jump to navigation

A Rooftop Happy Hour October 9, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Happiness, Humor, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

On Sunday, as we headed back to our car, I snapped this inviting bench outside a local watering hole.

2014-10-05 15-31-07_0034

Caught up in the flow of the day, the bench caused an immediate craving for a cold adult beverage.  So we headed to the Chart House to enjoy Happy Hour under the impossibly blue sky.

2014-10-05 16-15-45_0035

Situated on the Rooftop Deck, we ordered a trio of appetizers and two drinks.

I planned to take a photo when they arrived, but I forgot.  So instead of a gorgeous presentation like this:

2014-06-16 12-23-23_0003

Or like this:

IMGP3195b

Or like this:

2013-11-14 17-38-02_0002

I snapped the last two Fried Artichoke Hearts with Lemon Basil Aioli:

2014-10-05 17-07-09_0037

And the tail end of the plate of yummy Hummus:

2014-10-05 17-07-14_0038

And the last few Truffled Fries and Friends (after the Friends got eaten):

2014-10-05 17-07-19_0039

So you’ll have to take my word for it ~ they looked as good as they tasted!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Silver in the Barn - October 9, 2014

Love those fried artichokes! We’ve started ordering an assortment of appetizers in lieu of two entrees quite frequently these days. What were the Friends with the fries?

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Same here, Barb. We don’t go out to eat often, but when we do we’re fans of shared appetizers/tapas. We almost never order entrees, especially at dinner.

Friends = Sweet potatoes and Plantain Chips.

2. valleygrail - October 9, 2014

That looked like a perfectly delicious day!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Awesome weather too ~> cool, crisp, and brilliant blue. Bliss! 😎

3. Val Boyko - October 9, 2014

Mouth watering!!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

We had a fun time soaking up the sun and taking in the sights (and the food).

4. katecrimmins - October 9, 2014

You have no self control and what a charmed life! I love days like these.

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Haha! When we go all out . . . we go all out. After months in the 90’s, it was great to enjoy the mid-70’s under sunny skies.

katecrimmins - October 9, 2014

with wonderful food and a little drinky-poo!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Exactly! The perfect respite after the Arts & Crafts show.

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 9, 2014

I like the half eaten pictures better – much more my reality! 🙂

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Thanks, Kate! Sometimes I remember to Snap A Shot before diving in . . . but when I’m HUNGRY all bets are off.

6. Jill Weatherholt - October 9, 2014

What a beautiful day for outdoor dining. Ah…the food looks delicious! I love the bench! 🙂

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Isn’t that bench darling. I figured it was advertising a pet store. Nope. A watering hole for peoples.

This time of year is my favorite, Jill. Temps are enough cooler that sitting in the sun doesn’t feel like you’re roasting in an oven.

Jill Weatherholt - October 9, 2014

Florida in October is lovely, come to think of it, fall and winter are pretty fantastic as well…enjoy!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

It’s a bit like coming out of hibernation. 😎

7. NancyTex - October 9, 2014

Happy Hour meals are my favourite meals! 🙂

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Mine too. If we go out to eat, it’s either at lunch time or for Happy Hour. Almost never at night. And Happy Hour food is FUN Food.

NancyTex - October 9, 2014

Not to mention Happy Hour drinks. 🙂

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Yes! Happy Hour + Adult Beverages + Fun Food = Perfect Together!

8. Yolanda M. - October 9, 2014

YUM!!! fried artichokes! will have to give them a try.

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

They had just appeared on the menu ~ fun little poppers! Not quite as tasty as the fried asparagus we enjoyed in the spring (top food shot).

Those spears were one of the tastiest things I’ve eaten this year.

9. granny1947granny1947 - October 9, 2014

I believe you…millions wouldn’t!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Thanks, Granny! I would never try to steer you wrong.

10. Eric Tonningsen - October 9, 2014

Asparagus and sweet fries and artichokes, oh my. Next time may I join you? 🙂 Chart House’s are a great destination, seemingly anywhere.

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

Yes! Join us next time, Eric.

The Chart House has some fabulous locations on their website. This is the only one we’ve frequented in person.

