jump to navigation

Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies October 16, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

This recipe comes to you courtesy of Nancy (“Keep moving!”) Tex:

They say it’s your birthday
Happy Birthday to Ya!

Happy Birthday NT!

* * *

As I read NT’s post, When Chickpeas and Chocolate Chips Collide, I knew I had to give these healthy high fiber cookies a try . . . with a few modifications because I am (a) a lazy cook who (b) loves rum:

* The recipe called for natural peanut butter.  I hate measuring peanut butter. With a passion.  It’s so S~T~I~C~K~Y!  I substituted 3/4 c. roasted salted peanuts (ground up peanuts => natural peanut butter).

* The recipe called for vanilla extract.  I’m not a baker and don’t keep vanilla extract in the pantry.   I do keep rum around.  Rum => Yum!

Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine 1 1/2 c. chickpeas (15 oz. can, drained and rinsed) with 3/4 c. roasted salted peanuts.  Pulse in your processor until almost smooth.

Add 2 tsp. vanilla extract (or rum), 1/4 c. honey (or agave or maple syrup), and 1 tsp baking powder.  Process until mixture forms a dough ball.

Toss the dough ball into a bowl.

2014-10-13 16-37-17_0015

Add 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips.

2014-10-13 16-37-30_0016

Fold the chips into the dough.

2014-10-13 16-38-47_0017

Form into 1 1/2″ balls and place on greased or parchment-lined cookie sheet.

2014-10-13 16-46-09_0019

Tip:  Use an ice cream scoop to scoop up the dough.

2014-10-13 16-40-50_0018

Press the tops down with a fork.

2014-10-13 16-47-16_0020

Bake for 10 minutes.  Try one to see if it’s done.

2014-10-13 16-59-21_0021

Press the tops down (again) and bake for 2 minutes more. Cool on a wire rack.

2014-10-13 17-05-31_0022

These are not quite as good as Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies BUT they are MUCH better for you.

They omit the empty calories (butter, white flour, and white sugar) and add in good-for-you protein and fiber from both peanuts and garbanzo beans.

Enjoy them.  Guilt free.

Aah . . . that’s better!

If you’re allergic to peanuts, you might try these with almonds and Amaretto or hazelnuts and Frangelica.

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - October 16, 2014

Nancy, I read somewhere that if you spray your measuring cup with Pam, the peanut butter will slide right out. Unverified tidbit, but thought I’d pass on. Happy Birthday to Nancy Tex.

NancyTex - October 16, 2014

Thank you kindly!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Thank you for the recipe, NT!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

That does work, Barbara. The way I learned to measure peanut butter was in water. If you need 1/2 cup of peanut butter, put 1/2 cup of water in a measuring cup . . . then drop in the peanut butter to the 1 cup level.

But measuring out whole peanuts was WAY EASIER.

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 16, 2014

Happy Birthday Nancy Tex! Those look yummy! I used to love to eat raw chocolate chip cookie dough when I was little. They say the raw egg can make you sick, but I survived. Thanks for the recipe! By the way, my birthday is in July. 🙂

NancyTex - October 16, 2014

Thanks Jill! Nancy Hatch’s look much prettier than mine did! 🙂

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

I like the ones that look like Pac Man. :mrgreen:

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Raw eggs can make you sick if they are contaminated with salmonella. This dough is safe to eat but it’s not as sweet as traditional dough.

I’m a July birthday too. 😎

3. Pix Under the Oaks - October 16, 2014

I saw your title in my inbox and had to check these out!
Happy Birthday to Nancy Tex!
My birthday was last month and CH made me a coconut cream pie.. 😀

NancyTex - October 16, 2014

Thanks so much!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

I remember you posting about CH’s incredible coconut cream pies! Nice to have a baker around on your birthday!

4. Val Boyko - October 16, 2014

Rousing music and healthy cookies. All yummy 🙂
Happy Birthday Nancy Tex!

NancyTex - October 16, 2014

Thanks very much Val!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Here’s to Moving and Grooving!

5. NancyTex - October 16, 2014

NH, thank you for the lovely birthday post! It made me smile (and sing!).
p.s. your cookies are much prettier than mine were. 😛

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Hope you day is memory making, age faking, picture taking, and birthday caking . . . and a blast from first to last! :mrgreen:

Maybe because I mixed the chocolate chips in by hand?

NancyTex - October 16, 2014

Maybe. Will give these a go again and test the theory.

