jump to navigation

Multi-Grain Medley & Squash October 14, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Minute Rice has a new Multi-Grain Medley of Brown Rice, Wheat, Quinoi, Rye, Oats, and Barley.

2014-10-13 18-01-38_0023

Intrigued, I picked up a packet ~ 6 grams of fiber per serving.  Awesome!  By way of comparison, plain white rice has a scant 1 gram of fiber per serving.

I haven’t bought Minute Rice since before Ronald Reagan was President, but I decided to give the Multi-Grain Medley a try because the idea of cooking up Brown Rice, Wheat, Quinoi, Rye, Oats, AND Barley seemed too time intensive.

In contrast, the Minute Rice Medley takes only a minute to heat and eat.

Multi-Grain Medley & Summer Squash

2014-10-13 18-08-22_0024

Saute onion, carrot, celery in olive oil.  Add sliced summer squash.  Cook until tender. Stir in 2 cups cooked grain (rice, barley, quinoi, or multi-grain medley).

2014-10-07 09-19-59_0001

Season with salt, garlic, and turmeric (or 1/2 c. of Tikki Masala).

Add a healthy splash of wine.  Toss in some raisins.  Let it simmer until the raisins plump.

If you have cooked green beans hanging around, toss them into the mix.

2014-10-07 19-03-51_0004

Sprinkle some peanuts on top to add crunch factor.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 14, 2014

Graham Kerr has nothing on you! Looks yummy, Nancy…minus the raisins. 🙂

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

Thanks, Jill. I loved watching the Galloping Gourmet with his effervescent grin.

If you want a bit of sweet in your curry (without the raisins), you could add a chopped apple or pear into the mix.

2. Don - October 14, 2014

It looks fantastic, Nancy. It must taste like a dream.

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

We both enjoyed it. The first time, I made it with turmeric. The second time, with Tikki Masala (since I had an open jar). We liked it both ways.

Summer Squash + Grains = Perfect Together! 😎

3. Silver in the Barn - October 14, 2014

I definitely would love the raisins!! I add them to a sort of Moroccan vegetable mess that I serve on couscous. OK, so how did the Minute Rice taste? Did it have that weird flavor it used to or have they improved it? I’m intrigued by this.

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

This is not your mama’s Minute Rice, Barb. 😎

I’m not sure I would want to eat it unadorned, but dressed with veggies and a sauce it made a great backdrop. It’s a time-saver to have on hand when cooking seems more chore than fun.

Also quick to toss into a soup or casserole to bulk it up.

Silver in the Barn - October 14, 2014

Yes, adding to soup would be perfect, wouldn’t it? Like that idea.

4. Becky - October 14, 2014

I’m intrigued by the mix because those grains have wildly different cooking times ordinarily. It looks fantastic!

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

Exactly my thought, Becky. Creating a medley like this would require synchronizing watches to ensure the oats and quinoi didn’t turn to mush before the brown rice, wheat, and barley finished cooking.

5. Val Boyko - October 14, 2014

It sounds and looks yummy Nancy! I’m always a bit wary of prepared rice because of the sodium content (?) I’ll look out for it.
Val x

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

I checked the package ~ 230 mg of sodium per cup. I used 2 cups of the grain medley with about 6 cups of veggies.

Val Boyko - October 14, 2014

That’s not bad! I’m going to buy some. Thanks Chef!

6. katecrimmins - October 14, 2014

Looks interesting. I may try it but in a different way. I am not a curry fan but you can change out the seasonings and make Italian style or Greek-ish or just about anything. You can’t go wrong by adding veggies.

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

Exactly. It’s not seasoned, so you can adjust the seasonings of the veggies to suit ~ oregano for Italian, cumin for Mexican. Etc.

7. NancyTex - October 14, 2014

Like you, I haven’t considered Minute Rice in a couple of decades. This might be worth a second look!
p.s. Trader Joe’s has a frozen rice medley with similar grains, as I recall. We don’t have TJs in Canada, so I’ll have to wait til I get back to Vegas to compare sodium values and other nutritional elements. Thanks for the yummy looking recipe, NH.

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

I just checked on line ~ it’s got essentially the same calories, a little less fiber, and no sodium:

http://www.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/trader-joes/rice-medley-(brown-rice-red-rice-and-black-barley)

NancyTex - October 14, 2014

I probably bought it because of the low (no) sodium. That’s the one thing I try to watch to avoid having to go back on BP meds. It was a really nice texture and lovely flavor too, as I recall. I am pretty sure I’ve still got one package in my freezer in LV. 🙂

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

I don’t pay much attention to sodium because my BP is low.

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

Our nearest TJ’s is 45 minutes from us so we don’t get there often. I won’t get the Minute Rice Medley often because of the packaging ~ if it was in a box with multiple servings, I’d be happier.

8. Crowing Crone - October 14, 2014

This looks really good and something I would make, well except for the raisins which in my little world are referred to as “alien poop”. hee

nrhatch - October 14, 2014

Jill would rather omit the raisins too. :mrgreen:

If you still have a bunch of greens, I think combining a medley of grains and sauteed greens would be FAB!

Crowing Crone - October 14, 2014

o yes, such is pretty much a daily staple on our table.

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

Lucky you! My favorite is Swiss Chard.

9. Pix Under the Oaks - October 15, 2014

I will have to check it out. When I first heard in was Minute Rice Medley I immediately thought sodium too but that doesn’t seem to be a problem. Looks colorful and good to eat and good for you!

nrhatch - October 15, 2014

This year, we focused on cutting most processed foods from our daily diet with some success. When we do use processed food in a dish (as here), I add fresh food to the mix to up the flavor and goodness. I won’t buy this product often, but may keep a package on hand for last minute time-tight dinners.

10. Three Well Beings - October 17, 2014

I’m really excited to learn about this Minute Rice, Nancy. I haven’t used Minute Rice in probably as many years as you referenced, and would not have even noticed this on the shelves, I’m quite sure. I love the way you’ve used it…and the peanuts on top is a really good addition I wouldn’t have considered. This would be the perfect “take it work” lunch! I love to make big pots of varied rice and grains, but you’re right in that it often takes some time. This would be the perfect product when I’m caught short–which is often! 🙂

nrhatch - October 18, 2014

I don’t think I would have noticed it on the shelves either. I saw a coupon for it and decided to check the package for nutrition. A neighbor tried it the other night ~ just adding craisins to it ~ she and her husband both like the mix.

As you note, perfect for a “take it to work” lunch when you’re short on time.


What Say YOU?

