jump to navigation

Blue Crab Bay September 27, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, Nature, People.
trackback

Wikipedia ~ Chesapeake Bay (in Public Domain)

A native of the Eastern Shore of Maryland got stopped by a game warden as he was leaving the bay with an ice chest full of live blue crabs and bay water.

The game warden asked the man, “Do you have a license to catch those crabs?”

“Naw, my friend, I ain’t got no license. These here are my pet crabs.”

“Pet crabs?”

“Yep. Every night I take these crabs down to the bay and let ’em swim around for a while.   Then I whistle and they jump right back into this ice chest and I take ’em home.”

“That’s a bunch of Bull!   Crabs can’t do that!”

The man looked at the game warden for a moment and then said, “It’s the truth.   I’ll show you.   It really works.”

“Okay, I’ve GOT to see this!”

The man poured the crabs into the river and stood and waited.

After several minutes, the game warden turned to him and said,  “Well?”

“Well, what?” said the man.

“When are you going to call them back?”

“Call who back?”

“The crabs!”

“WHAT crabs?”

Folks from the Eastern Shore of Maryland may not be as smart as some, but they ain’t as dumb as many.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Inspiration:  e-mail from unknown author

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 27, 2014

That’s great, Nancy! Oh, I love the Eastern Shore of Maryland, it’s so beautiful. 🙂

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

We lived on the Eastern Shore for 8 years before moving to Florida. Beautiful vistas over the Chesapeake Bay.

2. Carol Balawyder - September 27, 2014

LOL. What a fun story. 🙂

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

Have a fun-filled day, Carol!

3. Tammy - September 27, 2014

That’s fun.

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

I get a kick out of cagey characters.

4. Silver in the Barn - September 27, 2014

BWAHAHAHA! Having spent many summers boating on the Chesapeake bay, this rings very true!!

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

I released you from the SPAMMER SLAMMER, Barbara. Thanks for the alert.

Hope you can stay topside now.

5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - September 27, 2014

Them there are my peeps. Did he have some Old Bay on his hip pocket?

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

Ya gotta have Old Bay!

6. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - September 27, 2014

Hilarious story. I will share it with my son-in-law, a Maryland native. He’s actually heading that direction this week for a wedding, and I’m sure he’s dreaming of blue crabs already.

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

Cool! Hope he has a great time picking some blue crabs.

7. Grannymar - September 27, 2014

A well seasoned crab catcher!

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

He knows one end of the cooler from the other. 😉

8. Crowing Crone - September 27, 2014

an excellent tale!

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

It’s hard to trip up a trickster.

9. katecrimmins - September 27, 2014

Fun story!

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

Perfect for getting rid of any cranky crabby-ness. Hope your pond project is going well.

katecrimmins - September 27, 2014

Finished it today. It was a lot of work but well worth it. Thanks for asking…

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

Yay! Hope that the frogs, tadpoles, and fish are digging their new digs.

10. brickhousechick - September 27, 2014

Oh my goodness, that is a great story! Great way to get out of a sticky situation. My son is an avid fisherman and follows all the fishing rules to a T. He gets upset when he sees others breaking the rules. I’ll have to share this story with him. 🙂

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

I’m glad your son follows the rules ~ but hope he gets a kick out of the joke. 😀

11. Behind the Story - September 27, 2014

That’s hilarious!

Yesterday I was walking along the waterfront, and I saw a big crab a couple of feet from the shore. It seemed a shame not to scoop him up. Good thing I didn’t have a bucket.

nrhatch - September 27, 2014

I love watching crabs sidling about in the water. West Coast crabs make Blue Crabs look like dwarfs!

12. jannatwrites - September 27, 2014

That’s one way to get rid of the evidence!

nrhatch - September 28, 2014

What evidence? 😉

13. ericjbaker - September 28, 2014

It’s the Western Shore of Maryland people you really have to watch out for!

nrhatch - September 28, 2014

Yup. Especially in and around D.C.

14. Pix Under the Oaks - September 29, 2014

Ha ha! Wasn’t expecting that!

nrhatch - September 29, 2014

Neither was the game warden! Tricky rabbit.

15. Three Well Beings - September 30, 2014

What a great joke! I really like this one. And it seems to me that this might be information I should hold onto if I ever need to destroy some evidence!

nrhatch - September 30, 2014

Yes! Keep this in your toolbag of tricks, Debra. 😛


What Say YOU?

