jump to navigation

“It’s Time To Fly!” October 27, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Poetry, Word Play.
trackback

IMGP4171

“Tonight’s Halloween.  Let’s have fun.
Mayhem and mischief shall be done!”

Hilda swirled and twirled round the room.
Fireplace sparks pierced the gloom.

“Where’s my broomstick?  It’s time to fly!”
Pumpkin sat mute.  With no reply.

Hilda reached underneath the bed,
but only found a shrunken head.

She opened drawers and closet doors,
accompanied by creaking floors.

Dust rose and fell as Hilda paced.
Pumpkin glared.  Evil grin in place.

IMGP1797b

Cauldron bubbled with purple brew.
“Broomstick. Broomstick. Where are you?”

The clock chimed twelve and Hilda froze,
as one small tear ran down her nose.

* * *

To enter:  Add a Link to the 4th Halloweensie Contest List on Susanna’s Blog

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - October 27, 2014

I love the twist and play with our expectations and emotions! Really great Nancy.
My heart goes out to Hilda and the witches in the world. We really don’t know what is goes own beyond our perceptions.
Val x

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Val. Hilda’s disappointment echoed what we felt one Halloween when the weather was too wet for trick or treating. 😦

2. julie rowan zoch - October 27, 2014

Poor Hilda! I especially liked, Fireplace sparks pierced the gloom!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Julie. Perhaps she’d have found her broomstick in time to fly . . . if she had dialed up the lights! 💡

3. Janet Smart - October 27, 2014

Enjoyed your story. Liked – as one small tear ran down her nose!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Poor Hilda. You wait all year for one special night and *POOF* it’s gone in a flash!

4. suzicate - October 27, 2014

Poor Hilda! Hate it when I misplace things, especially my broomstick because then I must resort to driving the car or walking, ha!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Same here!

Maybe losing key equipment when it is most needed will teach Hilda to hang up her broomstick in the same place every time. 😛

5. Silver in the Barn - October 27, 2014

I was just going to say how much I liked “fireplace sparks…” when I see that Julie has already remarked exactly that! Well, no writer objects to hearing twice how much somebody enjoyed a certain delightful phrase….right?

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

You’re right, Barbara.

And it’s not a situation of “one compliment per customer” either. Keep ’em coming! 😛

6. clarbojahn - October 27, 2014

Great entry, Nancy! Perfect for Halloween. Love the twist. and emotion play. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Clar. I look forward to reading the other submissions. Susanna’s contests are always fun.

7. Jill Weatherholt - October 27, 2014

This is great, Nancy! A shrunken head under the bed would send me running for the hills!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Normally I would hide under the bed . . . but not in this situation. 😛

8. William D'Andrea - October 27, 2014

If anyone would like to read a horror story for Halloween, check out my tale “Illirian Blues” which is found on webook.com, and takes a little more than 20 minutes to read.

http://www.webook.com/project/Illyrian-Blues-1

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Horror’s not my thing . . . but hope you get a few takers. 😯

William D'Andrea - October 28, 2014

Actually, I’m not sure if “Horror” is the right word to classify the story. “Supernatural suspense thriller” is a better classification. There are no graphic descriptions of violence, nor anything truly revolting.

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Then I’ll be brave and take a peek.

William D'Andrea - October 30, 2014

Thank you Nancy. I’m looking forward to your feedback. I consider it one of the finest stories I’ve ever written.

nrhatch - October 30, 2014

I did take a quick peek . . . I’m not in your target audience. I just don’t care enough about vampires or watching characters I have just met as they debate jumping into the sack. And I’ve never watched the series Angel, so that’s not a hook for me. Sorry.

William D'Andrea - November 1, 2014

Then check out another supernatural suspense thriller, “Tunnel to Demons’ Realm”, which takes only about two minutes to read, and does not contain any of those things you object to.
http://figment.com/books/854964-Tunnel-to-Demons-Realm

nrhatch - November 1, 2014

Still not my genre, but it sounds like you’re off to a good start. Caves can be spooky and dark places . . . even for people who don’t believe in Hell and Demons. 👿

9. Joanna - October 27, 2014

Aw, it’s great to have a sadder story; I like the unexpected emotions!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Joanna. I expect we’ll find all sorts of treats as we peruse the submissions.

