jump to navigation

Nothing Knowledge September 5, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

170px-PuckCoverMuch of what we read on the internet and watch on TV is fluff.  

And nonsense.

We think we’re “in the know” if we keep tabs on the lives of the rich and famous on our Smart Phones . . . while monitoring the strokes of the U.S. Open on our iPads . . . while catching breaking news on TV:

Some jury somewhere reached a verdict about someone or something.

Even if none of these things impact our lives in a direct way, we refuse to remain in the dark.

When a celebrity dies, has a wardrobe malfunction, or twerks in someone’s face, tabloids toss out sordid details to boost readership.

Instead of barking out, TMI!!!, we emulate Pavlov’s dogs (or seals training at Sea World) and eat up this “nothing knowledge.”

It’s free!  So why not?

Because there is no such thing as a free lunch.

The vortex created by this nothing knowledge, the black hole of social media manipulation, distracts us from our stated priorities ~ our friends, our families, our health and well-being, our dreams.

chimp2

What we put into our mouths is with us only a short while before making an exit through the back door.  What we put into our minds may haunt those hallowed halls forever.

Maybe one day, in the not-so-foreseeable future, we’ll evolve past the point of ingesting anything and everything tossed our way.

Until that day arrives, do your best to steer clear of whine fests, pity parties, and other non-productive time sucks that put your tizzy in a tail spin.

Aah . . . that’s better!

* Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma ~ which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary. ~ Steve Jobs

* It’s amazing the things we find to do . . . to avoid doing amazing things.

* Time is our most valuable and irreplaceable commodity ~ a bank account which mandates daily withdrawals, prohibits deposits, and pays dividends when we spend it wisely.

Comments»

1. shreejacob - September 5, 2014

Heh…yup yup. However, I *do* check up on my celebrity crushes (I really don’t think 42 is too old for crushes…right? LOL) once in a while. hehehe.

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

It’s been ages since my last celebrity crush ~ too many gorgeous exteriors hide vacuous cores. 😎

Eric Tonningsen - September 5, 2014

Well said, NH!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Actors are adept at wearing masks. The odd glimpse behind the curtain may reveal that they are all smoke and mirrors.

2. suzicate - September 5, 2014

Celebrities? Who are they? Seriously, I have no idea who is “it” these days! I do watch movies sometimes but I usually don’t know who the stars are anymore. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not…perhaps, I should be a little more in the know!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

I watch movies and a sprinkling of other shows but feel no need to be conversant about which star is which, who they’re hooked up with (this week), or which designer duds they wore to this week’s award ceremony. :mrgreen:

The less time we spend in mind-numbing pursuits causing brain atrophy, the better. Assuming we don’t want our brains to go the way of our tails ~> shrinking from non-use.

3. Silver in the Barn - September 5, 2014

So true, Nancy, and so well stated. There is a cost to be paid for absorbing all this stuff and nonsense and your description of it as a vortex is right on. How’d you get so smart?

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Haha! I got smart by jealously guarding the entrance to my mind and only letting the best thoughts enter.

Or, maybe, it was just dumb luck. 😛

From “We’re Getting More Stoopider” . . .

If we brought an average citizen from 1,000 B.C. to the present, they would be far brighter than the average Joe of today:

“I would wager that if an average citizen from Athens of 1000 BC were to suddenly appear among us, he or she would be among the brightest and most intellectually alive of our colleagues and companies, with a good memory, a broad range of ideas, and a clear-sighted view of important issues.”

Gerald Crabtree, a geneticist at Stanford University, whose findings were published in the journal Trends in Genetics.

And, just think, that citizen of Athens is none the wiser about Kim Kardashian and celebrities of like ilk who garner far too much recognition and attention for far too little reason. Sometimes ignorance IS bliss!

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/were-getting-more-stoopider/

4. Val Boyko - September 5, 2014

I choose not to listen or watch. The good and the bad is that I am so out of touch with the what others seem to talking about.
It is a real concern though that we swallow what is being fed to us! Like Kool Aid ….
Val x

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Good on you, Val!

