jump to navigation

Acupuncture ~ A Jab Well Done October 17, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Health & Wellness, Life Balance, Nature.
trackback

Acupuncture Meridians, in Public Domain (Source: Wikipedia)

Ever since I practiced law, I’ve stored stress in my neck.  And the weight of the world on my shoulders.

In 2013, I tried chiropractic therapy and had regular deep tissue massages to relieve the pain.  Both provided temporary relief, at best.  I would feel better for a few days before the pain returned at its previous level of intensity.

This past Spring, we went to a lecture at the library on Acupuncture.  The DOM (Doctor of Oriental Medicine) asked for volunteers for a quick demo.

I agreed to be a guinea pig, open minded, not expecting any real relief.

She stuck 8-10 needles in me ~ from my feet to my neck.  Twenty minutes later, she pulled them out.

And my neck felt . . . Better.  Looser.  Lighter.

The relief continued unabated for the next 3 weeks.  My neck felt better than it had in decades.

Now I’m a believer!

Acupuncture ~ in Public Domain (Source: Wikipedia)

Acupuncture dissolved a 25-year-old energy block and allowed the Chi to flow.

We found an acupuncturist on the island and BFF had similar success with his long-standing lower back pain.

After 2 months of once a week visits, we now see Tricia (also a D.O.M.) once every 3-4 weeks. And our insurance covers it.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Have you ever considered trying acupuncture?

Related post:  Listen To Your Body, It’s Listening To You (Find Your Middle Ground)

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - October 17, 2014

Yeah Nancy!! I am a huge supporter of acupuncture. The owner of Awaken Integrative Wellness in Media where I teach yoga is a massage therapist and acupuncturist. I have found relief from stress, low back pain, coughing, and allergies …. it really is a gift to be able to heal ourselves with our own energy 🙂
Thank you for the link. 🙂
Val x

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Yay! Another success story.

My neck and back feel better than they have in years ~> instead of cellular memory hanging on to all that old stuff, it’s learning to let it go and allow flow. _/!\_

I caught the tail end of a show on organ transplants the other day ~ where memories stored in the heart surfaced in the heart’s recipient. So much to explore about the body/mind connection.

Val Boyko - October 17, 2014

We know so little but think we know so much! The ancients knew a thing or two that science is now confirming :)–

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

You are so right. And the transplant stories are so amazing ~ names, faces, voices, secrets that the organ donor knew transferred to the new “owner.”

2. Silver in the Barn - October 17, 2014

Nancy, I asked my daughter’s neurologist about acupuncture for seizures. She said there are not enough studies out there for her to venture an opinion, yay or nay. But here, she said, take this card. Some of our patients swear by it. And she handed me a card for a D. O. M. I think that’s a sort of endorsement, don’t you? Anyway, it turns out that lady is no longer in town, but I really should look into this again. Thanks for the reminder.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

I doubt she would have given you the card without accepting the results achieved by her other patients. My traditional / western medicine doctor refers patients to Tricia for oriental medicine/ acupuncture when he thinks it might help.

3. Jill Weatherholt - October 17, 2014

I never thought insurance would cover acupuncture. I should had given it a try before undergoing two back surgeries…thankfully they were successful. Love your title, Nancy! 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Glad your surgeries were successful, Jill. I “borrowed” the title from a joke I heard once upon a time.

Our BC/BS policy covers acupuncture, chiropractic, massage. It might even cover hypnosis for quitting smoking / losing weight.

4. Don - October 17, 2014

I’m so glad you experienced this kind of relief or healing, Nancy, whatever you want to call it. I have had a similar experience. I had a long standing pain from a break in my arm and it was only after acupuncture that I finally experienced relief. I’m a big fan. 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Yay! That’s awesome, Don. I didn’t expect immediate relief from “long standing pain.” When the chronic neck pain improved after a single treatment, it definitely got my attention.