10. cherylsec - October 27, 2014

Aw, poor Hilda. Well done, Nancy!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Cheryl. Poor wee witch didn’t get to brew up any mischief this year.

11. Wendy Greenley - October 27, 2014

Great job making me feel sorry for a witch!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Hilda will be better prepared next year!

12. Penny Parker Klostermann - October 27, 2014

Poor Hilda! But that’s what she gets for keeping those shrunken heads! LOL! Fun entry, Nancy!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Penny. I look forward to grabbing my broomstick to fly round and read other submissions.

Fly, my pretty. Fly!

13. lindaboyden - October 27, 2014

The poor witch! How often do we all misplace something important? Sweet!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Yes! And right when she needed it most.

14. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 27, 2014

Excellent!! I was wondering what you were going to write, and I think you knocked it out of the park!

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Kate. I feel as though I played a dirty trick on Hilda ~ maybe I should have let her find her broomstick before the clock struck midnight?

Are you going to play along? Susanna’s Halloweensie Contest is my favorite.

15. brickhousechick - October 27, 2014

I hope Hilda gets to fly again soon! Hi Nancy, just stopping by for a quick hello. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Maria! Lovely to see you out and about. Hope you’re feeling a bit less dragged down by comings, and goings, and doings.

16. jdewdropsofink - October 27, 2014

Poor Hilda. :). Fun story. Good luck.

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks!

17. Don - October 27, 2014

I hope she eventually found her broom. So enjoyed it Nancy – loved the rhyme. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Don. If she’s like most of us, she’ll find her broom . . . right where she left it!

18. beeblu - October 27, 2014

A shrunken head under the bed – haha. Beats dust bunnies! Have a fun Halloween.

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, BB. Happy Halloween!

19. Grannymar - October 27, 2014

Shrunken heads and broomsticks under the bed *shiver, shiver, shiver.* I will not be able to sleep tonight!

Nice work Nancy.

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Sweet dreams, GM! 😯

20. Donna L. Sadd - October 27, 2014

Whaaaa! I hate it when I can’t find my broom. You do such a great job on this contest! :0)

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

Thanks, Donna. Somehow a vacuum cleaner isn’t quite the same . . . I must have my broom!

21. Susanna Leonard Hill - October 27, 2014

Oh, Nancy! Poor Hilda! All that mayhem she wanted to cause and missed it all on account of her missing broomstick! I laughed out loud when she looked under the bed and only found a shrunken head 🙂 Really, isn’t that what’s under everyone’s bed? 🙂 Thanks so much for a very fun entry!!! 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2014

A witch without a broomstick is like a bike without wheels ~> no momentum! Thanks for another fun contest, Susanna.

22. Behind the Story - October 27, 2014

How sad! She has to wait another whole year to go flying. How could she have lost her broom? Didn’t she check on it the previous week? Or did someone hide it from her/

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Haha . . . I can hear you reading this to “wee ones” while asking them those questions and giggling at their answers.

Who stole Hilda’s broom?
Or is it buried in her messy room? :mrgreen:

23. Cecilia Clark - October 28, 2014

oh no poor Hilda. – Nicely done.

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

ACK! A broom! A broom! My cauldron for a broom!

24. granny1947 - October 28, 2014

Such a fun post.

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Thanks, Kathy. I do enjoy these seasonal challenges that Susanna shares with us.

25. diannegray - October 28, 2014

Very well done, Nancy 😀

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Thanks, Dianne.

26. NancyTex - October 28, 2014

I’ll be flying on Halloween night. Hoping for some interesting characters at ATL and CLT airports. 🙂

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

If you see any characters in character . . . snap some shots to share with those of us who are grounded. Safe Travels.

27. Carrie Finison - October 28, 2014

Poor Hilda – too disorganized to enjoy Halloween! I hope she finds her broom!