11. thecontentedcrafter - October 9, 2014

It’s 6 am and my mouth is watering over an array of fine looking food-stuffs! The bench is a keeper – why can’t all benches be painted in happy and interesting manners? That was a fun Happy Hour!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

I especially love that it’s got a name ~ Wet Noses. Art with a bit of whimsy is always good for a smile.

12. Pix Under the Oaks - October 9, 2014

It sounds like a perfect, and I mean perfect afternoon!!!!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

It was great. In fact, this might be the perfect place to meet up with you and CH next time: It’s 30 minutes closer to Venice, just north of St. Armand’s Circle. The food is fun. The views are great. And wonderful HH prices on drinks.

Plus, the Chart House uses the initials CH on napkins, etc. Perfect for your CH!

13. ericjbaker - October 9, 2014

My enjoyment of eating outside increases in a positively correlated way with my proximity to a natural body of water. In other words, no ocean or lake, I prefer to eat inside.

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

I agree with you 100%! Without ocean, stream, lake, babbling brook, or lovely mountain vistas, I’d rather eat inside. Sitting outside at a sidewalk cafe (with pedestrians and cars whizzing by 5 ft. from the table) holds no appeal.

14. suzicate - October 9, 2014

You’re making me hungry…and thirsty for an adult beverage…yay, it’s almost five o’clock! Love, love, love that bench!

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

We are T-2 minutes to dinner time and I’m starving.

I dropped a bowl this afternoon, cut my foot, and thought I’d need stitches . . . but I don’t! The adrenaline rush and going into shock depleted my reserves. I need FOOD!

But I’m grateful to be HOME, not sitting at Urgent Care. Yay!

suzicate - October 9, 2014

Oh my, glad you didn’t have to make a trip to UC…that would have made dinner later!

nrhatch - October 10, 2014

Exactly. Not to mention the germs, the stitches, the waste of time waiting.

We had tortilla pizzas for dinner ~ just what the doctor ordered. :mrgreen:

15. Barb - October 9, 2014

Mmmmm – yummy food and perfect weather – what more could you want?

nrhatch - October 9, 2014

This is a fantastic time of year to be here . . . just enough of a drop in temps that being outside is a delight (instead of a sauna).

16. Patricia - October 9, 2014

Sounds like a perfect fall day.

nrhatch - October 10, 2014

Splendid! Hope you’re enjoying the changing views from your balcony.

Patricia - October 12, 2014

I am! The fall sky is my favorite.

17. Grannymar - October 10, 2014

Almost 10pm here and looking at those photos, I am hungry all over again!

nrhatch - October 10, 2014

We’re heading out to an Art Reception. I’m hoping they have some yummy nibbles as our pantry is all pulled apart for painting.

Grannymar - October 10, 2014

Enjoy!

nrhatch - October 10, 2014

We didn’t care for the art, but we did enjoy a few nibbles before leaving for a Sneak Peek at Perico Preserve ~ to spy on the birds that are moving in.

18. Three Well Beings - October 11, 2014

I’m glad to see you enjoyed them! 🙂 That’s almost better than the formal presentation anyway. I love truffle fries…you made me hungry! 🙂

nrhatch - October 11, 2014

Thanks for understanding my inability to resist diving in, Debra. I’m not a fan of fungus, but I enjoyed truffle fries (and truffled mac & cheese at The Waterfront). Just a hint of earthiness.

19. Behind the Story - October 11, 2014

What a beautiful sunny day! Everything looks delicious. I hope the drinks were good too.

nrhatch - October 11, 2014

We did enjoy our adult beverages ~ Rye & Ginger for me, beer for BFF. It felt civilized AND sunny!

20. jannatwrites - October 12, 2014

I love that bench (effective advertising- or “appetizing” 🙂 ) I love happy hour foods, but I can so easily eat too much of them, so I try to keep my distance. The virtual taste here won’t have any negative effects, though!

nrhatch - October 12, 2014

We only eat out a few times a month, so I don’t worry about the fat & calorie count of what we order . . . or it’s nutritional value.

After losing 10 pounds this Spring, I’m happy to report that 3 months later it’s still GONE. Yay!


What Say YOU?