5. suzicate - October 17, 2014

I’ve never had acupuncture, but I have friends who swear by it, especially for neck pain. So glad you found relief.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

It’s great not to have a pain in the neck hanging around. :mrgreen:

6. valleygrail - October 17, 2014

This is intriguing. I think some of life’s circumstances can turn our bodies into toxic landfills. This bears checking into. Thanks!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Unlike drugs and surgery, there’s not many unwanted side effects. Good luck.

7. ericjbaker - October 17, 2014

I’ve thought about it, but I’m trying to determine the bias effect. I can’t help it. I think like a scientist.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Experiential evidence is sufficient for me ~> the pain is 95% GONE. That’s a WIN whether it’s gone due to the needles restoring a healthier flow of chi or due to some placebo effect.

ericjbaker - October 17, 2014

I’m getting ready to start thinking about possibly trying it…

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Haha. Don’t rush into anything. Slow and steady wins the race. Haste makes waste. 😛

8. NancyTex - October 17, 2014

I’ve never tried it, but have heard stories from a few friends with similar success to yours. I’m definitely open to it. I wonder, are acupuncturists similar to chiropractors, in the sense that there are some very good ones and some very bad (dangerous) ones? Or is acupuncture harder to mess up?

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

There are good doctors and bad doctors ~> “50% of all doctors graduated in the bottom half of their class.”

In the U.S., any doctor can practice acupuncture but if they don’t have a D.O.M. degree their practice may be haphazard. Even with a D.O.M., I would ask questions about what they feel competent to treat.

Tricia is straightforward about conditions she believes will benefit from acupuncture.

NancyTex - October 17, 2014

My GP is retiring in less than a month, and I’ve been too busy with house-stuff to worry about finding a new one. It’s my top priority first thing Monday. Such a crap shoot. I’ve asked friends for recommendations, but I suspect the really great doctors will be at capacity and not accepting new patients. In Canada with our billing caps (universal healthcare) there is no incentive for a doctor to do more than they can bill for (understandable). So this may be a bit of a gamble. I suppose I could test one out and switch again if he/she turns out to be a dud.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

When we move, the “hardest” thing has always been finding new dentists, doctors, and eye doctors. Most of the time we’ve lucked out and haven’t ended up with a dud. But if I felt “uncomfortable” with a choice, I’d choose again.

You might ask your GP for a recommendation and referral.

9. Allison - October 17, 2014

This makes me so happy! I am so fascinated by our own energy fields and their power to heal. So glad it helped you 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Thanks, Allison. Being open to possibilities and listening to our intuition often points us to what we need to read, see, or try.

If we feel strong intuitive resistance, it’s probably not the right thing.

10. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 17, 2014

You know, I’ve never tried it – but I’ve just never had a need to – but my dad, who had polio when he was younger and is missing muscles in his neck, I think I’ll suggest this to him! This is one of those “why didn’t I think of it on my own” moments! 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

I was amazed at how much it helped and how fast. I have an appointment this afternoon ~ first one in 7 weeks!

good luck to your dad.

11. anotherday2paradise - October 17, 2014

Yes, I’ve had acupuncture for a frozen shoulder, and it did help a lot. 🙂 So glad you also got relief from pain.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

That is great to hear, Sylvia. Living with pain is no fun ~ it’s great to let go of the stress and tension stored in our muscles.

12. thecontentedcrafter - October 17, 2014

I’m one of those people who has had a deep experience of the bodies ability to heal itself with a little help from friends – which includes acupuncture. Our body stores our life experiences and as you pointed out at the top of your post feeling like you are carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders will sure screw up your neck and shoulder muscles! It is uplifting to read the comments from all your friends who have done it or are open to it – way better than swallowing pain killers 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

I agree! I didn’t know how this post would be received. I’m delighted to see how many have tried acupuncture with good results. So much better than living with chronic pain.

13. Pix Under the Oaks - October 17, 2014

Yes for sure on acupuncture! CH’s brother does acupuncture. And we see an acupuncturist regularly at the Women’s Wellness Clinic. They let CH in cause he is a nice guy.. 🙂

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

That’s awesome, Pix ~ something else that you guys and we guys have in common.