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Thanks, Carrie. Maybe losing her broom kept her Karmic report card in balance for the year? 😛

28. Three Well Beings - October 28, 2014

See? What was I just saying about you being clever? 🙂

nrhatch - October 28, 2014

Thanks, Debra. Susanna’s contests cause me to use a different set of writing muscles which is always fun. And I’m always amazed at how different (and clever) the various entries are ~ the two Susanna posted as “samples” are fabulous.

29. jannatwrites - October 28, 2014

Great story – I like what you came up with for Susanna’s contest this year! A witch without a broomstick is quite sad 🙂

nrhatch - October 29, 2014

Yes! Witches + Broomsticks => Perfect Together!

30. Buffy Silverman - October 29, 2014

I can sympathize with Hilda–sometimes it seems like I spend half my days searching for keys and glasses. Fun story!

nrhatch - October 29, 2014

Thanks, Buffy. We only notice misplaced items when we NEED them. NOW!

31. Patricia Tilton - October 29, 2014

Love your entry. Sooooooo clever. Didn’t see the ending coming.

nrhatch - October 29, 2014

Thanks, Patricia. That ending guarantees Hilda a PG rating.

32. Carrie Charley Brown - October 30, 2014

Poor Hilda! I was rooting for her! Maybe next time she’ll clean her room? 🙂 Cute poem!

nrhatch - October 30, 2014

Thanks, Carrie! Next year, Hilda will remember “A place for everything . . . and broomsticks in their place!”

33. Christie Allred - October 30, 2014

The shrunken head gave me a fright 😉 Way to go. Good luck.

nrhatch - October 30, 2014

Thanks, Christie. I expect most of us hope never to find a shrunken head under the bed. Dust bunnies are friendlier.

34. Donna Rossman - October 30, 2014

Loved all your imagery especially – Dust rose and fell as Hilda paced.
Pumpkin glared. Evil grin in place.

nrhatch - October 30, 2014

Thanks, Donna. Hilda will be better prepared for mischief and mayhem next Halloween.

35. Pamela Courtney - October 31, 2014

Oh nooooo! She missed Halloween? Poor Hilda! I’m thinking Pumpkin hid the broom. This was such a fun read. Love, love the twist at the end.

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

I’m not going to make the same mistake . . . my broomstick is planted by the front door for tonight’s festivities.

FLY, MY PRETTIES! F~L~Y!

36. Diane Tulloch - October 31, 2014

Very clever, laughed at the imagery you had built. Your sad ending which is unique! Loved it!

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

Thanks, Diane! Glad you enjoyed.

37. viviankirkfield - October 31, 2014

Great fun, Nancy…love your rhyme and I LOVE Hilda…that’s not fair…she’s going to miss all of the Halloween fun…that pumpkin had better watch out when Hilda finds out what he did with the broomstick. 🙂

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

So you think it’s the pumpkin who-dun-nit? That’s who I suspect as well. He’s got shifty eyes.

Hope you had a Happy Halloween with your grandson. We went to a costume contest on the island this afternoon ~ so many adorable costumes on kids from 0 – 10.

viviankirkfield - October 31, 2014

When I was a little girl, we live in an apartment house that had 104 apartments…that’s a lot of bells to ring without having to go outside. 😉 And back in the day, even though it was on the lower east side of NYC, it was pretty safe.:)

nrhatch - October 31, 2014

Wow! That would be great on C~O~L~D or rainy nights! We had to walk quite a ways from house to house. Great when the weather cooperated.

38. Katie - November 2, 2014

Aw. Poor Hilda.

nrhatch - November 3, 2014

Misplaced broomstick on Halloween . . . doesn’t get much worse than that for a wee witch!

39. thiskidreviewsbooks - November 3, 2014

Great story! 😀

nrhatch - November 3, 2014

Thanks, Eric! I’m amazed at the number of entries Susanna received this year . . . and she whittled them down from 132 to 13 in a single weekend.

Proof positive that Chocolate is just what the doctor ordered. 😛

40. nrhatch - November 3, 2014

What Say YOU?

