jump to navigation

That’s Just Crazy! October 15, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, People, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

IMGP3167bWe watched a show on Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Those people are crazy.

They eat dinner at 10 pm . . . and that’s the Early Bird Special.

Even families with young children arrive at restaurants to dine at midnight.

That’s not the crazy part.

The clubs open at 2 a.m. and people dance til dawn.  Then what?  A quick yawn, shower, and off to work?

And that’s not the crazy part.

Folks there are big fans of plastic surgery ~ 1 out of 3 has had work done.

That’s not the crazy part.

IMGP3151bA high percentage of folks are receiving therapy for mental health issues.

But that’s not the crazy part.

Here’s the crazy part ~> they take their psychoanalysts on vacation with them!

How bizarre!

Maybe they bring them along to check for skeletons in the closet?

Or bats in the belfry?

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - October 15, 2014

I am usually asleep on the couch by 9pm and we eat dinner at 6!

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

If you travel to Buenos Aires, you’ll have to adjust your dining schedule if you don’t want to starve. :mrgreen:

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 15, 2014

Craziness! I can beat Pix…I’m in bed asleep by 8:30. 🙂

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

My early bird friends.

I stay up later than that but can’t imagine going out to eat at midnight. And dancing to dawn holds no appeal. 😎

3. Silver in the Barn - October 15, 2014

I watched a documentary on the plastic surgery. Fascinating, really, to observe how many women look eerily alike. A lot of Americans are heading down there to have work down too as it is so much cheaper. Road trip, Nancy? We can leave our shrinks behind and come back as new women…..nipped, tucked, and unable to raise our eyebrows…

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

You mean like the chick in the top photo? All eyes and mouth with skin so tight it’s translucent? 😛

4. katecrimmins - October 15, 2014

Of course my practical side wonders how they make their money. Obviously this isn’t a super poor country!

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

I’m not sure . . . maybe from tourism? Or from the influx of entertainers who want plastic surgery? 😯

katecrimmins - October 15, 2014

or perhaps medical assistants for all the surgery.

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

Yes! Of course.

5. anotherday2paradise - October 15, 2014

Well, I’m not surprised that they need psychoanalysts, with that hectic kind of lifestyle. I bet they don’t know whether they’re coming or going, or whether they’re Arthur or Martha. 😀

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

Exactly! Sounds like living in a constant state of confusion. :mrgreen:

6. Jodi - October 15, 2014

Having lived in Argentina for a while I can attest to their schedule – it’s the same in Spain, a light snack in the early evening and then the meal much, much, later. They also observe the siesta, a national nap time where everyone goes home around 1ish and sleeps a few hours before working later into the evening. If you’re in a touristy place there are places to eat for people not accustomed to the schedule, but if you are further off the beaten path it’s hard to find a place to eat that’s not fast food.

As for the plastic surgery and psychoanalysts, no one I knew down there had either, but I wasn’t in Buenos Aires. It sounds more like a Rio thing.

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experiences, Jodi. A schedule like that would take getting used to.

The facts shared in the show we saw centered around Buenos Aires, not Argentina as a whole. Having psychoanalysts on constant call may be limited to the Big City.

7. NancyTex - October 15, 2014

I love the late-night dining ritual common to a few places I’ve visited! Now the plastic surgery and taking therapists on vacation… I’ll say no to both of those. 🙂

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

Me too! I’m not going to volunteer to go “under the knife” in order to become the next Barbie doll:

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/human-barbie-race-mixing-prompts-plastic-surgery-rise-article-1.1748615

8. Yolanda M. - October 15, 2014

I don’t recommend Spain either for the same reason (am convinced they too love having ‘work done’ most of those people are impossibly good looking). The idea of ‘dancing ’til dawn’ has always appealed to me but by 1am I’m ready to drop…:-)

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

These days the allure of a good night’s sleep trumps the Midnight Buffet and the Dance Floor.

I am not the Party Girl I once was. :mrgreen:

9. Crowing Crone - October 15, 2014

and I thought life in N.A. was crazy!!

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

I expect there’s a sprinkling of CRAZY everywhere. 😛

10. Behind the Story - October 16, 2014

Wow! This all sounds too crazy to be true. Do they still do the tango?

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

The show did feature the Tango . . . and the host did his best to “master” it. Unsuccessfully. 😀

11. William D'Andrea - October 16, 2014

The sign in the photo next to the skeleton says, “Dia De Los Muertos”. That means “Day of the Dead”, which is the Latin American Celebration of Halloween. What you may have been watching was the Annual Fiesta, in which everyone behaves differently than they normally do during the average Argentinian’s day.

On the other hand, I have been to Spain, where the dinning hours are also very late, and I had good size snacks in the early evenings.

“Don’t cry for me, Argentina?”

Have they got enough energy to cry about anything?

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

The show was about general daily life in Buenos Aires ~ the photos are from a Day of the Dead celebration we went to a few years ago. I thought they suited the post. :mrgreen:

12. jannatwrites - October 16, 2014

That is a different lifestyle! Funny, we eat dinner by 5pm… that’s like breakfast for them 🙂

nrhatch - October 16, 2014

I suspect you’re right about that ~ maybe Tapas at 5 pm at dinner at midnight.

I was also amazed at the quantity of food served in restaurants. Two appetizers of meat, followed by a main course of meat. It made me sluggish just watching the host throw it all down his gullet. 😛

13. reocochran - October 17, 2014

I would think this would not be good for them, seems that lack of sleep and eating after a certain time are early warnings of heart attack possibilities. Or contributors of heart attacks…I am a little tired, but I loved the fun part of this post, each thing sounded crazy, but you went on to give us another chuckle!

nrhatch - October 17, 2014

And you should have seen what they were eating! Piles and piles of artery clogging cholesterol laden meat.

Maybe all the dancing keeps their heart in shape. Glad you enjoyed the post. I had fun writing it.

14. Three Well Beings - October 17, 2014

This is just fascinating! I have never heard anything quite like it! Sounds like a great place to be a therapist, though. Think of all the vacations you could take. But then other questions arise. Do you leave all your other patients to fend for themselves why you go on vacation with the one? What a funny deal…I do like the idea of a multi-hour siesta! 🙂

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

They must leave an “on call therapist” in charge of the patient patients left behind ~ “Sorry. Dr. Axel is taking a vacation with another patient right now. Dr. Zed will be happy to see you in his absence. If you would like to schedule Dr. Axel for your next vacation, please press 3 at the beep.” 😛

If I fell asleep quickly (I don’t), I would love to take a siesta. But any time I try to take a nap, I just toss and turn.


What Say YOU?

