jump to navigation

When I Am Well Rested . . . September 14, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Health & Wellness, Mindfulness.
trackback

IMGP3523bSleep and present moment awareness go a long way toward making sure we focus on what matters most to us.

When I am well-rested, I am happy, enthusiastic, upbeat, positive, and at peace.  I exude joy!

I slept LATE
(Til half past nine)
It felt GREAT
Sleep is divine!

In the flow of life, I remember to eat right, remain mindful, and get daily exercise.

Expanding my happiness still further.

I enjoy life, relax, and overflow with vitality and gratitude . . . and all that positivity spills out on those around me.

When I am well-rested, I remain awake and aware.  I avoid getting thrown off kilter by the every pothole in the path:

“A stable mind is like the hub of a wheel. The world may spin around you, but the mind is steady.”

Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja (BKS) Iyengar

Scruffy-CatIn contrast, when I’m overtired and forget to stay in the NOW, I’m cranky and irritable and the toxic sludge of negativity keeps me from “going with the flow.”

Things slip through the cracks until, exhausted from struggling against the current, I go back to Step One and get some sleep.

Aah Morpheus . . .that’s better!

Related post:  Sleep, Beautiful Elusive Sleep (Views and Mews by Coffee Kat)

Comments»

1. totsymae1011 - September 14, 2014

Eating well has a lot to do with resting well, me thinks. I’m getting on track. Have a great one!

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Good point. If eating late in the evening or consuming too much sugar or caffeine interferes with getting restful sleep, it’s up to us to make better choices (knowing that we will feel better).

For me, the upward spiral starts on a solid foundation of SLEEP.

2. granny1947 - September 14, 2014

I SO agree with you.
I am off for a nap!

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Sweet Dreams!

granny1947 - September 14, 2014

It was dreamless, which was better for a change.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

My dreams last night included: car bombs, late library books, dirty raincoats (used as blankets by the homeless), unsigned leases, college roommates, etc.

And NO CHOCOLATE anywhere in sight!

3. katecrimmins - September 14, 2014

Back from vacation with tons of laundry and work. Finally got a good night sleep and it makes all the difference! Of course, yesterday it was raining buckets and today the sun is shining. I suppose that helps too. Almost bought two coffees for me today (just because I deserve it) but I controlled myself. Now I wonder why I bother controlling myself when I clearly deserve it!

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

You said a dirty word . . . “laundry.” :mrgreen:

I wonder what % of people go away on vacation to get some much needed R&R (rest and relaxation) only to come home EXHAUSTED from having too much fun.

katecrimmins - September 14, 2014

🙂 Vacation is exhausting….

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Some vacations take everything to excess ~> eating, drinking, talking, socializing, etc. After spending a week in a state of perpetual “hang-over,” we are forced to come home and get some SLEEP! :mrgreen:

4. Pix Under the Oaks - September 14, 2014

Interesting fact but not surprising.. I have not had wine (no alcohol of any type) for two weeks. I am sleeping so much better. Miss the wine a bit, but enjoying my cheese and crackers under the oaks.. 🙂

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

I don’t drink much these days either, Pix. I might have one cocktail a week. If I drink it early in the evening, I don’t think it interferes with sleep. But I don’t do well if I drink wine at dinner ~> sleep is fitful and foggy.

Enjoy your cheese and crackers with CH!

5. Val Boyko - September 14, 2014

Couldn’t agree more Nancy! yawn … off to day 3 of yoga teacher training 🙂

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Woo Hoo! Hope you’re enjoying the experience. Is this a Cyber Class . . . or are students and teachers in physical proximity?

6. livelytwist - September 14, 2014

This is timely. I’ve just made sleep a priority, again. When I’m sleep deprived, I fall ill way too easily, and I can’t afford that.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Good for you, Timi. There are better places to cut corners than cutting back on restorative and healing sleep.

SLEEP is good for what ails us.

7. Grannymar - September 14, 2014

I have recently discovered peaceful sleep after years of disturbed nights and long hours of wakefulness. I have no idea how or why the change happened, but I am making the most of it. Good food for me is cooked from scratch at home and portions are added to the freezer for days I am busy or not in the mood to cook.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

That’s awesome, GM! Like you, I am sleeping better lately and am not sure of the HOW or the WHY . . . but I am enjoying it while it lasts.

And I agree about Good Eats too. Right now, we have 7-8 home-cooked meals in the freezer (curries, soups, taco filling, chili) ~ ready to heat & eat when we don’t want to cook.

8. Becky - September 14, 2014

I always say, the worst part of insomnia is the day after you struggle with it. Those days, I take it easy on myself and tuck myself in as early as possible.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

That is the best RX ever ~ early to bed and sweet dreams.

9. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - September 14, 2014

Your words remind me how thankful I am that the practice of mindfulness healed a longstanding and debilitating insomnia habit. I sleep like a baby now.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Yay! When we pay attention to the thoughts we think during the day . . . they don’t poke us and keep us awake all night!

10. jannatwrites - September 14, 2014

I felt kind of like the orange kitty this morning (the dogs keep waking me up way too early.) I’m better now 🙂

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Pets are great . . . except when they are persistent in wanting attention at ill timed moments. Like when we are ASLEEP.

I often ask Tigger, “What part of ASLEEP don’t you understand?”

11. Jill Weatherholt - September 14, 2014

What a great photo of you, Nancy! Ugh…I slept terrible last night. I woke up every 1/2 hour. I think it was the 4:00 pm Starbucks Mocha Lite Frappuccino. 😦 I hope for a better night of sleep tonight.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Even reading about caffeine after 4 p.m. keeps me awake. 😯

Good luck catching up on some ZZZ’s tonight.

12. ericjbaker - September 14, 2014

Getting eight consecutive hours of sleep would be like winning the lottery at this point.

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

Yes! Winning the Sleep Lottery for me means getting 7-8 hours of sleep without only one or two brief interruptions.

13. NancyTex - September 14, 2014

I think many people underestimate the negative effects of sleep deprivation, priding themselves on “only needing 5 (or 4, or 6, etc) hours of sleep a night. I just nod politely. 🙂

nrhatch - September 14, 2014

I read advice from a motivational speaker claiming that MOST people only need 5-6 hours of sleep a night ~ he advocated cutting back on sleep to get an extra 30-60 hours a month for productivity.

I laughed at some of his other advice too. :mrgreen:

NancyTex - September 15, 2014

So much scientific data suggests that guy is dead wrong. Forget he empirical evidence though; I’ll just go by personal experience. I’ve witnessed some serious cray-cray among the sleep deprived (much of it my own!). 😉

nrhatch - September 15, 2014

Exactly. I know that my body needs more than 5-6 hours a night if I’m going to be at my best.

14. Silver in the Barn - September 15, 2014

Please have a word with my almost fifteen-year-old Berkley-boy who seems not to be overly concerned with my need for sleep! Every word of this post is so true!

nrhatch - September 15, 2014

Naughty pup!

15. beeblu - September 15, 2014

I bought myself a wrist gadget that tells me to go to bed, haha – it’s working 😄

nrhatch - September 15, 2014

Hahaha! What would we do without our gadgets. 😎


What Say YOU?