There is a Tibetan saying: “at the door of the miserable rich man sleeps the contented beggar.” The point of this saying is not that poverty is a virtue, but that happiness does not come from wealth ~ it comes from setting limits to one’s desires, and living within those limits with satisfaction. ~ His Holiness The Dalai Lama

The benefit of “setting limits” and “living within those limits” is apparent when I scan the many “offerings” on the internet and TV.

5. Jill Weatherholt - September 5, 2014

Well said, Nancy! I fall into Val’s category…not paying attention to the latest “hot topic.”
Love the Jobs quote!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

I love the Jobs quote because he recognizes the power and wisdom of our inner voice . . . when it’s not drowned out by monkey chatter or media manipulation.

Every once in a while a teaser headline lures me in ~> “How To Stalk Without Getting Caught.” :mrgreen:

6. NancyTex - September 5, 2014

I am unabashedly unapologetic for my pop culture knowledge and ongoing interest. I think the fact that I am capable of running a $35m business for one of the world’s most recognized brands, demolishing walls in a DIY reno, sweating my little heart out AND able to tell you what Gwyneth wore at the 2008 Oscars makes me a Renaissance Woman. 🙂

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Go you! We all need a little “down time” ~ for some it’s sports, for others it’s cars, for still others it’s pop culture.

Make your own kind of music . . . with eyes wide open. 😯

NancyTex - September 5, 2014

And dancing like a maniac! 🙂

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Your wish is my command:

7. ericjbaker - September 5, 2014

Hey, I didn’t give you permission to use my photograph today!

That’s probably the 10th time I’ve made that joke here in response to a monkey or ape picture you’ve posted. For me, it never gets old. For you… I’ll find out someday when I click on your link and get a message telling me I’ve been banned.

😉

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Haha! You are your famous eye brows are not in danger of being banned, Eric. You can put that in your Twitter feed!

8. MargeKatherine - September 5, 2014

Hi Nancy, I adore your post and agree that the news is only entertainment – a way to fill up space to get a paycheck. I love this quote —
* It’s amazing the things we find to do . . . to avoid doing amazing things.
Warm regards – Margekatherine

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Thanks, Marge. As NT pointed out at Comment #6, some of us do amazing things AND still find time to enjoy some “down time.”

And if we’re enjoying ourselves . . . is it wasted time?

9. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 5, 2014

I don’t keep up with celebrities, but now I’m wondering if I’m feeling a bit of guilt for my blog reading time!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Wait! Did you hear that? You’ve caused a mass exodus of subscribers from SLTW due to your “misplaced guilt.” :mrgreen:

I wrote a post that might be relevant:

“As with any activity in life, mindful awareness of the WHY is THE KEY. Once you understand WHY you blog, you’ll know whether you are using your limited time on the planet effectively.”

“Only we know whether the time we spend in cyber space is time well spent, or just another “Waggish Way to Waste Time.””

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/blogging-a-waggish-waste-of-time/

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 5, 2014

Your blog is too good for a mass exodus! 🙂

But thanks for linking to your older post! I try and be disciplined about my time spent blogging – and I had to learn to forgive myself if I can’t read every blog I want to! It can be hard to balance, but keeping it all in perspective helps!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Agreed. And thanks!

My reasons for reading specific blogs vary from blog to blog. On some, it’s the quality of the writing. On others, the subject matter aligns with my interests. On still others, it’s the personality of the blogger that keeps me coming back for more.

Of course, my favorite blogs are a combination of the three ~ quality writing, varied and insight-filled posts, and more than a dash of personality and pizzazz! If I visit a blog a few times without getting a suitable return on my investment (a laugh, a thought to ponder, etc.), I don’t stick around for long.

Life is too short to spend it reading empty words.

10. In the Stillness of Willow Hill - September 5, 2014

Facebook has been deep-sixed long ago. If I want to converse with my family, or colleagues…..I’ll do it in person……hoping that they can put down their screens long enough to see my eyes and my smile.

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Good call, Willow. I am “on” Facebook but rarely spend time there. I swing by for a few minutes now and then to check up on nieces and nephews and a few friends. I prefer the more substantive nature of blogging over the largely superficial chit chat I’ve noticed on FB.

William D'Andrea - September 6, 2014

I agree about facebook. It’s just too much to follow; going off in all directions to infinity; and my time on the internet is limited. There are often many days, when the only blog I post anything on is yours here; and then its just a few sentences like I’m writing now.
Thank you Nancy for being here.

