserts (I mostly looked and didn’t taste). At home I watched horror movies, or bits of each as I flipped through the channels, while periodically answering the door. Then my kid got home and sorted his loot. After that we watched a movie his mother would probably not approve of.

Pizza and beer on the beachfront is an activity I’d gladly incorporate into any holiday!

nrhatch - November 1, 2014

Sounds like a suitable celebration ~ and good for you for passing up most of the gruesome desserts.

Temps are dropping here today . . . I’m not inclined to a repast on the beach. It would shiver me timbers!

10. jannatwrites - November 1, 2014

At least it was daylight! Those cob webs look kind of like my patio right now 🙂

nrhatch - November 1, 2014

We had very industrious spiders when we lived in MD. Here, I think they’re a bit more lethargic . . . due to the heat.


What Say YOU?