When next you’re here, we can go for acupuncture at Aluna Wellness followed by Heavenly Cupcakes or Yoder’s Cookies! 😀

14. Barb - October 17, 2014

I never really believed it could help – until I tried it myself for lower back pain and was amazed at the results…..now I’m a firm believer!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Woo Hoo! Me too. This post has been a real eye opener for me, Barb. I’m not surprised that acupuncture has helped those who’ve tried it, but I didn’t expect so many readers to have tried it. Awesome.

15. diannegray - October 17, 2014

I’ve never tried acupuncture, Nancy, but I have friends who swear by it. If I’m ever at a loss for pain relief that’s the first thing I’ll be doing 😀

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

I hope that you are never at a loss for pain relief, but keep this option in mind “just in case.”

16. reocochran - October 17, 2014

I haven’t tried it, but really should… I had a very bad neck ache a couple of weeks ago, still can get a slight twinge that feels like shock waves. I enjoyed reading this post, you were smart to be the guinea pig, I would have volunteered, too. Years of their expert practice, we should realize how they have been ‘right’ in a few areas of their lives, acupuncture included! I am not sure if there is one in Delaware, Ohio, but will look up Columbus…I will let you know in a month, I think!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

A few others volunteered that day & said they noted immediate improvement as well. Judging from this comment thread, there are lots of people who have found relief via acupuncture.

Hope you can find help to ease your neck pain. Good luck!

17. Three Well Beings - October 17, 2014

I absolutely am a believer! I haven’t had a specific place of tension or weakness that needs it (at least right now) but my niece even sees her acupuncturist for help with her allergies and swears by it. I have several friends who have told me stories similar to yours and it really thrills me to think that insurance covers your treatment! It’s encouraging to think of a western medical perspective acknowledging an alternative form of treatment. I also like your firsthand report because I don’t for one minute think you’re easily bamboozled. 🙂

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

Thanks for that vote of confidence in my ability to discern the truth without being bamboozled. :mrgreen: I’m convinced I did not create a placebo effect from my expectations . . . because I did not expect anything from a 20 min. trial.

My Western doctor refers patients to Tricia. He said, “We don’t know why it works . . . but it does seem to work for some of the people, some of the time.”

18. Kathy @ SAMRT Living 365.com - October 17, 2014

Hi NR….so glad to hear this worked so well for you. I’ve heard and read really good things about acupuncture and wouldn’t hesitate to use if I had something similar going on. Unfortunately there isn’t really a good one that I’ve found in our area. But then if I REALLY needed one I would drive out of the area for the benefits. Thanks again for the encouragement. ~Kathy

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

As alternative/ Eastern/ Oriental medicine becomes more accepted, I anticipate practitioners will become more accessible.

Good luck finding the right D.O.M. if you ever need one.

19. kateshrewsday - October 18, 2014

Nancy, I have heard a lot about it but never tried it. And your testimony is most persuasive…

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

I enjoyed reading so many other success stories in the comments ~ it’s the wave of the future straight out of the ancient past.

20. jannatwrites - October 21, 2014

It hadn’t occurred to me to try acupuncture. I also carry stress in my neck and shoulders, so now I’m curious if it might help me as well (but I think I’d still like to keep my monthly massage- those are nice 🙂 )

nrhatch - October 21, 2014

Massages are nice . . . you might consider the two in tandem.

21. beeblu - October 24, 2014

A friend has had acupuncture for that fun time of life that we women have to go through and she swears by it. And your story is another thumbs-up, so I certainly would give it a go. My husband had very painful golfer’s elbow and I tried to convince him to go for acupuncture, but he’s a scaredy cat. 😉

nrhatch - October 25, 2014

Although there are occasional side effects, they are rare . . . so there is not much of a downside to trying it other than the time/expense/effort to keep the appointment. The needles do not hurt, although one out of ten “stings” a bit going in.

Good luck to your hubby!


What Say YOU?