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

Thanks, William. If we had unlimited time to dig for gold, the internet is a veritable treasure trove of information. When time is limited, it’s a good practice to find a few sites that resonate and enjoy our interactions there. Thanks for stopping by!

11. Eric Tonningsen - September 5, 2014

“The vortex created by nothing knowledge…” Beautiful, Nancy. Have thought of it in these terms but your words are spot on!

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

Thanks, ET! I enjoy surfing the web for information that adds value to my life, but it’s easy to get sucked down the Blog Hole and end up like Alice, lost in what appeared to be a Wonderland.

12. jannatwrites - September 5, 2014

I agree! It’s funny you should write this today, because just last night, my husband went to bed and left the TV (and the remote control out of reach, as he often does.) I was too lazy to search for the remote so I caught bits and pieces of TMZ. After many thoughts of “so?” and “who cares?” it occurred to me, they get paid to be all up in peoples’ business. I guess someone must be interested or those jobs wouldn’t exist, but, like excess sugar, I can live without it 😛 Crazy world we live in.

nrhatch - September 5, 2014

I found the tabloids far more enticing in my teens and twenties ~ and would have enjoyed being invited to a party populated by the Hollywood Glitterati.

Now I prefer to watch them when they are “in character” (from my living room) rather than rubbing elbows with them “in person.”

13. laurakelly2 - September 6, 2014

Well said!

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

We are in the best position to observe the return we get on our investment of time ~> what might be a “non-productive time suck” for some might be a “valuable anthropological exercise” to others.

Here’s to remaining awake and aware about the choices we’re making.

14. Behind the Story - September 6, 2014

I’ll make this quick, and then turn off the computer. I have a list of things I really want to do today. You’ve reminded me.

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

Haha! I’ve encouraged everyone to work on their “To Do” lists today. :mrgreen:

We just returned from a Fun and Festive India Fest about the Festivals of India ~ costumes, music, dancing and yummy fare. We sampled Samosas, Spring Rolls, and Bhel Puri.

Behind the Story - September 6, 2014

Mm. Yum! I love Indian food. Just returned from test driving a Honda Accord and then having a Sangria with my sister.

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

Sounds like fun. I’ve owned either a Honda Accord or a Honda Civic since 1986. Love them.

I’d never had Bhel Puri before. Several dancers recommended it. We both enjoyed it ~ unlike anything I’ve ever had before. Sweet, salty, spicy, crunchy, and satisfying.

15. Perfecting Motherhood - September 9, 2014

I’m so glad I don’t watch TV anymore and I sure don’t miss it. I was discussing this neverending access to information with a friend and she suggested that’s probably why kids aren’t impressed with the world around them anymore. They’ve already seen it on the internet and it’s enough for them. How sad.

nrhatch - September 9, 2014

We’re pretty selective in the shows we watch ~ we watched two terrific shows on the Smithsonian Channel the other night. But not having a TV in your house keeps your kids from being bombarded with Food Ads for Nothing Nutrition.

Perfecting Motherhood - September 10, 2014

That’s true, although they get to see that food at the school lunch table every day with their peers. 🙂

nrhatch - September 10, 2014

We watched Fed Up last night ~ addressing the growing epidemic of childhood obesity fueled, in part, by the processed food served in school cafeterias. So different than the school lunches we enjoyed.

It’s sad that the government is subsidizing this epidemic, brushing the truth under the rug, and kowtowing to lobbyists while allowing the food industries to hijack the health of the country.

Perfecting Motherhood - September 10, 2014

It’s obviously cheaper to buy already processed food than workers to cook real food. And since dollars going to school are going down, something’s got to give…

nrhatch - September 10, 2014

Sometimes when we explore thoughts like that (as they did in the film), we find they are NOT true. Especially if we factor in the hidden costs.

Perfecting Motherhood - September 10, 2014

Unfortunately California is broke and school budgets get cut every year. So they pass propositions to fund schools, especially millions of dollars for sport equipment and structures, and nothing for inside the classroom.

nrhatch - September 10, 2014

Maybe we should transform the Ice Bucket challenge into the Lunch Bucket challenge?


What Say YOU?