6. jannatwrites - October 16, 2014

I’ve gotten to where I “guesstimate” on most measuring because I don’t like cleaning the measuring cups. I’ve seen a few recipes where they sneak in good stuff… I’m learning to become less judgmental and just try it. I might have to try these because I could still get in some chocolate without the flour carbs and sugar that I’ve been doing pretty good at avoiding 🙂

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

I love cooking when I can guesstimate quantities ~ e.g., soups, stews, casseroles. I don’t bake much because (a) I don’t like measuring ingredients or following recipes “to the letter” and (b) most baked goods are rather empty of nutritional value.

These worked because there are so few ingredients and I feel the end result is “real food.” I might tinker around with the recipe a bit more, but I loved using chickpeas instead of white flour.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 16, 2014

Crap, you guys are going to make me buy a food processor!!!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Haha! You could make these with a mortar and pestle. 😛

If you have a blender and want to try these, try blending the garbanzo beans with the vanilla, honey, and baking powder. Then put into a bowl and stir in the peanut butter. Then add the chocolate chips.

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 16, 2014

Okay, that’s a modification I could do! Thank you! 🙂

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

You also might be able to “mash” the garbanzo beans with a potato masher . . . or put them through a potato ricer . . . and then stir in everything else.

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

And if you do it that way, it will count as your Work Out for the day! 😎

8. suzicate - October 16, 2014

I love that you make the recipe your own…as I adore chocolate chips but abhor chickpeas, perhaps I could make a substitute as well. They look yummy!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Cooking is so much more fun when we make the recipe to suit ourselves. I read somewhere on line that someone used cannellini beans instead of chickpeas.

That said, I doubt you’d taste the chickpeas if I handed you one of these cookies. I taste the peanuts, the chocolate, and a hint of rum.

9. Grannymar - October 16, 2014

I’ll be trying this one for the weekend, I have everything in the cupboard for several variations!

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

Yay! My sister (GF/ vegan) just pulled a batch out of the oven. She used vegan carob chips. Both she and her husband thought they were good. Hope you enjoy.

10. valleygrail - October 16, 2014

Delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Enjoy, VG!

11. Shel Harrington - October 17, 2014

The cookies sound really interesting, Nancy – I’m looking forward to trying them! I’ve been roasting chick peas and putting them on my salad for crunch – I’m really enjoying them that way. I’m sure the concept has been around for a while, but it’s new for me.

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

I put chick peas on my salad to add fiber/ protein and sprinkle on sunflower seeds, peanuts, or almonds for crunch.

I’ve never roasted chickpeas first. They don’t get too hard?

Shel Harrington - October 17, 2014

Not for my taste. I imagine that they could turn into chick pea pellets if allowed to totally dehydrate, though!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Maybe I’ll give them a try. Thanks, Shel!

12. reocochran - October 17, 2014

I love hummus and put chickpeas on a lot of things, just started putting in my whole wheat pasta salad… I would love these cookies, any of the additions sound scrumptious too! Happy birthday month, just a little off, to Nancy (keep moving) Tex! I love that song, it gets you happy, just listening to it!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

Enjoy the cookies! I gave a couple to a neighbor tonight and she asked for the recipe. That’s always a good sign.

My sister made them with almonds and cashews and plans to try them with Brazil nuts. Good basic recipe to play around with.

13. Three Well Beings - October 17, 2014

You made me laugh with the description of yourself as a lazy cook who likes rum. LOL! I saw NT’s recipe this week and clipped it–I know I’d love these. But your addition of rum is a great idea! Maybe I can actually make them this weekend. They really appeal to me. 🙂

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

Yay! I plan to make these again, Debra ~ quick to mix and I wasn’t stuck baking tray after tray after tray of cookies. It only makes a tray or two of cookies. Perfect for the two of us.

My neighbor tried them last night and asked for the recipe. She laughed when I told her about the rum for vanilla substitution.

14. Anne Lene - October 18, 2014

Oh gosh, that looks soooooooo good…. Send some over my way will you 😉

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

I will definitely be making these again ~ a good for you treat!

15. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 5, 2015

How did I miss this one? I know I didn’t – because I remember telling NancyTex that there was no way to top a birthday greeting because you dedicated a song to her!!! LOL

I’ve Pinned this so I can make them – I just need peanuts… maybe a quick trip to the store is in order!

nrhatch - January 5, 2015

Enjoy! BTW: If you need any ideas for vegetarian meals, you can search “vegetarian recipes.”

And this post has links to a number of easy meatless meals:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/10/30/a-month-of-meatless-meals/

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 5, 2015

You are AWESOME!!

nrhatch - January 5, 2015

Thanks, Kate! I have my moments. :mrgreen:

16. In The Kitchen with Kate: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies | Did That Just Happen Blog - January 12, 2015

[…] Chickpea Chocolate Chip Cookies were made!  […]

nrhatch - January 12, 2015

Glad they were a hit with Mr. T . . . YOUR secret is safe with me!


What Say YOU?

