jump to navigation

Beyond A Reasonable Doubt September 3, 2014

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Fiction, People.
trackback

Beyond a doubt, Beyond A Reasonable Doubt is not reasonable . . .

Many facets of the contrived plot don’t make sense because people wouldn’t act that way in the real world.  The performances aren’t anything to get excited about.  And the timetable of the movie is way off.

That said, we enjoyed the film’s predictable twists, turns, and straight-aways.

The basic premise:  An investigative reporter sets himself up as the prime suspect in a murder by fabricating circumstantial evidence after the fact to boost his career and expose a corrupt district attorney who is fabricating D.N.A. evidence after the fact to boost his conviction rate.

Life is full of pot holes on the journey from Here to There.  This film emulates life.  Navigate around the plot holes and you’ll reach the beginning in the end.

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 3, 2014

Working in the DA’s office, I might find this interesting…thanks for the review, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

I hope the D.A. you work with isn’t as seedy as the D.A. Michael Douglas portrays. That would be BAD. :mrgreen:

Jill Weatherholt - September 3, 2014

No, he’s a good guy, as are all of the Assistant DAs. 🙂
Michael Douglas is good at seedy. 🙂

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Yay. It’s nice to work with honest and ethical people who are full of integrity.

2. Val Boyko - September 3, 2014

When we know what the pot holes are, we can navigate them and enjoy the ride! Sounds like a good movie for a rainy day!
Val x

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

This movie exceeded the sum of its parts. Taken individually, its components where “clunky.” In totality, it worked.

3. NancyTex - September 3, 2014

I’d never even heard of this one. Thanks for the review, NH.

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

It’s about 5 years old, NT. Netflix recommended it when I added a “similar” movie to our queue. I like crime dramas and thrillers with a mystery to figure out . . . as long as there isn’t torture, terror, or too much blood and gore.

And if there is a unexpected TWIST at the end . . . Huzzah!

NancyTex - September 3, 2014

I get what you mean about the predictable outcomes. I refer to those as my ‘airplane movies’: ones I wouldn’t pay to watch in a theatre, or even waste my at-home/leisure time on, necessarily, but perfect for when I’m trapped in a tin can at 30,000 feet! 🙂

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Both of us found the totality of this movie “worth it” . . . but when I looked at the individual parts, I wondered why. :mrgreen:

4. Silver in the Barn - September 3, 2014

I’m still waiting for “The Lunch Box” to arrive in Richmond….another of your recommendations.

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Sometimes Netlix sends a “bonus” movie from our local distribution point while we wait for our more “esoteric” picks to arrive from elsewhere. 😛

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 3, 2014

I don’t recall this movie either – I’ll have to add it to my queue! Thanks!

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

This movie is “wrong” in so many ways, but it held our attention and when the credits rolled, we both said, “wow! great ending.”

6. shreejacob - September 3, 2014

Hmmm…don’t have watched the movie. Not too sure what you meant by saying “Navigate around the plot holes and you’ll reach the beginning in the end”…but what I got was this short visual of avoiding all the opportunities and things that happen in our lives…and it will keep taking us back to the “beginning” because these were meant for us to grow and bloom.

Was that what you meant?

nrhatch - September 3, 2014

Wow! That’s deep, Shree.

I only meant that if you stick with the film (navigating around the plot holes), the film’s twist ending doubles back to the beginning in an unexpected way.

In life, when I talk about navigating around the “pot holes,” I don’t mean that we should try to avoid opportunities and experiences, just that we shouldn’t let them sideline us. We should keep moving forward as the path unfolds before us.

But I do think we reach the beginning in the end. You might enjoy this post that ends on that note:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/the-answers-lie-within-2/

7. Three Well Beings - September 6, 2014

I couldn’t agree more about potholes! LOL! I am always thinking that we don’t get to travel in straight lines very often! I like the cast in this movie so that would probably be favorable for me! Sometimes a predictable movie is fine with me…if I’m tired I don’t have to think too hard. LOL!

nrhatch - September 6, 2014

This one hums along a predictable trajectory, with a few thrills and chills. And not much thinking required. Until the end.


What Say YOU?

